EurActiv.com

EU news and policy debates across languages

05/12/2016

Innovation and industrialisation can speed up deep energy renovation

Opinions

Click here to submit an opinion piece


Sustainable Dev. 05-12-2016

Commission’s flip-flop on biofuels puts at risk tens of thousands of jobs

There was little to surprise in the launch of the EU Commission “clean energy” proposals on biofuels given they had been widely leaked in advance. For all that, they are profoundly shocking, writes Patrick Kent.
Development Policy 05-12-2016

Agenda for Sustainable Development: What are the EU's ambitions?

How the EU intends to respond to global challenges and reform its own policies under the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development remains tellingly unclear, write Christine Hackenesch and Niels Keijzer.
Euro & Finance 05-12-2016

Time for EU leaders to deliver on commitments to Greece

The Eurogroup will today (5 December) examine the progress Greece has made so far. Now the EU must deliver on their own commitments, write Dimitrios Papadimoulis, Udo Bullmann and Pervenche Berès.
Energy 02-12-2016

Pipelines and LNG in Europe: Competitors or complementary projects?

The presence of alternative supplies – in the form of liquefied or pipeline gas fixing a price ceiling - and a well-functioning, competitive EU gas market, will hedge European consumers against high energy prices, writes Danila Bochkarev.
Central Europe 02-12-2016

Fight the lies and ‘alt-truths’

The Kremlin uses our internal grievances to force a wedge between different groups of people in our societies, writes Tomáš Prouza.
Global Europe 01-12-2016

A turning point for EU relations with Latin America

Europe must strengthen its ties with Latin America to promote democracy, social progress and equality in the age of globalisation, write Ramón Jáuregui and Carlos Zorrinho.

The West must stop hiding from truth about Turkey’s coup

Our 9/11. That is how many Turks see the failed 15 July coup d’état, writes Daniel Kawczynski. But it’s not a sentiment that resonates in the United Kingdom, Washington, Berlin or Brussels.
Energy 01-12-2016

Winter Package leaves citizens out in the cold

The European Commission’s raft of energy policy proposals not only threatens to derail efforts to fight climate change, it squanders a chance to make the EU more relevant for its citizens, writes Jorgo Riss.
Energy 01-12-2016

Backdoor for coal subsidies remains half open under new EU rules

While it may seem like a gesture to coal-dependent countries such as Poland, the Winter Package of EU energy market rules, presented yesterday (30 November), will make using coal subsidies more difficult, writes Izabela Zygmunt.
Development Policy 01-12-2016

Europe has the potential to end HIV and AIDS by 2030

On World AIDS Day, many are hopeful that it will be possible to eliminate a killer disease that is set to affect more than one billion people by 2030, writes Cecile Vernant.
Energy 30-11-2016

Buildings: The forgotten dimension of energy efficiency

Improving the energy efficiency of our buildings is an area where EU action can make a big difference for citizens, while their digitalisation and integration into the energy system are indispensable for creating jobs and growth, and driving innovation, writes Lars Tveen.
Energy 30-11-2016

Nuclear referendum fails to mollify Swiss energy debate

Given the polarisation of the debate and high share of undecided respondents, it comes as no surprise that politicians went back into campaigning mode after the nuclear referendum in Switzerland on Sunday (27 November), write Rolf Wüstenhagen and Adrian Rinscheid.
Health & Consumers 30-11-2016

Advanced wastewater treatment: A way to follow the precautionary principle?

Most people flush their wastewater down the drain without giving much thought to sewage treatment. But this service is a prerequisite for clean water, one of the most valuable resources in our society. The cost of inaction is too great, writes Emma Undeman.
Health & Consumers 29-11-2016

An opportunity to fix Europe’s gender health gap

Gender equality has long been debated in Europe and, despite numerous initiatives, it remains a big issue, particularly in terms of the health gap between men and women, writes Peter Baker.
Sustainable Dev. 28-11-2016

Where are forests in Europe’s Sustainable Development Goals plans?

Forests are vital to achieving the SDGs and the aims of the Paris Agreement. Without action to protect forests, the problems posed by poverty and climate change will only get worse, writes Indra Van Gisbergen.

How the gig economy is changing employment

The advent of the gig economy has brought fundamental changes to the way in which we access goods and services and turned traditional business models on their head.  Denis Pennel considers its impact on employment and the likely implications for the future of work.
Europe's East 28-11-2016

Moldova’s geopolitical crossroads

Moldova’s first directly elected president may have legitimacy in the eyes of the people, but he will have to steer his country through stormy economic and geopolitical waters, writes Serghei Sadohin.

Tired of the founding fathers? Let’s celebrate the women building Europe

Gender equality is a prerequisite to achieving a sustainable Europe that has the buy in of its citizens - and this includes women at the heart of all decision-making, write Joanna Maycock and Petros Fassoulas.

Making violence against ethnic minority women visible

Race, ethnicity and religion play a role in minority women’s experiences of discrimination and violence. As a result, women with multi-layered identities are more vulnerable, but this reality is rarely acknowledged, let alone tackled effectively, writes Amel Yacef.

Signs of change towards Social Europe?

Progress has been made on social values, through the Commission’s Autumn Package. Fintan Farrell and Sian Jones explain what has been done and what is still left to do.
Energy 25-11-2016

Who is trying to kill EU ambition on renewables and energy savings?

In one week the European Commission is expected to present its big energy package for 2030. It remains uncertain if the optimistic promises to put energy efficiency first and make the EU a global leader in renewable energy will be fulfilled, writes Roland Joebstl.
Digital 25-11-2016

Europe needs a new digital deal

Forget Trump and Brexit for a moment. Europe’s next big challenge is the coming digital revolution and how to harness it. Nobody will be left untouched by the consequences of our digital policies, writes Bjarke Møller.

Food security in the face of climate change: Impossible without water

Development agencies must use the momentum from COP22 to prioritise water infrastructure projects and help mitigate the effects of climate change and extreme weather events in Africa, write Elke Herrfahrdt-Pähle and Waltina Scheumann.

Innovation and industrialisation can speed up deep energy renovation

With the pending Winter Package, including an Accelerating Clean Energy Innovation strategy, the European Commission has a chance to show that the EU has reached a crossroads, write Oliver Rapf and Julia Reinaud.