BUDAPEST – Ban on travellers from Italy, China, South Korea, and Iran

In Hungary, there are 13 registered cases with 69 people in quarantine, as of Wednesday. In response, the government has now ordered a state of emergency, Gergely Gulyás, the head of the prime minister’s office, said.

A ban on travellers (non-citizens) from Italy, China, South Korea, and Iran has been issued by the government. Hungarian citizens coming from those countries will have to stay in isolation at home for two weeks upon arrival. 

The government has also banned indoor events with more than 100 people, while outdoor events with more than 500 people will also be subject to the ban.

Hungary’s National Bank has started quarantining and cleaning Hungarian forint bills, a practice already adopted in some Asian countries, although a German disease expert insisted on Wednesday that transmission through cash “has no particular significance”.

(Željko Trkanjec |

Subscribe to our newsletters