Opinions

Economy & Jobs 25-09-2017

The time is right for a stronger monetary union – with everyone on board

French President Emmanuel Macron will give a speech on Tuesday (26 September) outlining his pitch to reform the European Monetary Union. But he has to prioritise his wishlist in order to make the most of member state support, writes Petros Fassoulas.

Brexit 25-09-2017

Brexit and energy: A choice between economics and sovereignty

Britain will have to invest more in new electricity generating capacity and face higher prices in exchange for regaining its independence from the European Union, writes Philip Lowe.

Africa 25-09-2017

An Erasmus for young Africans and Europeans

On 29 and 30 September in Abidjan, Africa and Europe have a date with destiny. It may sound a rather audacious statement in the face of the international community’s growing interest in the African continent, but it is not, writes Gianni Pittella.

Agrifood 25-09-2017

No, the EU does not want to ban your chips

Recently, headlines in Germany and Austria might have made you shiver with fear: “The. EU. Wants. To. Ban. Crispy. Chips”. No less! The same EU which dictates the shape of our bananas and cucumbers is now meddling with our chips. Or is it, asks Monique Goyens.

Energy 25-09-2017

Need for a scientific basis of EU climate policy on forests

A group of scientists has sent an open letter to EU decision-makers, warning that a planned increase in harvesting levels for EU forests for bioenergy use risk having a negative impact on the climate.

Electricity 25-09-2017

The future of network regulation: Let’s pay consumers to support the grid

The very fabric of modern economies and the challenge to ensure that our energy systems evolve to provide reliable, affordable, clean energy for us, our children, and grandchildren is at stake in Europe this year, explains Edith Bayer.

Europe's East 22-09-2017

More than javelins, Ukraine needs change

I remember Ukraine as a friendlier place. But my country’s recent uptick of expelling foreigners it considers inconvenient belies a less hospitable, darker trend. The government that grew out of Ukraine’s 2014 “Revolution of Peoples’ Dignity” now has some Ukrainians reminiscing about the more tolerant, less corrupt government it overthrew, writes Serhiy Lyovochkin.

Energy 22-09-2017

Will new EU buildings law help pave the way for an electro-mobile future?

The ongoing reform of the Energy Performance of Buildings Directive (EPBD) offers a once-in-a-decade opportunity to make European buildings and cities of today fit for the low pollution, electric transport of tomorrow, writes Teodora Serafimova.

Freedom of thought 22-09-2017

European Muslims feel part of Europe but when will European society reciprocate?

New data released this week show that Muslims in Europe face discrimination in all areas of life. We need to start shifting our perspective and promote inclusive narratives and practices with regard to Muslims' presence in Europe. Too often, they are seen as a ‘problem to manage’, writes Julie Pascoët.

Sponsored
Politics 22-09-2017

FleishmanHillard is delighted to announce that Mr Claudio Murri and Dr Lukas Pfister have joined the firm as senior advisers

FleishmanHillard is delighted to announce that Mr Claudio Murri and Dr Lukas Pfister have joined the firm as senior advisers to our technology and healthcare practices. Given the accelerating EU agendas in both of these sectors, increasing clients demands and opportunities for growth, we are excited to build upon existing expertise with these high caliber professionals. These senior profiles …

Armenia 22-09-2017

How Azerbaijani laundromat has affected EU policy on Nagorno-Karabakh

More than two decades after Azerbaijan and Armenia fought over Nagorno-Karabakh, a mixture of Azerbaijani bribes and oil politics has kept European institutions out of the disputed region. It is time for the EU to free itself from this grip and stand for its values in the Caucasus, argues Nicolas Tavitian.

Energy 22-09-2017

Guarantees of origin for renewable power set for (overdue) scrutiny

A complex and misleading system of guarantees of origin for electricity generated from renewable energy sources is getting increased attention in Brussels, writes Ole Lofsnaes.

Economy & Jobs 21-09-2017

Don’t protect us from doing business!

It’s always a pleasure to be praised as strategically important. But when looking at the European Commission’s current proposal for screening foreign direct investments, many entrepreneurs ask: what is the strategy? Thilo Brodtmann explains.

Freedom of thought 21-09-2017

Violence against girls is corrosive to society

More than a half of the world’s women and girls experience some kind of physical or sexual violence in their early years. This miserable tide of suffering is ruining millions of girls’ childhoods and undermining their chances of becoming healthy adults, warn Kevin J. Jenkins and Susan Bissell.

Electricity 21-09-2017

Is German climate leadership being sacrificed on the altar of coal?

The pre-election politicking currently going on in Germany should ring alarm bells among climate policy advocates, warns Julian Schwartzkopff. If Angela Merkel does not take personal ownership of securing a climate-compatible coal phase-out, she could jeopardise her legacy as “climate chancellor”, he writes.

Sponsored
Future of mobility 21-09-2017

Unlocking the potential of lightweighting in vehicles to meet CO2 targets

Although electrification will undoubtedly play a large role in decarbonising road transport, the obvious but often overlooked solution is lightweighting, argues Patrik Ragnarsson.

Agrifood 21-09-2017

EU and GMOs: The case for a knowledge-based society

Albert Einstein said, “It is harder to crack prejudice than an atom.” A persistent prejudice in the EU is that against GMOs. An EU court judgment has restated that fears are unfounded, but will Europe take the opportunity to become a science-based society, ask Roberto Defez and Dennis Eriksson.

Economy & Jobs 20-09-2017

The OECD must return to its founding principles

In a world beset by fake news, where facts are all too often subordinated to politics, smart policymaking requires independent institutions that can provide objective research and analysis, grounding political debate in science and reason, writes Justus Haucap.

Economy & Jobs 20-09-2017

Falling youth unemployment is not a reason for complacency

Europe needs to better integrate young people into the labour market if it is to address youth unemployment effectively, writes Denis Pennel.

Elections 20-09-2017

No EU money for Eurosceptics!

“We should not be filling the coffers of anti-European extremists,” said Jean-Claude Juncker. It was the first time European political parties were mentioned in the European Commission President’s annual address and it did not go unnoticed, writes Wouter Wolfs.

Global Europe 20-09-2017

Migration and Europe: The view from Turkey

European governments seem to be treating Turkey like a game on a football pitch, pushing the ball of inclusion around, but never really having the intention of allowing it to become an equal player on their field, writes Egemen Bağış.

20-09-2017

Anti-biofuel ideologues support the oil status quo

Anti-biofuel ideologues claim to be pro-climate and pro-development. But their positions, in fact, support the oil status quo, the concentration of power in the energy sector in the hands of large multinationals and the decline of the EU farming sector, writes Eric Sievers.

Economy & Jobs 19-09-2017

With age(ing) comes wisdom: Shifting the debate on living longer

Ministers and experts from more than 50 countries meet in Lisbon this week for a major conference on “realizing the potential of living longer”. Olga Algayerova explains why Europe must carefully review what living longer means for how we live and work together.

19-09-2017

Cetaceans are under fresh threat in the EU

Cetacean bycatch has been a major conservation and animal welfare concern in the EU for decades, but moves are afoot to potentially water down protections for such sensitive marine species. Sarah Dolman, Sarah Baulch and Jo Swabe argue that better monitoring and mitigation measures in new legislation could help to eliminate this problem.