EurActiv.com

EU news and policy debates across languages

26/08/2016

EU support for Austrian hydropower plant undermines own rules

Opinions

Click here to submit an opinion piece


Global Europe 25-08-2016

Turkey's careful incursion into Syria

Instead of a daring charge, Turkey is making a carefully calibrated entrance, as it has to balance and maintain relations both with the US and Russia, writes Stratfor.
Future EU 24-08-2016

Ventotene - the symbolism of the Renzi-Hollande-Merkel summit

The choice of Matteo Renzi to hold the meeting with President Hollande and Chancellor Merkel in Ventotene was highly significant, writes Monica Frassoni.
Development Policy 24-08-2016

EU foreign policy risks fuelling displacement and terror

While the EU’s foreign policy recognises the importance of promoting peace and stability beyond its borders, it also emphasises the need to align development aid with strategic priorities. This is indicative of a wider risk, writes Kloe Tricot O’Farrell.
Digital 24-08-2016

European digital single market needs strong net neutrality guidelines

Without a strong protection of the principle of net neutrality, European digital businesses will be confronted with regional fragmentation and new barriers to market entry that will favour the already dominant tech companies from Silicon Valley, writes Stefan Heumann.
Europe's East 24-08-2016

Ukraine’s fight against corruption deserves EU support

It is crucial that the EU continues to help Ukraine fight its 'culture of corruption' in its struggle to establish democracy and integration into the West, writes Mark Demesmaeker on its 25th independence day anniversary.
Energy 24-08-2016

Nord Stream 2 faces loss of financial and political support

The legitimacy of the extension of the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline between Russia and Germany is being seriously undermined by regulatory and political headwinds, writes Jack Sharples.
EU Priorities 2020 24-08-2016

Why we should talk more about Europe and less about the crisis

Why are the irregularities of the financial markets and immigration being grouped together as a solidarity crisis in Europe? Dr. Senka Neuman Stanivukovic and Jesse van Amelsvoort argue that the time is ripe for a more sober problematisation of current European politics.
Development Policy 23-08-2016

Brexit casts doubt over Uganda development project on lung disease

The UK's vote to leave the European Union has come at a crucial moment in the development of an international medical project that throws into sharp relief the state of flux Brexit has cast over collaborative research, says Jack Barton.
UK & Europe 23-08-2016

Brexit: Limiting the damage

Britain, Europe and, indeed, the United States have an interest in limiting the damage from a decade of tortuous Brexit negotiations that will probably be dominated by disruption and disinvestment, writes Michael Leigh.
Global Europe 23-08-2016

Listening to the voice of the Thai people

The national constitutional referendum in Thailand, on 7 August, was held peacefully and is considered a broad success. Yet the doom and gloom on the future of Thai democracy as reported in sections of the Western press was remarkable, writes Busaya Mathelin.
Development Policy 23-08-2016

Zimbabwe on brink of chaos as EU ponders 'fragile state' status

While the EU reviews whether Zimbabwe qualifies as a fragile state, there are worrying signs that the political situation is deteriorating on the ground, writes Tom Gillhespy.
Digital 23-08-2016

The Microsoft ruling: Mending EU-US digital relations

Microsoft’s successful appeal against a US Department of Justice request to access emails stored on its foreign servers marks an important milestone for international consumer privacy and the tech community, writes Brian Stafford.
UK & Europe 22-08-2016

Brexit delivers blow to Swiss EU hopes

Imitation may be the most sincere form of flattery. But it is doubtful if anyone in Switzerland is thanking the City and big bank spin doctors who have come up with the idea that London should seek a Swiss-style relationship with Europe once Brexit is fully consummated, writes Denis MacShane.
Europe's East 22-08-2016

Azerbaijan courts Russia and Iran

The Baku summit, during which Azerbaijan hosted the presidents of Russia and Iran, couldn’t have come at a better time, writes Stratfor.
Global Europe 22-08-2016

EU and Turkey: Time to act

The failure of the coup attempt in Turkey is celebrated as a victory for democracy by Turks. However, after rapidly condemning the coup, the EU’s weak solidarity has become a source of resentment for Ankara, writes Bahadir Kaleagasi.
Euro & Finance 19-08-2016

The failure to police the EU’s financial border is a security weakness

Whilst EU leaders and policymakers have struggled to maintain the security of the EU’s external physical border, the financial border is wide open to all. At a time of focus on the funding of EU extremism from third countries this is a worrying weakness, writes Tom Keatinge.
Global Europe 19-08-2016

Human rights: A scapegoat for the ills of Europe

The public debate in the run-up to the Brexit vote was often based on racist and xenophobic resentments that wrongly associated human rights with the rights of minorities, writes Michael O’Flaherty. But human rights are simply not a minority issue. They are for everyone, he argues.
Development Policy 19-08-2016

How the UN could support SDGs with shared value

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) make little sense if the purchasing power of the farmers who produce coffee, cocoa or tea is disregarded, writes Fernando Morales-de la Cruz in an open letter to UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon.
Development Policy 19-08-2016

World Humanitarian Day: Another ‘no school’ day for 3.6m refugee children

Growing up in Jordan, which hosts the largest number of Palestinian refugees in the world, made the presence of refugees a significant part of life for me, writes Dina Dahood.
UK & Europe 18-08-2016

Brexit: The lost generation

Research conducted after the Brexit vote has tended to highlight a generation gap, with young people failing to turn out on voting day and feeling let down by the older ones. The research was later contradicted but if there is such a gap, what is the solution? asks Melanie Sully.
Global Europe 17-08-2016

Will Ankara take aim at Patriarch Bartholomew?

Against the background of the failed coup in Turkey and the ongoing crackdown on sympathisers of Fethullah Gülen, Ankara might take aim at the Orthodox patriarch of Constantinople, or try to win him, writes the US Ambassador (retired) Arthur H. Hughes.
Global Europe 17-08-2016

Nationalism, technology, and the Olympics

The Olympic Games have turned into a competition between nations, rather than individuals, writes George Friedman.
Global Europe 17-08-2016

A purposeful show of Russian force

Russian aircraft took off from an Iranian air base on 16 August to fly bombing sorties over Syria. Stratfor reflects on the meaning of this development.
Energy 17-08-2016

EU support for Austrian hydropower plant undermines own rules

While discussions over the permit and environmental impact assessment are ongoing, the European Commission has listed the expansion of the Kaunertal hydropower plant among the key energy infrastructure projects of the EU, write Roland Jöbstl and Birgit Schmidhuber.