Sustainable Development

Climate change 17-05-2017

EU has opportunity to seize global leadership on forests and climate

Former 'climate heroes’ France, Finland, Sweden and Austria are fighting tooth and nail to weaken EU land accounting rules, also known as the Land Use, Land-Use Change and Forestry (LULUCF) Regulation, writes Hannah Mowat.

Climate change 28-04-2017

Sustainable economic reconstruction holds the ‘key’ to Europe’s future

As our world slides down the slippery road of demagoguery and hate-driven politics, now is the time for Europe to rise from its own deep crisis and be the global leader we all need, writes Demetres Karavellas.

Primeval forest risks sparking new EU-Poland clash

The EU warned Poland on Thursday (27 April) it may take legal action to stop logging in a UNESCO World Heritage forest, risking a new clash with Warsaw's right-wing government.

Development Policy 27-04-2017

Palm oil production, development and the environment

Europe’s well-meaning attempts to improve the sustainability of palm oil production may be having the opposite effect, writes Hiroko Shimizu.

Circular economy 27-04-2017

Member states need to agree on a strong Circular Economy Package

Following the European Parliament’s adoption of the proposed amendments on 14 March, the negotiations on the EU Circular Economy Package have now entered their final phase. NABU urges Europe to set strong targets, not watered-down goals.

Economy & Jobs 26-04-2017

Germany opposes key EU car emission test reforms

Germany is opposing key elements of a European Union proposal to overhaul how car engine emissions are tested for pollution, a document seen by Reuters showed, as Brussels attempts to prevent a repeat of the Volkswagen emissions scandal.

Climate change 25-04-2017

Most global investors recognise financial risk of climate change, report finds

For the first time a majority of global investor heavyweights recognise the financial risks of climate change, according to the results of a major global index rating how investors manage such risks. EURACTIV's partner The Guardian reports.

Climate change 20-04-2017

Climate change exacerbates threat of terrorism

From South America to the Middle East, the effects of climate change appear to exacerbate the problems of organised crime and terrorism. The UN and German think tank Adelphi have raised the alarm. EURACTIV France reports.

Energy 06-04-2017

Energy poverty: A blight on the EU

For something that blights the lives of between 50 and 125 million European citizens it is strange to discover that there is no EU-wide definition of 'energy poverty', writes Adrian Joyce.

Health 05-04-2017

Only healthier diets can tackle climate change, experts claim

Governments are “trapped” by lobbyists, and it’s hard to fight climate change. But if young people are mobilised and turn to healthy lifestyles, there is hope, according to scientists. EURACTIV.com reports from Lyon.

Pressure grows on Commission to change environment law after UN rebuke

EXCLUSIVE/ Green campaigners today (27 March) heaped more pressure on the European Commission to change EU law to make it easier for NGOs to bring lawsuits over EU environment policy.

Climate change 24-03-2017

Leaked paper exposes EU countries’ abuse of climate loophole

EXCLUSIVE/ European Union countries exploited loopholes in United Nations forestry rules to pocket carbon credits worth €600 million and the equivalent of global-warming emissions from 114 million cars.

Circular economy 23-03-2017

Recyclables must be collected separately for circular economy to succeed, says panel

Separate collection of recyclable materials is the key to a successful circular economy, but some member states struggle to put the necessary infrastructure in place, policymakers told a EURACTIV event held on Tuesday (21 March).

Opinion leaders identify seven pillars for ‘better’ EU action

CIVICO-Europa, an informal group set up by opinion leaders and later supported by politicians, presented today (20 March) a manifesto for the future of Europe, based on “doing much better together”, rather than the traditional way of “doing more”.

Future EU 20-03-2017

The EU budget: Unlocking a new vision for Europe

The key to unlocking a more inspiring and politically winnable New Vision for a strong Europe may well be the next European budget, writes David Holyoake.

Cleaning up the oceans is no solution to our plastic problem

Plastics have brought huge benefits to our society. But with those benefits come environmental problems. Too often, plastic ends up as waste, as marine litter polluting the oceans, or as litter on our beaches.

Wales continues to lead UK in recycling, announces circular economy fund

The Welsh government has unveiled a £6.5m (€7.5m) fund to help SMEs make the transformation towards a circular economy. The Principality leads the UK in recycling targets and would place 4th in the EU if it were a member state. EURACTIV’s partner edie.net reports.

Transport 08-03-2017

Air pollution forces Barcelona to ban old cars from roads

Barcelona will ban cars that are older than 20 years from the roads during the week to cut traffic emissions by 30% over 15 years. EURACTIV’s partner The Guardian reports.

Report: Brexit offers escape from over €2bn in EU waste policy costs

British businesses would lose over €2bn over the next 20 years through the EU's Circular Economy Package, according to a new report, which is calling on the UK to adopt a better waste and resource management framework post-Brexit. EURACTIV’s partner edie.net reports.

Paper boss: EU’s Circular Economy Package could have been more ambitious

The European Commission’s Circular Economy Package could have been more ambitious, the director-general of the Confederation of European Paper Industries said in an interview about recycling, Brussels red tape and the shift to a low-carbon economy.

Sponsored
Biofuels 01-03-2017

Biofuels in aviation: A sustainable alternative?

Current laws require EU countries to have “at least 10%” renewable energy used in transport by 2020 – including a 7% cap for biofuels. For 2030, the European Commission proposed reducing conventional biofuels in transport to 3.8% as part of a broader target to source at least 27% energy from renewables.

EU ministers likely to oppose EU carbon market regulation of shipping

European Union member states are likely to oppose the regulation of shipping in draft reforms to the bloc’s carbon market.

EU climate laws ‘cost paper recyclers 40% of their profits’

EXCLUSIVE/ EU climate legislation robs paper recyclers of at least 40% of their profits, the equivalent of at least one billion euros of lost potential investment in the green economy, a European paper industry chief has said.

European companies compete for water solutions

European companies are competing in the petri-dish of innovative projects looking to provide water solutions in the arid lands of the eastern Arabian Peninsula, writes Stuart Reigeluth.