HELSINKI – Border controls tightened again

Finland has restored its border controls with a number of countries within and outside the Schengen Area due to the worsening coronavirus situation abroad.

From Monday (24 August), controls were reinstated for travel between Finland and Iceland, Greece, Malta, Germany, Norway and Denmark.

When it comes to states from outside the Schengen Zone, travel restrictions will now apply to people travelling from Ireland, Cyprus and San Marino and Japan. Travel restrictions with Sweden and Russia will also remain in place.

While all non-essential travel such as tourism should be avoided, permission is granted for work-related travel and exceptional reasons such as family emergencies.

However, travel at the land border between Finland and Sweden and between Finland and Norway between the local border communities is permitted.

The number of diagnosed COVID-19 infections has increased steadily as 337 new cases were recorded in the past two weeks, reaching a total of 7,938 cases since the start of the pandemic.

(Pekka Vänttinen |

Subscribe to our newsletters