Opinions

The EU's institutional data protection watchdog has 'critical concerns' with European Parliament plans to install a biometric register that will allow MEPs to collect their daily allowance and sign in for hearings on the Brussels premises, it has transpired.
Future EU 13-04-2021

The age of permacrisis

Despite the fatigue with the pandemic and the longing for stability and predictability, Europe has entered the age of ‘permacrisis’, in which volatility, uncertainty, and a prolonged sense of emergency have become the new normal, argue Ricardo Borges de Castro, Fabian Zuleeg and Janis A. Emmanouilidis.
Energy 13-04-2021

The female face of energy poverty is still invisible

Women are more likely to live in energy poverty, something that needs to be reflected in EU policy as it rolls out its renovation wave, writes Michaela Kauer.
Stakeholder Opinion
Agrifood 13-04-2021

EU taxonomy: Biofuels must play a role in transition to carbon neutrality

The latest draft delegated act of the sustainable finance regulation goes part of the way to fixing what went wrong with the original text, but it still needs to be more inclusive when it comes to proven sustainable renewable energy solutions, writes the EU Biofuels Chain.
Promoted content

How to unlock the circular potential of the built environment

As the EU’s Circular Economy Action Plan 2.0 turns one year old and many initiatives to foster sustainable consumption and resource efficiency are still being rolled out, a major opportunity remains – to unleash the circular potential of buildings and the construction sector, writes Laurent Chokoualé Datou.
Digital 13-04-2021

Why the EU should pay attention to Africa’s tech sector

As the EU defines its priorities for an EU-Africa partnership, Africa's burgeoning tech sector is an obvious starting point for collaboration, argues Dan Dalton.
Future EU 12-04-2021

The Brief, powered by FACEBOOK – Michel’s musical chairs

European Council President Charles Michel missed a few good chances in Ankara. But despite his apology tour, where he tried to frame the 'Sofagate' incident as a diplomatic snub rather than a sexist move towards a female leader, this musical chair mishap will mark his mandate, which is up for evaluation in less than a year.
Promoted content
Energy 12-04-2021

European technology unlocking deep geothermal energy for all

Large-scale geothermal energy has long been constrained to volcanic areas where heat can easily be captured and turned into electricity. Recent breakthroughs in drilling techniques can transform the European energy market and end its dependence on fossil fuels. According to...
Global Europe 09-04-2021

The challenge of protecting European privacy from Uncle Sam’s snoopers

The findings of the Court of Justice of the EU (CJEU) in the two cases arising from complaints against Facebook by Austrian privacy campaigner Max Schrems highlight the fundamentally opposed approaches towards data and personal privacy in the EU and the US, writes Dick Roche.

How Joe Biden could effortlessly boost aviation climate action

Europe is strengthening its carbon pricing system for aviation. After having fought the policy under the Obama administration, President Joe Biden has a chance to show that the world has changed and that the US is now ready to support real climate action, argues Jakop Dalunde.
Competition 08-04-2021

Greater corporate tax transparency is also good for business

Far from making life harder for business, public country-by-country reporting will actually improve relations with investors, and benefit both companies and consumers, writes Elena Gaita.

Protecting our health also means switching to toxic-free food packaging

As the world looks to rebuild after COVID, we need to change our approach to the environment, particularly the chemicals and single-use plastics involved in food packaging, writes Frédérique Ries.
Special ReportStakeholder Opinion
Agrifood 07-04-2021

EU-Africa Partnership: Let African Farmers trade rather than being dependent on aid

As an African farmer and exporter, I know all too well the potential of agricultural trade for the development of my country Kenya and my continent. As the European Union and the African Union prepare to agree on their new...
Eastern Europe 06-04-2021

The EU should get serious about Georgia’s political crisis

The lack of visionaries in Georgian politics increases the European Union’s responsibility to make sure that the country gets out of its current crisis, write Vakshuti Menabde and Teona Lavrelashvili. By Vakhushti Menabde is director of Program of Support for...
Future EU 02-04-2021

The Brief, powered by bp – An elusive elixir: how to unite the right

A “European renaissance based on Christian values” is probably not what Emmanuel Macron and others have in mind when they think about the EU’s future. But that was top of the agenda for Europe’s three populist musketeers on Thursday. After...
Enlargement 02-04-2021

Great Serbian vaccinationism

The decision of the Serbian authorities to open the door to their neighbours for vaccination has nothing to do with reviving warm memories of the former Yugoslavia, writes Orhan Dragaš.

Mercosur trade deal threatens to wreck EU’s climate credibility

To pass the EU-Mercosur deal in its current state would set an horrific precedent for future trade deals currently under negotiation and fly in the face of the EU’s landmark Green Deal, write Laurence Tubiana and Ani Toni.
Promoted content
Energy 02-04-2021

Five steps to delivering the geothermal decade

Geothermal energy provides a multitude of answers to rapid, cost-effective and large-scale switch to renewable heating, cooling and electricity. Philippe Dumas, Secretary General of EGEC, outlines the five steps needed from the Fit for 55% package to unlock this abundant energy source located all across the EU.
Elections 01-04-2021

The Brief, powered by bp – Dress rehearsal elections

As Bulgarians are gearing up for a general election on Sunday (4 April), the crucial issue - or risk, for some - is whether Boyko Borissov, who has run the poorest EU country with small interruptions since 2009, will get another mandate.
Promoted content
EU-Africa 01-04-2021

The EU in Africa: will Member States follow the lead?

2021 could prove to be a special year for Euro-African relations. Since last year’s agenda was essentially postponed, a lot is now on the table: a proposed new partnership, a EU-AU leaders’ summit, and the finalization of the post-Cotonou agreement....
Circular materials 01-04-2021

A circular economy for textiles to design out waste and pollution

Europe has an opportunity to use the textiles strategy, due to be published this year, to build on its history of textile manufacturing and switch to a more sustainable industry, benefitting citizens and the environment, writes Valérie Boiten.
Coronavirus 31-03-2021

The Brief, powered by bp – Not that ‘smart’ after all

All it took was a few hours of warm weather and the Brussels parks were suddenly flooded with hundreds of young people on Tuesday as if there had never been any confinement. Similar pictures could be seen across Europe - a clear sign that people are reaching their confinement limits during this seemingly never-ending pandemic.
Digital 31-03-2021

Moria 2.0: The EU’s sandbox for surveillance technologies

The three camps of Lesvos, Old Moria, Moria 2.0 all tell a story of the multi-layered ecosystem which gives rise to the allure of quick fixes facilitated by technology. Yet the complexity of human movement is nothing but simple, writes Petra Molnar.

How the European Commission is underselling climate action

A blanket 10% rate of interest on borrowing is being assumed for the European Commission's upcoming 2030 package of climate and energy laws. This fails to take into account the present low rates across most European countries, writes Ursula Woodburn.
Stakeholder Opinion

Revising the EU taxonomy to fuel the journey towards industrial decarbonization

The leaked version of the revised Taxonomy delegated act on climate change mitigation and climate change adaptation is still miles away from the industry’s needs.