Opinions

Energy 22-09-2017

Will new EU buildings law help pave the way for an electro-mobile future?

The ongoing reform of the Energy Performance of Buildings Directive (EPBD) offers a once-in-a-decade opportunity to make European buildings and cities of today fit for the low pollution, electric transport of tomorrow, writes Teodora Serafimova.

Freedom of thought 22-09-2017

European Muslims feel part of Europe but when will European society reciprocate?

New data released this week show that Muslims in Europe face discrimination in all areas of life. We need to start shifting our perspective and promote inclusive narratives and practices with regard to Muslims' presence in Europe. Too often, they are seen as a ‘problem to manage’, writes Julie Pascoët.

Sponsored
Politics 22-09-2017

FleishmanHillard is delighted to announce that Mr Claudio Murri and Dr Lukas Pfister have joined the firm as senior advisers

FleishmanHillard is delighted to announce that Mr Claudio Murri and Dr Lukas Pfister have joined the firm as senior advisers to our technology and healthcare practices. Given the accelerating EU agendas in both of these sectors, increasing clients demands and opportunities for growth, we are excited to build upon existing expertise with these high caliber professionals. These senior profiles …

Armenia 22-09-2017

How Azerbaijani laundromat has affected EU policy on Nagorno-Karabakh

More than two decades after Azerbaijan and Armenia fought over Nagorno-Karabakh, a mixture of Azerbaijani bribes and oil politics has kept European institutions out of the disputed region. It is time for the EU to free itself from this grip and stand for its values in the Caucasus, argues Nicolas Tavitian.

Energy 22-09-2017

Guarantees of origin for renewable power set for (overdue) scrutiny

A complex and misleading system of guarantees of origin for electricity generated from renewable energy sources is getting increased attention in Brussels, writes Ole Lofsnaes.

Economy & Jobs 21-09-2017

Don’t protect us from doing business!

It’s always a pleasure to be praised as strategically important. But when looking at the European Commission’s current proposal for screening foreign direct investments, many entrepreneurs ask: what is the strategy? Thilo Brodtmann explains.

Freedom of thought 21-09-2017

Violence against girls is corrosive to society

More than a half of the world’s women and girls experience some kind of physical or sexual violence in their early years. This miserable tide of suffering is ruining millions of girls’ childhoods and undermining their chances of becoming healthy adults, warn Kevin J. Jenkins and Susan Bissell.

Electricity 21-09-2017

Is German climate leadership being sacrificed on the altar of coal?

The pre-election politicking currently going on in Germany should ring alarm bells among climate policy advocates, warns Julian Schwartzkopff. If Angela Merkel does not take personal ownership of securing a climate-compatible coal phase-out, she could jeopardise her legacy as “climate chancellor”, he writes.

Sponsored
Future of mobility 21-09-2017

Unlocking the potential of lightweighting in vehicles to meet CO2 targets

Although electrification will undoubtedly play a large role in decarbonising road transport, the obvious but often overlooked solution is lightweighting, argues Patrik Ragnarsson.

Agrifood 21-09-2017

EU and GMOs: The case for a knowledge-based society

Albert Einstein said, “It is harder to crack prejudice than an atom.” A persistent prejudice in the EU is that against GMOs. An EU court judgment has restated that fears are unfounded, but will Europe take the opportunity to become a science-based society, ask Roberto Defez and Dennis Eriksson.

Economy & Jobs 20-09-2017

The OECD must return to its founding principles

In a world beset by fake news, where facts are all too often subordinated to politics, smart policymaking requires independent institutions that can provide objective research and analysis, grounding political debate in science and reason, writes Justus Haucap.

Economy & Jobs 20-09-2017

Falling youth unemployment is not a reason for complacency

Europe needs to better integrate young people into the labour market if it is to address youth unemployment effectively, writes Denis Pennel.

Elections 20-09-2017

No EU money for Eurosceptics!

“We should not be filling the coffers of anti-European extremists,” said Jean-Claude Juncker. It was the first time European political parties were mentioned in the European Commission President’s annual address and it did not go unnoticed, writes Wouter Wolfs.

Global Europe 20-09-2017

Migration and Europe: The view from Turkey

European governments seem to be treating Turkey like a game on a football pitch, pushing the ball of inclusion around, but never really having the intention of allowing it to become an equal player on their field, writes Egemen Bağış.

20-09-2017

Anti-biofuel ideologues support the oil status quo

Anti-biofuel ideologues claim to be pro-climate and pro-development. But their positions, in fact, support the oil status quo, the concentration of power in the energy sector in the hands of large multinationals and the decline of the EU farming sector, writes Eric Sievers.

Economy & Jobs 19-09-2017

With age(ing) comes wisdom: Shifting the debate on living longer

Ministers and experts from more than 50 countries meet in Lisbon this week for a major conference on “realizing the potential of living longer”. Olga Algayerova explains why Europe must carefully review what living longer means for how we live and work together.

19-09-2017

Cetaceans are under fresh threat in the EU

Cetacean bycatch has been a major conservation and animal welfare concern in the EU for decades, but moves are afoot to potentially water down protections for such sensitive marine species. Sarah Dolman, Sarah Baulch and Jo Swabe argue that better monitoring and mitigation measures in new legislation could help to eliminate this problem.

Catalonia: Vote and let vote

On 11 September, a crowd of one million people gathered again in the streets of Barcelona, calling for independence for Catalonia. And once again it was all conducted in a peaceful and civil manner, writes Jordi Solé, an MEP from Catalonia who supports the planned independence referendum.

Digital 19-09-2017

A call for innovation-friendly ePrivacy rules

The EU's draft ePrivacy regulation risks crippling innovative cloud computing services, writes Kim Gagné.

Climate change 19-09-2017

My climate journey through Trump’s America

Does Trump speak for the American heartlands on climate change? Rosalind Cook spent two weeks travelling across the country meeting a range of people to ascertain what the thinking is at grassroots level. And it wasn’t what she expected.

‘Golden visas’ candidates should be thoroughly screened

The EU is bribing Libya to prevent desperate young men and women reaching the safety of our shores, while member states open wide their doors to corrupt foreign politicians who can buy ‘golden visas’, writes Ana Gomes.

Global Europe 18-09-2017

Joining the community of nations serves Russia’s best interests

In the sweep of history, nations can meet or miss their moment. That moment is now for Russia to step up and join the community of nations. We need Russia - and Russia needs the world., writes Professor Herta Däubler-Gmelin.

Digital 18-09-2017

Silicon Valley giants want to smash standards and grab internet of things

An internet of things based on shared open standards is under threat from Silicon Valley. And EU policymakers could stop them, writes Francisco Mingorance.

Sponsored
Energy 18-09-2017

Copper: A key facilitator of a low-carbon economy

This week, international leaders from business, government and civil society are meeting in New York to discuss how to keep the momentum going, particularly considering Washington's withdrawal from the agreement, writes Fleming Voetmann.