EurActiv.com

EU news and policy debates across languages

23/01/2017

EU turning 60 in 2017? Fake news!

Opinions

Click here to submit an opinion piece


Energy 23-01-2017

The real impact of palm oil and failed policies

The true negative impact of palm oil, the interests that the trade serves and the failure of policy to deal with deforestation and other consequences, write Jakub Kvapil, Stanislav Lhota and Zoltán Szabó
Global Europe 23-01-2017

How the arms industry is staging a European coup

The EU is increasingly taking a pro-military stance, as the arms lobby exercises more influence. The election of Antoni Tajani last week as European Parliament president means the arms industry's influence will grow further in the coming years, warns Bram Vranken.
Energy 20-01-2017

Securing Europe’s energy future with efficiency and renewables

The European Commission's plans to deliver clean energy for all Europeans fail becuase they do not do enough to boost energy efficiency and renewables, writes Dr Yamina Saheb. Only a 40% EU-wide energy efficiency target makes sense.

Emissions Trading Scheme by numbers

The EU’s Emission Trading Scheme reform took a huge step forward last year when the European Parliament’s Environment Committee voted in favour of MEP Ian Duncan’s report. He talks us through the process and what happens next.
Global Europe 19-01-2017

Europeans and Uncle Trump: A risk and an opportunity

Donald Trump's inauguration as US president is a geopolitical event that entails risks whose causes and consequences Europeans need to analyse if they are to turn that event into an opportunity for our Union, warn Enrico Letta, Yves Bertoncini and members of the Jacques Delors Institute board of directors.

Three principles to make or break European Pillar of Social Rights

The European Pillar of Social Rights is the European Commission’s attempt to create the social ‘triple A’ rating that its president, Jean-Claude Juncker, set as a goal of his term in office. Its success is hinged on whether the EU puts social rights at the heart of its work, writes Jana Hainsworth.
Future EU 18-01-2017

In a fractured Europe, two celebrations could make or break the Union

The celebration of the Euro anniversary in March will be an opportunity to counter anti-euro parties, writes Paul Wallace. But European leaders may also want to reflect on the anniversary of the Reformation, which undermined the Holy Roman Empire, seen by some historians as an early version of the EU.
Development Policy 18-01-2017

Fight Inequality Alliance comes to ‘corporate’ Brussels

Brussels is not a hotbed of popular mobilisation. Few rights struggles start here, but it is one of the biggest power centres in the world and it is one of the main chapters in the book on inequality, write Laura Sullivan and Jenny Ricks.
Future EU 18-01-2017

Pick-and-choose populism and the EU elite

EU leaders cannot exploit populism when it suits them and then complain when things do not go their way. We need strong leadership from the political mainstream to turn things around, write Petroula Nteledimou and Nikos Lampropoulos.
UK & Europe 17-01-2017

May throws down gauntlet to European leaders

Watching Theresa May in a hotel room in the capital of a small European nation, not in the EU, has been a surreal experience. Her insistence that every other EU leader had to accept that their citizens cannot any longer travel to the UK on the terms they can today seemed borderline impertinent, writes Denis MacShane.
UK & Europe 17-01-2017

The four possible Europes after Brexit

Brexit's impact on business will depend on which Europe emerges in the aftermath, writes Ilaria Maselli.
Energy 17-01-2017

Energising European recovery

Last year's Winter Energy Package contains the seeds of two fundamental economic and political requirements needed for the EU to prosper: returning some ‘power to the people’, alongside European investment and network integration, write a number of energy experts.
Sustainable Dev. 17-01-2017

Waste reform: From environmental disaster to economic opportunity

MEPs have the chance to unlock over 800,000 jobs by improving waste management and waste prevention across the EU. If they support progressive waste reform, the benefits will be huge for citizens, businesses and governments, writes Piotr Barczak.

EU must tackle homelessness to achieve SDGs

In order to deliver on the 2030 Agenda, Europe has to leave homelessness – not homeless people – behind, writes Ruth Owen.
Elections 16-01-2017

The Parliament that Europeans want to hear from

The European Parliament is delivering, but there is still room for improvement in the way it communicates to both the younger and older generations, writes Vice-President Ramón Valcárcel.
Enlargement 11-01-2017

Albania: At EU’s door 71 years after founding of brutal Hoxhaist regime

Albania is one of the many countries lining up to join the EU. Today marks the 71st anniversary of the foundation of the People’s Socialist Republic of Albania and the beginning of what would be horrible purges of non-communists, write Alex Fiuza and Steffen Kudella.
Global Europe 11-01-2017

Christians recognised as most persecuted religious group worldwide

Around the world, Christians are being persecuted because of their faith. The European Parliament brought much-needed recognition to the victims of persecution and needs to follow up with concrete tools to protect religious groups worldwide, writes Adina Portaru.
Global Europe 11-01-2017

West failed to understand what really happened in Turkey

Six months after the failed coup in Turkey, the EU must come to understand that there is no double standard when fighting terrorism, writes Veysi Kaynak.
Global Europe 11-01-2017

Thinking about propaganda

Propaganda speaks the language of reason, even when its goal is to mislead, writes Jacob L. Shapiro.
Energy 11-01-2017

As Russia's gas market gets weaker, Europe gets stronger

The Southern Gas Corridor, pipeline interconnectors and LNG terminals, particularly in the northeast, have slowly but steadily been weakening Russia's pipeline hegemony, writes Agnia Grigas.
Elections 10-01-2017

One head, two votes: The case for a pan-European list for EU elections

In the 2019 European elections, voters should be able to cast two votes: one for their national representative and another for a second representative elected by a single European electoral college, argues Giorgio Clarotti.
Elections 09-01-2017

A marriage of convenience

By courting the ALDE group, the Five Star Movement may prove that populists can move into the political mainstream. Despite differences between Beppe Grillo and Guy Verhofstadt, their parties are not as different as they seem, writes Nicholas Whyte.
Energy 09-01-2017

How can Energy Union governance help put efficiency first?

Energy efficiency markets are driven by legislation. This is why a strong energy efficiency directive supported by a robust governance mechanism are key to delivering the multiple benefits of energy efficiency, argue Monica Frassoni and Harry Verhaar.
Public Affairs 05-01-2017

EU turning 60 in 2017? Fake news!

In its first announcement of this year, the European Commission has started with patently obvious fake news, writes David Heilbron Price.