The European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) [Archived]


The European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) aims to forge closer ties with countries to the South and East of the EU without offering them a membership perspective. Through this policy, the EU seeks to promote greater economic development, stability and better governance in its neighbourhood.

Horizontal Tabs


In 2004, the Commission presented its European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) and unveiled action plans for closer ties with seven new neighbours. The countries involved in the first round are Ukraine, Moldova, Israel, Jordan, Morocco, Tunisia and the Palestinian Authority. The second ENP round was outlined in 2005, when the Commission issued country reports on Egypt and Lebanon as well as the Southern Caucasus countries of Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia. 

The ENP will also include Russia, despite the fact that the EU has a long-standing separate partnership programme with Moscow. In the south, the policy encompasses countries that are already involved in the EU's EuroMed programme: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Syria, Tunisia, as well as the Palestinian Authority. The ENP does not include candidate countries for EU membership such as Turkey and the Western Balkan countries.