Opinions

Promoted content
Electricity 18-01-2018

Worrying detachment of market and system operations

Minimal cross-zonal capacities for trade proposed by the latest draft of Electricity Regulation will lead to a fictitious wholesale market outcome, argues PSE.

Energy 18-01-2018

Avoiding common traps in energy savings (mis)calculation

Inconsistencies in the calculation of energy savings could derail global sustainability efforts, warn Tom Machinchick and Dr. Andreas Hermelink. Together, they investigate the effect of non-persistence in energy conservation measures on meeting the Paris Agreement and other carbon emissions goals.

Climate change 18-01-2018

IPCC 1.5°C report: A clarion call for EU action on climate

A leaked draft of the IPCC's forthcoming report on keeping global warming at 1.5 degrees Celsius gives reason to hope that the target is attainable. But only if urgent action is taken immediately, warns Dr Bert Metz.

Health 18-01-2018

Mapping the flaws of our European mental health systems

Today in Europe, one in four people may experience a mental health problem at some point in their lives. For many they can recover through the right treatment and support. For others, sadly, it will result in years spent living in an institution.

Brexit 17-01-2018

From Queen Mary to Macron – the Calais problem is eternal

If the frontier was on British rather than on French soil, the French believe the immigrants would not be drawn to Calais, writes Denis MacShane.

Circular economy 17-01-2018

Plastics Strategy: EU must heed example of best practices

Now that the European Commission has finally published its Plastics Strategy, the EU institutions should take inspiration from the best practices out there to make the upcoming legislation on single-use plastics work for citizens, the planet and the economy.

Economy & Jobs 17-01-2018

What if the youth could change Europe’s economic reality?

We need a reality check. Some in Europe may be celebrating the slow but steady rise in employment rates and economic growth. But young people have very little to celebrate, writes Luis Alvarado Martinez.

Future EU 17-01-2018

Tens of millions of Africans will try to come to Europe. What’s the EU policy?

Demographics suggest that Africans taking the perilous journey to Europe will be in their millions, and perhaps their tens of millions, writes Giles Merritt.

Brexit 16-01-2018

Pro-Europeans in the UK have cause for optimism

2018 will be the most important year for the Brexit process. With just over a year to go until the UK formally leaves the EU, there is still all to play for, where pro-Europeans in the UK like Open Britain can take courage from recent political and economic events.

Energy 16-01-2018

Parliament energy vote is last chance to preserve EU’s Paris Agreement credibility

Greens/EFA MEP Claude Turmes argues that when it comes to energy efficiency talks, EPP lead negotiator Markus Pieper is trying to turn his group into a "European Polluters' Party", in an attempt to break the historical pro-climate position of his political group ahead of a defining vote in Strasbourg on Wednesday (17 January).

Development Policy 16-01-2018

EU and Africa have a unique chance to rationalise their cooperation

While 2018 is undoubtedly an important year for the European Union in terms of its own future, it is also a year for resetting its relations with developing countries and in particular with its continental neighbour on the other side of the Mediterranean, the African Union, writes James Mackie.

Politics 16-01-2018

EU should be more careful its funding doesn’t spread online radicalisation

EU-funded videos used for an anti-radicalisation campaign could in fact be considered as recruitment tools such as Islamic State, warns Eli Hadzhieva.

Economy & Jobs 15-01-2018

Moving the payment landscape forward at speed

The way we pay and shop continues to evolve at speed but the vision  of a safe, secure and simple digital payments landscape is happening all around us, writes Ann Cairns.

Energy 15-01-2018

Bioenergy at the centre of EU renewable energy policy

Bioenergy has to be an essential part of the EU energy mix for at least the next 30 years. Without it, the commitment to a 1.5°C global warming target will be very hard, if not impossible to achieve, argue a group of scientists.

Energy 15-01-2018

Closing the energy performance gap of buildings

Despite new efficient technologies, the actual performance of the heating, cooling or ventilation system of buildings is often worse than calculations or declarations. The good news is that EU policy makers have just committed to tackle this performance gap in the new energy performance of buildings directive (EPBD), writes André Borouchaki.

Health 12-01-2018

Four reasons EU institutions should and must share more information on harmful chemicals

It is no surprise that key information on harmful chemicals originally lies in the hands of industry alone. But just because it starts with industry, does not mean it should be left there, writes Apolline Roger.

Energy 12-01-2018

Accelerating the path towards ‘solar energy 3.0’

Europe is currently in the first stage of photovoltaic solar development. Moving to the next phases, 2.0 and 3.0, will require a smart new Green Deal that avoids the “boom-and-bust” developments of the past and leverages private investment to achieve high renewable energy goals, writes Stefan Degener.

Promoted content
Energy 11-01-2018

Smoke and mirrors prior to MEPs’ vote on REDII

One week before the European Parliament’s vote on the new Renewable Energy Directive (REDII), the debate on solid bioenergy’s role and future contribution to meeting the EU’s renewable energy targets has been (once again) taken hostage by radical statements from a select few NGOs, writes Jean-Marc Jossart.

Energy 11-01-2018

Synthetic fossil fuels: A dieselgate 2.0 in the making?

Audi, the German car manufacturer, is pitching ‘e-fuels’ as a clean alternative to produce petrol, diesel or gas, without having to extract fossil fuels. Sounds splendid but unfortunately too good to be true, warns Jonas Helseth.

Electricity 11-01-2018

We have passed the electric tipping point

As the price of renewables plummets and electrification goes from strength to strength, the head of Norway's transmission system operator considers the inherent challenges and significant benefits, asking, how can we create most value to all Europeans?

Promoted content

AFEMS dresses European

Over the years, AFEMS – the Association of European Manufacturers of Sporting Ammunition - has undergone many evolutions, in order to be more effective in advancing its missions and promoting the voice of the sector.

Circular economy 11-01-2018

Why the EU’s renewable energy proposal subverts the circular economy

To date, the Renewable Energy Directive has been a key obstacle to achieving waste policy objectives. If the EU is serious about the transition towards a circular economy, it is crucial that incentive schemes for renewables encourage separate collection and recycling, writes Janek Vahk.

Future EU 10-01-2018

‘Last chance’: Juncker has only 2018 to deliver the goods

This is the year when Jean-Claude Juncker's ‘Last Chance’ Commission must chalk up worthwhile achievements and shake off the sense of inertia that already risks turning into full retreat, argue Giles Merritt and Shada Islam.

Electricity 10-01-2018

To finance the energy transition, EU leaders must restore their ambition

The investment case for low-carbon energy is strong: increased economic growth and jobs, reduced transition risks, and the most cost-effective pathway to realising the goals of the Paris Agreement. Why, then, are EU energy ministers so reluctant to provide the legislative framework required to shift the trillions? writes Stephanie Pfeifer.