ATHENS – No test, no quarantine

Greece’s tourist season officially starts on 15 June prioritising countries with similar epidemiological situation (Germany, Cyprus, Israel, China, Japan, Australia, Norway, Denmark, Austria, Bulgaria, Serbia, Romania, Albania, North Macedonia, Bosnia, Croatia, Poland, Hungary, Slovakia and the Czech Republic).

In the case of these countries, the authorities will still conduct few sample tests.

A second wave of countries will be added on 1 July with the exemption of countries which have deteriorating epidemiological situations. The ‘black list’ consists of countries such as Belgium, France, Italy and the Netherlands. Tourists from these countries will still be allowed to travel but sample tests will be conducted to half of a flight’s passengers.

As of today, restaurants are open while travel to and from the islands will be allowed, as Greece enters phase 4 of de-confinement. On 1 June, primary schools and kindergartens will also re-open. (Sarantis Michalopoulos |

Subscribe to our newsletters