EU news and policy debates across languages


Europe must keep its promises to older people under the SDGs


Click here to submit an opinion piece

UK & Europe 27-10-2016

Racism in the UK

Fascism is once again on the increase throughout Europe. Anti-racism must be at the core of a fully inclusive socialism for the twenty-first century, argues Mike Cole.
Global Europe 27-10-2016

The international community’s duty to protect Syrian women

Women play a vital role in Syria, keeping schools, hospitals and communities running despite the bombing. They will be essential in rebuilding the country and an enduring peace, write a group of women from the Syrian High Negotiation Committee.
Trade & Society 27-10-2016

Wallonia: The real reasons to postpone CETA

As the CETA debate continues, Jacques de Gerlache and Cédric du Monceau ask whether blocking the current deal is Europe’s last chance to avoid a fatal flight forward.

Saving our wildlife requires radical policy change

Cute animals are social media stars. Facebook and Twitter are peppered with them. Beyond this fun factor though, animals rarely get the attention they deserve. Hopefully, this will change, writes Geneviève Pons, as WWF launches its Living Planet Report.


The EU must react to the erosion of democracy in Kosovo

The EU helped shape Kosovo’s democracy. It should not stand by as that democracy is eroded by an increasingly authoritarian government, writes Andrea Lorenzo Capussela.
Central Europe 26-10-2016

Orbán bites the European hand that feeds his oligarchs – it’s time to bite back!

This week, the European Court of Auditors will report on how the EU spends taxpayer money. For once, the worst offending member states will be named and shamed, with Hungary set to top the list. This should just be the starting point, insist Bart Staes and Benedek Javor.
Energy 26-10-2016

Is Appliance-gate on the horizon?

Ahead of the annual review of Ecodesign and Labelling measures by the college of Commissioners, the executive was asked by political leaders and NGOs to unfreeze the Ecodesign and Labelling process, stalled for over a year, and to expand the scope of regulated products, Dr Yamina Saheb analyses the issue.
Digital 26-10-2016

Who sets the agenda on algorithmic accountability?

A discussion on algorithmic accountability and transparency is missing from Europe’s digital economy framework. Citizens need assurances that machines are treating them fairly, writes Liisa Jaakonsaari.
Trade & Society 25-10-2016

Why are EPAs taking so long to get off the ground?

Fourteen long years after EPA negotiations were launched, Dr Merran Hulse looks back at the process to examine some of the broad trends contributing to the drawn-out nature of the negotiations, and the remaining obstacles to signature and ratification.
Trade & Society 25-10-2016

Wallonia strikes out at Canada

There are historic reasons behind the Walloon rejection of CETA, and a price to pay for post-Napoleonic Britain having engineered Belgium as a nation in gridlock, writes George Friedman.
Global Europe 25-10-2016

Isn’t it a bit early to condemn the EU Migration Partnership Framework?

The EU's Migration Partnership Framework is meant to help third countries better deal with irregular migration and, hopefully, save people from making the often fatal journey across the Med. Solon Ardittis argues that it is too early to have the knives out for the plan already.
Trade & Society 25-10-2016

CETA failure reveals Lisbon Treaty's structural flaws

In the long run, CETA's failure is a lesson in what is structurally wrong in EU trade politics, writes Iana Dreyer.
Digital 24-10-2016

China and Europe pave the way for seamless worldwide e-commerce

The Digital Single Market may offer China some inspiration for adopting an electronic world trade platform that can tear down national borders and boost international e-commerce, writes Luigi Gambardella.
Europe's East 21-10-2016

A new horizon for Turkey

Turkey was shaken by the July coup attempt, but its citizens are united and more determined than ever to stand up for democracy and against terrorism, writes Egemen Bağış.
Trade & Society 21-10-2016

CETA: A way out of European self-dwarfism

Anti-CETA campaigns and mass protests have put the EU-Canada deal under constant pressure. Daniel Caspary MEP asks: What are we going to do if the European Union buries its common trade policy?

UK & Europe 21-10-2016

Brexit can be the rallying call for a Europe at its lowest ebb

The United Kingdom’s decision to leave the EU has caused its continental partners to close ranks; the unexpected result of the Brexit vote is a rallying point that Europe can use to offset their other differences, writes José Manuel Sanz.

Future EU 21-10-2016

The End of Europe

The EU risks disintegration with the emergence of a xenophobic and populist wave. The European project needs to be completely rethought, far from the current state of exception, argues historian Enzo Traverso.
Trade & Society 21-10-2016

Wallonia’s red card for CETA is a chance for the EU to be a beacon to the world

We are at a crossroads for international trade policy. The failure of TTIP and CETA would pave the way for a fairer and more democratic world, argues Paul de Clerck.

Brussels should answer the call for sustainable smartphones

The European Commission should include smartphones in upcoming legislation investigating how the design of certain products affects the environment, writes Carsten Wachholz

Fighting climate change needs multi-dimensional capacity building

Capacity building is a concept that emerged in international development circles during the 1990s, in order to address the obstacles that inhibit people, governments and NGOs from realising their development goals, writes Dr Mike Cherrett.

Corporate accountability: Is the EU ready to listen?

The European Commission should start listening to its citizens and come out with concrete plans to enhance corporate accountability, at home and abroad, urge Jerome Chaplier, Urs Rybi and Sandra Cossart.
Trade & Society 20-10-2016

Does CETA's saga spell the beginning of the end of EU trade policy?

The CETA saga reveals that a commercial policy steered from the 28 capitals is not a workable solution to tackle the global economic challenges of the 21st century, write Guillaume Van der Loo and Jacques Pelkmans.
Agriculture & Food 20-10-2016

The EU’s promotion of meat consumption is misguided, Mr Hogan

Ever since he took office, Agriculture Commissioner Phil Hogan has promoted the interests of the livestock sector while ignoring health warnings and environmental concerns over meat consumption, writes Olga Kikou.

Europe must keep its promises to older people under the SDGs

Today, 928 million people are aged 60 and over – by 2050 that number will grow to 2 billion. An ageing worldwide demographic presents new challenges requiring our attention both close to home and further afield, writes Mairead McGuinness.