EurActiv.com

EU news and policy debates across languages

30/07/2016

Commission must prioritise access to contraception in development policy

Opinions

Click here to submit an opinion piece


UK & Europe 29-07-2016

Barnier and Brexit: Bad mood before the holidays

One month on from the Brexit vote, the decision to appoint Michel Barnier as chief Brexit negotiator is ill-fated, writes Daniel Guéguen.
Security 28-07-2016

Commission creating more risk of money laundering, not less

The European Commission’s list-based attempt to strengthen and harmonise approaches to disrupting money laundering and terrorist financing is arguably creating greater vulnerabilities by ignoring countries that are not on the list that present a considerably more substantial risk, writes Tom Keatinge.

In Europe, Weber's bureaucracy still rules

The European institutions remain fundamentally Weberian in nature and they are considered to be slow reformers. But there are clear differences between public administration systems across Europe, writes Steven Van de Walle.
UK & Europe 28-07-2016

Brexit: The Northern Ireland conundrum

The implications for Northern Ireland of the UK leaving the EU are more complex and potentially more dangerous than those facing any other region of the UK, writes Dick Roche.
Global Europe 28-07-2016

Populism, racism and xenophobia have infected Europe

We have been infected. The virus of populism, racism, xenophobia has affected Europe. This virus in Europe is named Le Pen in France, Farage in Great Britain, Orban in Hungary, 5 Stars Movements in Italy, Kaczynski in Poland, writes Gianni Pittella.
Energy 27-07-2016

Three reasons to repurpose the Energy Union

The Energy Union is great on paper, but so far the European Commission has failed to provide it with a modern, engaging vision. Eckart Würzner sees three key reasons why the executive should do so and how it can achieve it.
Health & Consumers 27-07-2016

EU has chance to stop illegal tobacco trade

The trade in illicit tobacco is a massive problem, but the European Commission has been presented with a golden opportunity to strike a blow against the smugglers. But it must look long-term, writes Eric Lequenne.
Euro & Finance 26-07-2016

Upcoming EU budget debate is a chance to engage citizens

EU spending is highly complex and inflexible. An own resources budget would help the bloc respond to new challenges and better address the concerns of its citizens, writes Ivailo Kalfin.
Trade & Society 25-07-2016

EU-China economic ties will withstand disputes over MES

Overall the economic ties between the EU and China are of such importance that they will withstand the disputes over 'Market Economy Status' (MES), writes Fraser Cameron.
Euro & Finance 25-07-2016

LuxLeaks highlights need for whistleblower protection and incentives

The time has come for EU member states to decide how they will treat whistleblowers. Erika Kelton asks, will they embrace and encourage them, or will they perpetuate a culture of fear?
UK & Europe 25-07-2016

Boris Johnson is back and could prevent Brexit

The Brexit deal is likely to leave both ‘leavers’ and ‘remainers’ unsatisfied. But it is possible that Boris Johnson, the man who backed Brexit to advance his career, could switch sides again to save his own skin, writes Guy Edwards.
Development Policy 25-07-2016

Mass killing of elephants: Will the EU go on turning a blind eye?

Every year, 30,000 elephants are killed for their tusks according to Fondation Franz Weber, a Swiss-based NGO campaigning against the ivory trade for over 40 years, writes Willy Fautre.
Digital 22-07-2016

Europe should abandon its expensive internet cookies law

The European Commission should repeal its "cookies law" - it's expensive for online businesses and a burden for internet users, writes Alan McQuinn.
Security 22-07-2016

ISIS in Würzburg

Following an axe attack on a Bavarian commuter train on Monday (18 July) by an Afghan asylum seeker claiming allegiance to ISIS, Germany’s news media were awash with reports that the terrorist organisation had finally staged a successful attack. EurActiv.com news editor Joel Schalit, was almost there.
Global Europe 22-07-2016

Can Greece copy Morocco, and stop sulking?

Anyone ever tried to get from Athens to Skopje or Pristina? It’s a journey from hell as the excellent Aegean Airlines, which links all the region’s cities, have eliminated Macedonia and Kosovo from their satellite map, writes Denis MacShane.
UK & Europe 22-07-2016

Brexit: A very British drama, a very European challenge

We must not fall prey to the idea that Brexit is the start of an "unravelling" of the EU, write Enrico Letta, Yves Bertoncini and other members of the Jacques Delors Institute.
Europe's East 22-07-2016

For Pavel Sheremet, Ukraine was a ‘freedom project’

The EU should help speed up the investigation of the gruesome murder of Pavel Sheremet, writes Jana Brovdij.

Clearing up the confusion around marine plastics

Contrary to popular myths, most plastic pollution at sea occurs on the seabed and on beaches, not on the surface. If we want to secure the health of our oceans, we need to start looking at preventing marine plastic litter at source, writes Chris Sherrington.

A 'yellow card' and the damage done

The European Commission is expected to overrule the yellow card” triggered by national parliaments today (20 July), over the revised Posted Workers directive. Valentin Kreilinger reflects on the damage this decision is likely to cause.
Agriculture & Food 20-07-2016

Time for a balanced debate on biofuels

Public policy should be based on verifiable facts, rational analysis and, where possible, on solid science, writes Dick Roche.
Global Europe 20-07-2016

Yazidi genocide victims deserve European Parliament prize

Nadia Murad is a Yazidi woman that has been the victim of the brutal atrocities carried out by Daesh. Beatriz Becerra Basterrechea asks what better way to highlight her and her people’s plight, than awarding her the EU’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought.
Development Policy 19-07-2016

Controlling the AIDS epidemic: Lessons learnt from six countries

While HIV/AIDS still claims too many lives and causes suffering to millions of affected people and their loved ones across the world, substantial progress has been recorded to put an end to the epidemic, write Tim Wilsdon and Lilian Li.
Global Europe 19-07-2016

The Turkey coup looks like the most incompetent undertaking imaginable

Whatever happened on Friday 15 July, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan has emerged stronger than ever and can now arrest anyone he wants on charges of treason, writes George Friedman.
Development Policy 19-07-2016

Commission must prioritise access to contraception in development policy

Promoting women’s and girls’ human rights is a fundamental aspect of the European Union and should be better reflected in our overseas aid policy through major investment in improving access to family planning, writes Heidi Hautala.