Opinions

Brexit 19-11-2019

Why Brussels shouldn’t be scared of Singapore-on-Thames

Boris Johnson wants to turn the UK into a low-tax, lean-regulation paradise attracting business from the continent. The plan won’t work, writes Joseph de Weck.
Promoted content

Five key challenges ahead for EU leaders in raw materials

EU Raw Materials Week and the institutional changeover provide a key moment to look at the challenges ahead for policymakers to address over the next five years. These include decarbonisation, the circular economy, product policy, sustainability in the construction sector and responsible sourcing and production, writes Katia Lacasse, Director of Health, Environment & Sustainable Development at the European Copper Institute.
Global Europe 19-11-2019

A child labour free Europe: How the new Commission can make it happen

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen’s pledge to have ‘zero-tolerance’ for child labour in EU trade policy is a promising step. Delphine Moralis explains how these warm words can be turned into concrete actions to improve the lives of millions of children.
Circular economy 19-11-2019

Waste incineration: An extreme carbon outlier

Meeting the EU’s 10% landfill target is possible without climate damage, writes Janek Vähk.
Agrifood 19-11-2019

Fur farmers failures to meet minimum EU animal welfare standards must be investigated

Exposés of animal suffering on EU fur farms repeatedly reveal failures to comply with even the basic animal welfare requirements of Directive 98/58/EC concerning the protection of animals kept for farming purposes, writes Sylwia Spurek.
Promoted content
Digital 19-11-2019

The CTOs making technology work for Europe

In companies across Europe, Chief Technology Officers (CTOs) are unlocking the full potential of innovation and human ingenuity – transforming lightbulb inspiration into real-world solutions that drive growth while addressing the big challenges Europe faces.  
Africa 18-11-2019

Need for a progressive EU-ACP partnership to address common global challenges

The international scenario is rapidly changing, but not necessarily in a positive way. That's why there is a need for a progressive partnership between the European Union and the Africa-Caribbean-Pacific countries, writes MEP Carlos Zorrinho.
Global Europe 18-11-2019

Arab uprisings: spring time continues

Since the rapture of the 2011 Arab uprisings, starting in Tunisia and sweeping through North Africa and the Middle East – most notably engulfing Libya, Egypt, Syria, and Yemen – a bitter aftertaste of repression and civil war lingers, writes Sharon Lecocq.
Health 17-11-2019

Superbugs: last call for action

‘Autumn is the season of the soul’, wrote Virginia Woolf. She was right, autumn brings with it the beautiful changing colours. By the same token, but in a less romantic fashion, the fall also brings bacteria and viruses that are not only quick to spread but are highly contagious, write Vytenis Andriukaitis and Kato Katsunobu.
Future EU 14-11-2019

20 Visions for Europe: ‘Media across borders before future EU elections’

Christophe Leclercq founded the EURACTIV Media Network and the think-and-do tank Fondation EURACTIV. His fiction piece illustrates media sector consolidation, changing journalist jobs, values, platform regulation, and the fate of the EU itself.
Promoted content

Fighting Diabesity: The Role of Diet and Exercise

Dr David Heber is the chairman of the Herbalife Nutrition Institute (HNI), which promotes excellence in nutrition education for the public and scientific community and sponsors scientific symposia. The HNI editorial board is made up of key scientific opinion leaders...
Future EU 13-11-2019

Is the Spitzenkandidat system really dead? Not if we act now

Is the Spitzenkandidat system dead? Reforms can revive it and give the process new legitimacy, argues Cristian Ghinea
Special ReportPromoted content

A Europe that is close to citizens is a Europe that needs its notaries

What do the will of Queen Isabel la Católica, the award of the George Cross to the Maltese nation, the purchase of the Island of Herreninsel by King Ludwig II of Bavaria and the renunciation document signed by Archduchess Marie-Antoinette on the crowns belonging to the House of Austria have in common?
Future EU 13-11-2019

20 Visions for Europe: ‘A letter to my children’

As part of EURACTIV's 20 Visions for Europe project, Prof. Luciano Morganti shares a letter addressed to his children about his hopes for their future life as EU citizens.
Promoted content
Digital 13-11-2019

EU and European innovators must take part in shaping global 5G standards. Here’s why.

In If the core technologies connecting the world end up in the hands of just a few, there is no guarantee that standard development will continue to be open, collaborative and consensus-based. What's at stake in an IoT world where everything is connected could be European innovation, growth and jobs.
Future EU 12-11-2019

20 Visions for Europe: ‘Start thinking about the interests of children’

Two members of  the Eurochild Children’s Council, which includes children aged 11-16 years from 12 European countries, share their visions for Europe.
Future EU 08-11-2019

Bring back the spirit of ’89 to forge a new rEUnaissance

30 years after the fall of the Berlin Wall it is time to bring back the spirit of '89 to forge a new rEUnaissance, argues Luca Jahier.
Enlargement 08-11-2019

A new momentum for progress in the Western Balkans

The EU decided last month not to open membership talks with Albania and North Macedonia just yet and a  broader discussion on the future of the EU is ongoing. But there is positive economic momentum in the Western Balkans, with more foreign investment coming in, and it needs to be maintained, write Borge Brende and Martina Larkin.
Shipping 08-11-2019

Europe must stand firm and clean up shipping’s giant CO2 emissions 

More people than ever are aware that the giant ships carrying 80% of global trade are also giant polluters. Green MEP Bas Eickhout argues that regulators face a choice between real and fake CO2 regulations for shipping at UN negotiations next week.

Pedro Sánchez is part of the problem        

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez should follow the example shown by David Cameron and Alex Salmond over the question of Scottish independence. Instead, he has walked away from dialogue, argue Raül Romeva and Alfred Bosch.

Metals are Europe’s climate compass. Here’s why

The future of Europe’s metals industry will be an early indicator of whether the EU has succeeded in uniting its Green New Deal and Industrial Strategy, write Tomas Wyns and Gauri Khandekar.
Future EU 07-11-2019

20 Visions for Europe: ‘My future Europe is again confident’

Together, as Europe, we do have good prospects of shifting gears, of catching up and even prevailing in several areas , writes Mihnea Motoc, Deputy Head of the European Political Strategy Center.
Promoted content
Global Europe 07-11-2019

Decision time for the EU on Iran: INSTEX vs the FATF

Incoming EU top diplomat Josep Borell should steer EU foreign policy to align it with the values of the liberal world order. Instead of continuing their support of INSTEX, European leaders should throw their weight behind the FATF, whose impartial analysis shows that Iran is a serial offender in terms of terror financing.
ASEAN 07-11-2019

After a week in Hanoi: What we need to make a EU-Vietnam trade deal work

The jury is out on whether a new EU-Vietnam trade pact will do anything to improve people's livelihoods and arrest a deteriorating human rights record, writes Jude Kirton-Darling.

Want to know what's going on in the EU Capitals daily? Subscribe now to our new 9am newsletter.