Future EU

Agenda for Change 26-05-2017

The EU must forge a European strategy for sustainable development

The UN's 2030 Agenda is absent from the White Paper on the Future of Europe. The Commission should lead by example and mainstream sustainable development across all EU programmes, policies and financial instruments, writes Luca Jahier.

19-05-2017

Croatia at a crossroads

Croatia’s geostrategic position in the Balkans means the rest of Europe should pay attention to this weekend’s elections, writes Tomislav Karamarko.

Brexit 19-05-2017

There’s more to European citizenship than free movement

When freedom of movement was written into the Treaties, the hope was that citizens would become more mobile and, in turn, more European. But instead of uniting Europeans, free movement has become politically divisive, writes Rainer Bauböck.

Brexit 18-05-2017

Peace in Northern Ireland needs the EU now more than ever

Brexit will badly impact Northern Ireland. Being cut off from the EU will rob it of its main stability guarantee, writes Daniela Irrera.

12-05-2017

An outside-the-box solution to Brexit and the Strasbourg seat

Relocating the EU's UK-based agencies to Strasbourg and ending the European Parliament's monthly travelling circus is a logical solution that would benefit everyone, argues Bart Staes.

12-05-2017

Macron, a promise for a new Europe

This 7 May could well mark the birth of a new Europe: becoming empowered, seeking out its true nature while remaining true to itself, taking clear-headed decisions, writes Antoine Ripoll.

09-05-2017

Romania in the EU: A successful story

Romania is celebrating ten years of full membership of the European Union. Today (9 May) is also a moment to review the country's evolution over the last decade, writes Ana Birchall.

EU Priorities 2020 08-05-2017

The ‘missing scenario’: There are alternatives for Europeans

In order to revive the European project, the progressive forces must have an ambitious vision that goes beyond an intergovernmental system and implements a genuine Community method, MEPs from the Progressive Caucus alliance write.

Brexit 02-05-2017

The opportunity of ruptured nuptials

While the UK was an EU member, its partners had to humour its peccadillos and mood swings. Now that it’s not, they can look forward to a new, more free future, writes Tom Parker.

Brexit 26-04-2017

‘Hostile Brexit’ would be lose-lose deal for jobs

UK Prime Minister Theresa May will seek a strong mandate for Brexit talks in the upcoming general election. The onus now falls on negotiators to ensure that ‘hard’ Brexit does not become a ‘hostile’ Brexit that results in mutually damaging job destruction, writes Iain Begg.

Problems with Hungary affect EU single market too

The Hungarian problem extends beyond civil liberties, human rights and the rule of law, it also encroaches on European jobs and growth, as well as the single market, writes MEP Lambert van Nistelrooij.

18-04-2017

From Ankara to Paris: Europe’s fateful week

The European Union is the most endangered contender in this weekend’s French election, warns Professor Alina Mungiu-Pippidi.

14-04-2017

EU at 60: Common sense will prevail

The recent 60th anniversary celebrations in Rome were justifiably optimistic. The European Union may well have negotiated its rough patch and from here on out it could prove to be smooth sailing, writes Merve Demirel.

Politics 05-04-2017

In Brexit talks, don’t bargain over security

Theresa May's decision to link future security cooperation with Europe to the outcome of a trade deal is damaging for the Brexit talks. In the contrary, a deal on security could set a positive tone for the very difficult trade negotiations, argues Rem Korteweg.

04-04-2017

EU must make stand against Hungary’s contempt for European values

The Central European University has been a beacon of European values for over two decades but is now under threat from the Hungarian government. Budapest’s machinations are also completely contrary to the spirit of the Rome Declaration, warns Chrys Margaritidis.

03-04-2017

Why did such sadness accompany the Brexit letter?

The neo-Gaullist 'Brussels system', with its decisions made in private, is at the heart of British frustrations, writes David Heilbron Price.

Brexit 29-03-2017

Brexit ‘letter’ is nothing new: What May did not say

After the Trump-like picture of Theresa May signing her Article 50 letter, there was nothing new in her statement in the House of Commons, writes Denis MacShane.

Brexit 29-03-2017

As the UK prepares to leave, is Europe disintegrating after 60 years?

The EU will not necessarily disappear, but it badly needs leaders who would avoid empty slogans, which merely repackage the status quo, and instead propose tangible solutions to everyday problems, writes Sir Michael Leigh.

24-03-2017

A very happy birthday to the European Union

There will be a sombre atmosphere when EU leaders gather in Rome later today (24 March). Just a few days after the summit, the UK will trigger Article 50. But now the bloc is tasked with rekindling public support for integration, so let’s toast its future, writes Fraser Cameron.

24-03-2017

Sixty years on, we must write a new chapter in our shared history

This is no time for nostalgia. The 60th anniversary celebrations of the Treaty of Rome are a chance to start a new chapter in Europe’s history, write Philippe Lamberts and Ska Keller.

23-03-2017

An EU Youth Strategy that actually makes a difference

“Young people are the future!” - isn’t that a no-brainer! When meeting politicians, we often find them paying lip service to this mantra. But if you tell someone that they are the future, doesn’t it simply mean you are putting them off, Luis Alvarado asks.

21-03-2017

The Europe we want: Fair, sustainable, democratic and inclusive

The 60th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome is a huge opportunity to take stock of how far Europe has come – and how far we still have to go in order to offer a sustainable and prosperous future to everyone in Europe, write a number of European organisations.

Politics 21-03-2017

European defence and the Eurocorps model

Today it is clear that a robust European Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP) is a must, and the time to enhance it has come, writes Lieutenant General Alfredo Ramirez.

21-03-2017

What’s in store for the EU (hint: it might not be what you think)

Certainly, the past 10 years have been tough for Europe but, as the EU celebrates its 60th anniversary, it must also build on its positive achievements in order to tackle the numerous challenges ahead, writes Jacques Bughin.