About: lobbying

Politics 28-11-2017

The biggest loophole in the Commission’s lobby transparency efforts

Extending the “no registration, no meeting” rule from the Commission elite to lower-level officials would at once improve lobby transparency and protect civil servants. But the Commission has been actively avoiding the need to address this, writes Margarida Silva.

Politics 06-11-2017

A new definition of lobbying would be unnecessary and risky

The Commission wants to redefine lobbying during the upcoming revision of the EU lobby transparency register so that it only relates to direct contacts with EU decision-makers, allowing certain lobbyists to operate under the radar, writes Vicky Cann.

 

Politics 10-10-2017

Transparent Europe: How the EU is becoming a role model of transparency

There is a stubbornly held opinion that the European Union is non-transparent and vulnerable to the interests of lobbyist. But a hidden agenda of interests in Brussels and Strasbourg is hardly possible and in terms of transparency, the European Union is even way ahead of its own member states, argues Jo Leinen.

Politics 02-10-2017

More transparency needed to tackle corporate capture

Two years after Dieselgate put the issue of corporate capture into the limelight, EU institutions have the perfect opportunity to get tough on lobbying, through a comprehensive reform of the EU lobby transparency, writes Myriam Douo.

Politics 27-03-2017

Lobby transparency reform: Here we go again

Scandals from Dieselgate to tobacco, glyphosate to high finance, have contributed to widespread public cynicism over the power of lobbyists in the EU. Campaigners are facing the upcoming EU lobby transparency negotiations with a mixture of weary resignation and apprehension, writes Vicky Cann.

Public Affairs 04-01-2017

Does corruption threaten Europe?

Current debate rarely attributes the rise of populism in European politics to the perceived prevalence of corruption. Yet public opinion often shows that citizens believe their representatives to be corrupt, write Laurence Cockcroft and Anne-Christine Wegener.

Public Affairs 09-12-2016

MEPs need a long hard look in the mirror

MEPs have been quick to point out the reforms needed to improve accountability in the Commission but have not turned the same critical eye on themselves, writes Myriam Douo.

Energy 25-11-2016

Who is trying to kill EU ambition on renewables and energy savings?

In one week the European Commission is expected to present its big energy package for 2030. It remains uncertain if the optimistic promises to put energy efficiency first and make the EU a global leader in renewable energy will be fulfilled, writes Roland Joebstl.

Public Affairs 14-11-2016

Lessons from the Barroso affair: How to reform Commission ethics

After months of procrastinating, Jean-Claude Juncker has now suggested extending the cooling off period for former Commission presidents. Unfortunately, the proposal is too weak to prevent scandals like ‘Barrosogate’ from happening again.

Trade & Society 23-09-2016

Don’t be fooled by CETA: It’s a wolf in sheep’s clothing

In his State of the Union speech, Jean-Claude Juncker called the Canada-EU trade agreement the most progressive trade agreement the EU has ever negotiated. It actually poses a genuine threat to the health sector, argues Emma Woodford.

Future EU 30-06-2016

The bright side of Brexit: Lobbying jobs in Brussels in high demand

One industry that is sure to benefit from Brexit is the government affairs sector, as worried UK businesses and trade associations try to adjust to a confusing new world, writes Aart van Iterson.

Health 07-09-2015

EU needs compulsory transparency register to rein in Big Pharma lobbying

Big Pharma is out-gunning its civil society and non-profit rivals in terms of lobbying, access, and influence at the EU institutions, write David Lundy and Rachel Tansey.

Energy 19-03-2015

Energy Union is a triumph of gas lobby spin

The gas industry's claims that it is needed to back up renewables and cut emissions appear to be increasingly accepted by the architects of the Energy Union, writes Brook Riley. But the truth is that gas is not clean and EU leaders, meeting today to discuss the Energy Union, need to focus on renewables and energy efficiency instead.

Public Affairs 12-03-2015

A penny for your thoughts: MEPs and the revolving door

Losing your seat in the elections can be a devastating blow for an MEP, but there can be a silver lining, especially if you were a member of a prominent parliamentary committee, writes Vicky Cann.

[Tudor Catalin Gheorghe]
Public Affairs 06-01-2015

EU’s voluntary-lobbyist-registration policy belies its calls for transparency

Developed countries often lecture states in the developing world about transparency. So it seems the height of hypocrisy that the European Union is not requiring lobbyists to register, writes Giorgi Meladze.

Public Affairs 02-09-2014

The revolving door keeps on spinning: it’s time for ex-MEPs to cool off!

The former chair of the European Parliament Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON), Sharon Bowles, created a furore last week by taking up a position as a non-executive director at the London Stock Exchange.  This followed recent reports of two other ex-ECON members also walking through the revolving door.  In an election year, when many ex-MEPs are back on the job market, particular scrutiny rightly needs to be paid to such potential conflicts of interest and in April, the Transparency International EU Office (TI-EU) highlighted the issue in a report on the EU integrity system.

Public Affairs 19-04-2013

Bad news for EU decision-making: Comitology no longer exists

In the three years since the Lisbon Treaty entered into force, EU decision-making has become more complex and opaque, and there are signs that the secondary legislative procedure, or comitology, no longer exists, writes Daniel Guéguen.

Public Affairs 22-03-2013

Lobby register review should not be rushed

Transparency facilitates scrutiny and hence accountability. Despite recurrent criticism and even active campaigns fuelled by some organisations, EU efforts in the area of transparency are among the most comprehensive in the world, writes European Commission Vice President Maroš Šef?ovi?.

Future EU 19-09-2011

EU lobbying from a new EU member state perspective

While the new member states' generally small stature, relative poverty and inexperience limit their influence in the European Union, they are fast learning the game of Brussels lobbying, argues Gergana Passy.

Future EU 22-06-2011

How the EU institutions work and how to work with the EU institutions

It is more necessary than ever for private and public organisations to understand how to work with European institutions, argues Alan Hardacre. Though EU policymaking can be complex and difficult, he says that preaching this understanding need not be the monopoly of professional lobbies and consultancies.

Global Europe 09-06-2011

Reflections on the Arab revolutions

Tom Spencer analyses in depth the background and context of the Arab revolutions, the European Union's "flabby diplomacy" and the repercussions these developments will have on the EU's political leaders, arguing that these could even prematurely end Catherine Ashton's term as the bloc's foreign affairs chief.

Future EU 23-05-2011

MEPs should apply same standards the EU requires of Romanian MPs

Cristian Ghinea argues in an open letter that Romanian MEP Adrian Severin should have his parliamentary immunity removed so that the Romanian anti-corruption office can investigate allegations of corruption against him.

Public Affairs 21-04-2011

EU lobbying by third countries

Governments are increasingly turning to PR companies to improve public perception of their activities. But in a world of round-the-clock media coverage any inaccuracies in such information are spotted fast, writes Andreas Geiger of Brussels law firm Alber & Geiger in an exclusive commentary for EURACTIV.

Public Affairs 18-03-2011

Why I’m proud to be a lobbyist

Public affairs professionals transform data and information into electrical impulses that travel from one decision centre to another, setting in motion the muscles of society that enable change and ensure the stability and smooth functioning of democratic systems, writes Luis Aguado Alba of Mas Consulting in an award-winning essay presented at the European Public Affairs Consultancies Association's 2011 AGM.