EU news and policy debates across languages

04/05/2016

Fate of the DSM is tied to 5G and the Internet of Things

Opinions

Click here to submit an opinion piece


Digital 04-05-2016

Web accessibility will now be the law of the land in Europe

On Tuesday (3 May), after a long night of negotiation, and after more than three years since its proposal, it was agreed that web accessibility will now be the law of the land in Europe. This is a victory not only for persons with disabilities, but all of us, writes Dita Charanzová.
Trade & Society 04-05-2016

Since when is TTIP not a BIG deal?

If the European Commission wishes to live up to its promise to take protection of our standards seriously, it has to cut short on its spin that a deal by the end of this year is still achievable, writes Monique Goyens.
UK & Europe 04-05-2016

UK shouldn’t follow Swiss or Norwegian model

There is no doubt that UK manufacturing and wider business is best served by being in the EU and by continuing to be influential in defining the future direction of the framework conditions for manufacturing companies in the bloc, writes Adrian Harris.

Emissions trading should not be a scapegoat for steel industry

Scapegoating climate protection is not only factually wrong, it will also prevent the German and European steel industry from gearing up for the future, writes Annalena Baerbock.
Global Europe 03-05-2016

Press freedom: Never take it for granted

Today (3 May), we celebrate World Press Freedom Day.  Just one week ago here in Portugal we celebrated the “25th of April”, marking the end of dictatorship and the 1974 revolution, before which we had more than 40 years of censorship, writes Francisco Pinto Balsemão.

The ultimate disruptor is Mother Nature

The Paris Agreement to tackle global warming is bigger than most realise and may be the signal that the marketplace was waiting for to unleash investment in clean technologies, writes Alice Garton.
Digital 02-05-2016

Net neutrality: Guidelines or straitjackets?

Depending on how the net neutrality regulation is implemented, it could have some serious adverse consequences, particularly for consumers, writes Robert Kenny.
UK & Europe 29-04-2016

Will there really be a ‘new settlement’ between Britain and Europe?

The opinion polls show a small but steady majority for Remain and the Leavers still lack a coherent prospectus for Brexit. Surely, as a Commission official told me this week, ‘things will be back to normal after 23 June’. But such wishful thinking is misplaced, writes Andrew Duff.

Time has come for the European Parliament to tackle conflicts of interest

After almost four years since the European Parliament’s code of conduct was updated in the wake of a scandal, it is clear that it still lacks clarity, fails to provide appropriate limitations on MEPs’ second jobs and is only very weakly enforced, writes Paul de Clerck.

The EU must save the Bialowieza Forest

The future of Poland’s pristine Bialowieza Forest is at stake, but short-term commercial interests should not prevail over the long-term protection of Europe’s last primeval forest, writes Luc Bas.
Energy 28-04-2016

Cities want to deliver on energy efficiency, but fear obstacles

Local and regional governments are crucial to a more energy efficient Europe. Accounting rules should help deliver not hinder the creation of climate and security-friendly jobs and growth from this sector, write Tine Heyse, Eva Schobesberger and Valentí Junyent i Torras.

Three years after Rana Plaza: Progress on corporate responsibility remains modest

More than one thousand workers died in the Rana Plaza factory collapse. Responsible business initiatives have since emerged, but EU companies are still not obligated to prevent human rights abuses in their supply chain, write Paige Morrow and Jérôme Chaplier.
Global Europe 28-04-2016

Obama and the European Union

European integration was an American idea. If the European Union falls apart, it is hard to see how NATO survives, even in its current state, writes George Friedman.
Euro & Finance 28-04-2016

The Greek crisis: European madness

Last week, Greece had to deal with new austerity measures and a Eurostat study invalidated the IMF’s doomsday scenario. A number of MEPs now call upon European leaders to rethink the issue of debt and review the reforms being imposed on Greece.
Trade & Society 28-04-2016

Fear of TTIP, globalisation, or a middle class downgrade?

Beyond the technical questions of regulation and trade barriers, TTIP taps into middle class concerns about the nature of globalisation and demographic change, writes Elvire Fabry.

Paving the way for women in technology

To mark International Girls in ICT Day 2016, we are calling for greater efforts to close the gap between aspiration and achievement for young women around the world, writes Sylvie Laffarge.
Europe's East 27-04-2016

In Nagorno-Karabakh, politicking ramps up as fighting draws down

In the coming weeks, the level of diplomatic activity on the Nagorno-Karabakh issue will continue to be higher than usual, writes Stratfor.
Energy 27-04-2016

EU curtailment rules could increase onshore wind costs by 17% by 2020

Economic curtailment is an issue not yet fully appreciated by most investors in renewable energy, but it has the potential to reduce the availability and increase the cost of investment, writes Brian O’Connell.

Europe needs low-skilled migrant workers too

A resolution for the rights of women domestic workers and carers in the EU is due to be voted on 28 April at the European Parliament. This could be a historical step towards equal rights for this category of workers.
Agriculture & Food 27-04-2016

Fishing industry in murky waters

Today 85% of global fish stocks are over-exploited, depleted or fully exploited, to the extent that without urgent measures, we may be the last generation to catch food from the oceans, writes Linnéa Engström.
UK & Europe 26-04-2016

Obama has not sealed the deal

The Remain camp will have to find different  enthusiastic advocates and reasons on than trade deal queues to convince voters if Brexit is to be defeated, Obama's trip was not a game-changer.
Energy 26-04-2016

Digitalisation: Where are the German digital utilities?

In Germany, a lot has been written about two energy megatrends of our time, liberalisation of energy markets and decentralisation of the energy landscape. What we think has been neglected is a third megatrend: digitalisation.
Global Europe 26-04-2016

Europe can do more to safeguard religious minorities

The suicide bombings on Easter Sunday in Lahore, Pakistan, should act as a reminder that the European Union needs a high-level office in charge of freedom of religion and belief in the world, writes Sophia Kuby.
Digital 26-04-2016

Fate of the DSM is tied to 5G and the Internet of Things

Standards will need to be reliable and secure to ensure the interoperability of 5G systems connecting cars, homes, city and industrial infrastructure as they are foundation of an effective Digital Single Market, writes Wassim Chourbaji.