Germany announces closure of borders

Chancellor Angela Merkel and Interior Minister Horst Seehofer announced before the Bundestag yesterday (15 March) that Germany would be closing its borders as of 8 am today (16 March) with France, Switzerland, Luxembourg, Denmark, and Austria to impede the spread of the coronavirus. 

To find out more about how Germany is dealing with the COVID-19 crisis, click here.

While the duration of the border closure was not specified, the closure will not affect goods or commuters who live in border regions and Germans returning to the country. But those seeking to enter Germany without a ‘serious reason’ will be rejected at the border.

Subscribe to our newsletters