Opinions

Economy & Jobs 27-05-2020

Reclaiming the future for cities after COVID-19

Cities have been hit the hardest by the corona pandemic. Dario Nardella, the mayor of Florence, declares a state of social and economic emergency for his city and many others across Europe. And he argues that cities are key for a sustainable recovery in Europe.
Europe's East 27-05-2020

Ukraine is getting itself into US election troubles

Ukraine is losing friends: among other mistakes, by playing internal politics, the country’s President has taken sides in the US elections, which may be disastrous for the country in the future, writes Pavlo Fedykovych.
Transport 27-05-2020

EU Mobility Package risks becoming a roadblock to post-crisis recovery

In its current form, the Mobility Package brings no benefits for European citizens other than a new wave of migration, an exacerbation of inequalities, and an undesirable increase in CO2 emissions, writes Clotilde Armand.
Promoted content
Economy & Jobs 27-05-2020

European Recovery Fund: The construction ecosystem as priority with at least €320bn dedicated budget

While the European Commission is finalising its proposal for the Covid Recovery Fund, FIEC (European Construction Industry Federation), together with EBC (European Builders Confederation) and CPE (Construction Products Europe aisbl), launched a new appeal to Commissioner Thierry Breton, in order to highlight the multiplier effect of investing in construction.
Circular economy 26-05-2020

EU recovery fund is a chance to accelerate the circular economy

The EU recovery fund can be used to unlock an estimated €1.8 trillion opportunity by 2030 by making better use of materials and reducing waste, write Patrick Schröder and David McGinty.
Promoted content
Digital 26-05-2020

Better Treatments & Diagnostics

As COVID-19 continues to spread around the world, we have become witness to the devastating, all-encompassing impact of infectious disease. First and foremost, the pandemic remains an ongoing public health emergency with over three million confirmed cases and hundreds of thousands of human lives lost. But COVID-19 has also emerged as an economic, social, and human rights crisis.
Energy 26-05-2020

The case for green buildings in the COVID-19 recovery

By supporting green buildings, the European Commission can simultaneously cut down energy bills and greenhouse gas emissions while improving comfort and health, and supporting Europe’s 18 million construction workers, writes Peter Sweatman.
Economy & Jobs 26-05-2020

How the EU can emerge from coronavirus stronger – and greener

When the EU re-emerges from this crisis, what will it look like? Will it be stronger and more adept at responding to future crises like climate change? Or will it be weaker, unable to address the concerns of Europeans and in danger of breaking apart? A lot depends on what happens this Wednesday, writes a group of authors from the Jacques Delors Institute.
Eastern Europe 26-05-2020

Building a prosperous, democratic and outward-looking Georgia

Safety requires cancelling public festivities but Georgians are marking their National Day by celebrating individually in their hearts and standing together in solidarity, writes David Zalkaliani.
Economy & Jobs 26-05-2020

2020 will go down in history as the EU’s turning point thanks to COVID-19

In the two months since mid-March, the European Union has seen a change of course that was unthinkable at the start of the year. Entrenched taboos are falling away, and things that had been awaited for more than 20 years are happening within days and weeks. We must not waste this historic moment, writes Luca Jahier.
Promoted content
Economy & Jobs 26-05-2020

The gender challenge: how media needs to get to all things being equal

Media needs to lead in the journey towards gender equality. “All Things Being Equal”, a new report from the European Broadcasting Union, lays out where and how media organizations can make progress.
Promoted content

Renewable hydrogen is key to unlocking the complete decarbonisation of European industries

Europe has taken the lead in the fight against climate change with the European Green Deal. While most of the power system will be electrified by 2050, renewable hydrogen is the missing piece to deliver Europe’s commitment to climate neutrality.
Batteries 25-05-2020

Energising the EU Green Deal through better battery chemicals management

Europe's climate plans have electrification at their core but in order to unlock its potential, batteries have to be managed and regulated in the right way, explain the Cross-Industry Initiative for better regulation in chemicals management (CII).
Promoted content
Agrifood 25-05-2020

IPA Europe priorities and recommendations for a holistic approach on probiotics in Europe, for informed consumers and a sustainable food industry

IPA Europe publishes it’s Manifesto: focus on a European industrial strategy,  safeguarding the world leadership of the European food industry and continuing to offer high quality products to European consumers

Green recovery hinges on the right data

EU policymakers are promoting a green recovery. A public-private agency rating companies’ climate performance would help keep it on track, argue Steven Tebbe and Laurent Babikian.
Promoted content
Economy & Jobs 25-05-2020

Trained pest management professionals must be recognised as key during a health crisis

The European Commission’s Farm to Fork strategy released last Wednesday makes bold first steps towards recognising the value of Integrated Pest Management (IPM). Europe’s pest management professionals trained in IPM understand better than anyone how it now should be implemented widely throughout European societies to promote public health.
Future EU 23-05-2020

Ernesto Rossi and the Call to Europe

It is time to rebuild the EU on the foundations set by Ernesto Rossi and others, writes Roger Casale.
Global Europe 22-05-2020

Through the transatlantic drift, Europe needs to take the helm on Iran

US diplomacy on Iran is failing. The result is that the EU can no longer allow this transatlantic drift to continue, and take the lead itself, writes Guillaume Xavier-Bender.
22-05-2020

Covid-19 in the Mediterranean – is ‘Team Europe’ getting it right in the South?

The EU is starting to 'think neighbourhood' before global. But what does this mean for countries in the Middle East and North Africa, asks Michael Benhamou.
Digital 22-05-2020

EU should launch a specialist team to investigate Chinese disinformation

The Chinese government has flooded the European information space with disinformation, in an effort to control the narrative around the pandemic and divert the blame. This poisonous environment created by Chinese info-war operations calls for resolute answers, write Jakub Janda and Nathalie Vogel.

Our historic duty: A more resilient, inclusive and green recovery

As Europe starts to get a better grip on the COVID-19 emergency, we need to undertake the immense task of rebuilding our economies and repairing the staggering damage to our communities, workers and businesses, write Frans Timmermans and Fatih Birol.
Promoted content
Agrifood 22-05-2020

Sustainable food production concerns us all

The recent COVID-19 crisis has significantly changed the way we all work and live. As we’ve all been restricted to a life of lockdown and quarantine, it has reminded us that we still live in an unpredictable world and how challenging it has been to find some stability in our lives. During this crisis, farmers did not fail us.
Global Europe 20-05-2020

Annexations in the West Bank: Europeans need to punch their weight

Last week, EU foreign ministers emphasised that the resolution of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict remains one of the Union’s strategic interests and that they discourage possible steps towards annexations. In this vein, the EU and its member states should send a clear signal, Muriel Asseburg and Peter Lintl argue.
Biomass 20-05-2020

Forests are crucial for building resilience in a post COVID-19 world

The Commission's new Biodiversity Strategy shows how forests are crucial for building resilience in a post COVID-19 world, writes Giulia Bondi.
Contribute