EurActiv.com

EU news and policy debates across languages

24/01/2017

Thinking about propaganda

Opinions

Click here to submit an opinion piece


Transport 24-01-2017

Four trends that could clean up road transport

The move towards autonomous vehicles, driven by the progressive electrification of transport, and backed up by road pricing schemes, all carry the potential of radically cleaning up Europe's transport system, writes Greg Archer.

Innovation and the EU: Fewer apps, more vaccines

Innovation is worthy of support, but European leaders need to focus more on life-saving vaccines rather than the development of more delivery apps, writes Cecile Vernant. 

Health & Consumers 24-01-2017

Unhealthy divisions don’t help access to best healthcare

In the wake of the Brexit vote and Donald Trump being sworn in as US president, the divisions in crucial parts of the Western world are clear and stark, warns Denis Horgan.
Digital 23-01-2017

Europe's cities are key to empowering 'energy citizens'

Cities need to be at the centre of Europe's energy policies because they create sustainable supplies and boost job growth, writes Anna Lisa Boni.
Global Europe 23-01-2017

Lenin: Father of the Bolshevik Revolution

This year is the centenary of the Bolshevik Revolution. The man who orchestrated it died 93 years ago, on 21 January 1924. Vladimir Ilyich Lenin ushered into the world one of the most brutal dictatorship it has ever seen in the Soviet Union, writes Joachim Starbatty.
Energy 23-01-2017

The real impact of palm oil and failed policies

The true negative impact of palm oil, the interests that the trade serves and the failure of policy to deal with deforestation and other consequences, write Jakub Kvapil, Stanislav Lhota and Zoltán Szabó
Global Europe 23-01-2017

How the arms industry is staging a European coup

The EU is increasingly taking a pro-military stance, as the arms lobby exercises more influence. The election of Antoni Tajani last week as European Parliament president means the arms industry's influence will grow further in the coming years, warns Bram Vranken.
Energy 20-01-2017

Securing Europe’s energy future with efficiency and renewables

The European Commission's plans to deliver clean energy for all Europeans fail becuase they do not do enough to boost energy efficiency and renewables, writes Dr Yamina Saheb. Only a 40% EU-wide energy efficiency target makes sense.

Emissions Trading Scheme by numbers

The EU’s Emission Trading Scheme reform took a huge step forward last year when the European Parliament’s Environment Committee voted in favour of MEP Ian Duncan’s report. He talks us through the process and what happens next.
Global Europe 19-01-2017

Europeans and Uncle Trump: A risk and an opportunity

Donald Trump's inauguration as US president is a geopolitical event that entails risks whose causes and consequences Europeans need to analyse if they are to turn that event into an opportunity for our Union, warn Enrico Letta, Yves Bertoncini and members of the Jacques Delors Institute board of directors.

Three principles to make or break European Pillar of Social Rights

The European Pillar of Social Rights is the European Commission’s attempt to create the social ‘triple A’ rating that its president, Jean-Claude Juncker, set as a goal of his term in office. Its success is hinged on whether the EU puts social rights at the heart of its work, writes Jana Hainsworth.
Future EU 18-01-2017

In a fractured Europe, two celebrations could make or break the Union

The celebration of the Euro anniversary in March will be an opportunity to counter anti-euro parties, writes Paul Wallace. But European leaders may also want to reflect on the anniversary of the Reformation, which undermined the Holy Roman Empire, seen by some historians as an early version of the EU.
Development Policy 18-01-2017

Fight Inequality Alliance comes to ‘corporate’ Brussels

Brussels is not a hotbed of popular mobilisation. Few rights struggles start here, but it is one of the biggest power centres in the world and it is one of the main chapters in the book on inequality, write Laura Sullivan and Jenny Ricks.
Future EU 18-01-2017

Pick-and-choose populism and the EU elite

EU leaders cannot exploit populism when it suits them and then complain when things do not go their way. We need strong leadership from the political mainstream to turn things around, write Petroula Nteledimou and Nikos Lampropoulos.
UK & Europe 17-01-2017

May throws down gauntlet to European leaders

Watching Theresa May in a hotel room in the capital of a small European nation, not in the EU, has been a surreal experience. Her insistence that every other EU leader had to accept that their citizens cannot any longer travel to the UK on the terms they can today seemed borderline impertinent, writes Denis MacShane.
UK & Europe 17-01-2017

The four possible Europes after Brexit

Brexit's impact on business will depend on which Europe emerges in the aftermath, writes Ilaria Maselli.
Energy 17-01-2017

Energising European recovery

Last year's Winter Energy Package contains the seeds of two fundamental economic and political requirements needed for the EU to prosper: returning some ‘power to the people’, alongside European investment and network integration, write a number of energy experts.
Sustainable Dev. 17-01-2017

Waste reform: From environmental disaster to economic opportunity

MEPs have the chance to unlock over 800,000 jobs by improving waste management and waste prevention across the EU. If they support progressive waste reform, the benefits will be huge for citizens, businesses and governments, writes Piotr Barczak.

EU must tackle homelessness to achieve SDGs

In order to deliver on the 2030 Agenda, Europe has to leave homelessness – not homeless people – behind, writes Ruth Owen.
Elections 16-01-2017

The Parliament that Europeans want to hear from

The European Parliament is delivering, but there is still room for improvement in the way it communicates to both the younger and older generations, writes Vice-President Ramón Valcárcel.
Enlargement 11-01-2017

Albania: At EU’s door 71 years after founding of brutal Hoxhaist regime

Albania is one of the many countries lining up to join the EU. Today marks the 71st anniversary of the foundation of the People’s Socialist Republic of Albania and the beginning of what would be horrible purges of non-communists, write Alex Fiuza and Steffen Kudella.
Global Europe 11-01-2017

Christians recognised as most persecuted religious group worldwide

Around the world, Christians are being persecuted because of their faith. The European Parliament brought much-needed recognition to the victims of persecution and needs to follow up with concrete tools to protect religious groups worldwide, writes Adina Portaru.
Global Europe 11-01-2017

West failed to understand what really happened in Turkey

Six months after the failed coup in Turkey, the EU must come to understand that there is no double standard when fighting terrorism, writes Veysi Kaynak.
Global Europe 11-01-2017

Thinking about propaganda

Propaganda speaks the language of reason, even when its goal is to mislead, writes Jacob L. Shapiro.