Opinions

Economy & Jobs 15-10-2021

The Brief, powered by APPLiA — A tax needs global defence

Global agreements on tax and international finance are so rare that it is tough to begrudge politicians for leaping on them. No surprise, then, that last week’s OECD tax deal was followed by a collective round of back–slapping and self–congratulation. European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen described it as “a historic moment”.
Energy 15-10-2021

Emerging renewable energy markets require well-designed auctions

Auctions are an essential part of the policy toolkit for promoting cost-efficient renewable energy development, but policymakers must be prepared to tailor design to local conditions and adjust for market-specific challenges, write Geoffrey Ho, Corinna Klessmann, and Fabian Wigand.

Time for some perspective: The Polish court was not controversial

Despite the outcry among liberal elites following last week's Polish court ruling, the EU treaties clearly set out the boundaries between national constitutions and EU law. It's time for some perspective, writes Judit Varga.
Special ReportPromoted content
Agrifood 15-10-2021

U.S. Cotton Trust Protocol

There is an urgent need for a harmonised framework on corporate communications around product sustainability, and the U.S. Cotton Trust Protocol welcomes the EU’s efforts to drive greater sustainability in global supply chains, including in the textiles sector.
Energy 14-10-2021

The Brief, powered by APPLiA — Stars align for nuclear

The current energy price spike is something of a storm. But it is also wind in the sails of nuclear energy in Europe, after many years of being given the cold shoulder.
Promoted content
Agrifood 14-10-2021

Innovation in animal health as a key contributor to the EU’s sustainability objectives

Lawmakers have set the political goals for enhanced agricultural sustainability, including higher animal welfare standards, antibiotic use reduction, and decreasing the impact of animal husbandry on the planet
Energy 14-10-2021

Additionality: the key to turn the hydrogen buzz into a renewable boom

If dealt with properly, renewable hydrogen has the power to help decarbonise Europe. Still, policymakers need to maintain the idea of additionality so that renewable electricity is not diverted away from energy production, opening the door for gas and coal, writes Marta Lovisolo.
Promoted content
Agrifood 14-10-2021

The Farm to Fork Strategy is an Opportunity to Incentivise Food and Drink Reformulation

A harmonised FOP labelling system that is rooted in sound science and reflects progressive reformulation efforts by the industry can implement the goals of the Farm to Fork Strategy.
Energy 14-10-2021

Dangerous liaisons: requesting additional gas from Russia will be politically sensitive

EU institutions have limited room to manoeuvre when it comes to going to Russia with requests for more gas in order to alleviate the energy crisis and help Europe get through the winter, warns Andrei Belyi.    
Elections 13-10-2021

The Brief, powered by APPLiA — Can conservatives bring back central eastern Europe?

The defeat of Andrej Babiš in Czechia and the resignation of Austrian chancellor Sebastian Kurz were hailed by many as a win for Europe’s progressives. What is missed in these arguments is that there are only conservatives in line to replace the populists.
Promoted content
Economy & Jobs 13-10-2021

Giving workers the flexibility they seek, and the security they deserve

For a growing number of workers, the ideal workplace is home — and the perfect employer is not one, but many. Welcome to the flexible workforce.
Special ReportPromoted content
Health 13-10-2021

The vaccination race: a public health view

Marathon runners say that the real difficulties, what they call "the wall", appear between km 30 and 35. At this point, physical and mental exhaustion forces some runners to withdraw. We have reached this point with COVID-19. We must find the tools and the strength to keep on running. Finishing this race is critical for all of us. It is critical to the entire world.
Elections 12-10-2021

The Brief, powered by APPLiA — Markus Söder: the enemy within

On 27 September, the German social democrat SPD gave bouquets of flowers to the party’s election-winning candidates: Olaf Scholz for winning across Germany, Franziska Giffey for winning Berlin, and Manuela Schwesig for winning Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.
Digital & Media 12-10-2021

Data Divergences Torpedo Transatlantic Cybersecurity Plans

Beyond these basic similarities in encouraging cybersecurity, the two sides disagree on key points.

Promoted content
Digital & Media 12-10-2021

Artificial Intelligence: How The EU AI Act Can Enable Responsible Innovation In AI And Machine Learning

The proposed AI Act is the first of its kind globally. With the right balance, it can set a robust framework for innovation in trustworthy and rights-protective AI applications.
Digital & Media 12-10-2021

The erosion of media freedom in the Balkans has gone too far

The EU is supposed to embody the values of liberty, democracy and fundamental human rights. But when it comes to media freedom, it is a passive observer in the face of widespread abuses on its own turf and in its immediate neighbourhood, writes Antoinette Nikolova.
Energy 11-10-2021

The Brief, powered by APPLiA — Energising the EU bashing

The recent surge of electricity and gas prices to record heights across Europe has a huge potential for EU-bashing in member states, something the EU institutions should try to avert — if they can.
EU-Africa 11-10-2021

Two worlds, one pandemic

The response to the COVID pandemic is opening up a yawning economic divide between the world's wealthy and poor countries, particularly African nations, who lack the budgetary firepower to finance stimulus measures, writes Edwin Ikhuoria.
Promoted content
Digital & Media 11-10-2021

Digital Inclusiveness: How to ensure no European is left behind

Commission President von der Leyen calling digital “make or break” for Europe’s recovery and sovereignty in her recent State of the Union provides new political impetus to the 2030 digital objectives and targets for digital transformation.
Energy 11-10-2021

Is joint EU gas purchasing really a bad idea?

Rather than going all the way to joint gas purchasing and strategic stocks, a European solidarity mechanism could be done quickly and relatively cheaply to address Europe’s current – and likely future – energy supply problems, argue Christian Egenhofer and Irina Kustova.
Economy & Jobs 11-10-2021

The global tax marathon: Winners and losers

Aspects of the global tax reform agreement which have largely gone unnoticed are likely to come in for closer scrutiny in national parliaments of EU countries and in the European Parliament where some pushback can be expected, writes Dick Roche.
Promoted content
Economy & Jobs 11-10-2021

The Post-COVID Recovery: Why are we no longer talking about Social Services?

Last year, we filled our doorways to clap and cheer in support of the health care and social service professionals keeping us safe. 19-months later and many of these vital services are still as underfunded and underrepresented in local, regional and national policies. Why?
Future EU 08-10-2021

The Brief, powered by GIE — 57 billion reasons to avoid Polexit

In politics, it’s always a good idea to get others to do your dirty work. For Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki, by challenging the principle of the primacy of EU law, one of the main building blocks of the Union, his national Constitutional Tribunal has earned its corn and landed a major blow for Eurosceptics.
Global Europe 08-10-2021

Nord Stream 2: Security and climate wrecking ball

Nord Stream 2 is a wrecking ball hurling towards Europe at an ever accelerating pace, it promises to improve the stability of gas supplies but will undermine it instead, writes Mykhailo Gonchar.