HELSINKI – Travel restrictions cautiously lifted

On Tuesday evening, the Finnish government decided to lift restrictions on travel and tourism to a number of EU and Schengen area countries starting from 13 July. However, the countries with whom border controls will be lifted have to meet certain criteria.

Travellers coming from countries that haven’t recorded more than eight new confirmed COVID-19 cases per 100,000 persons in the past two weeks will not have to undergo border controls. 

Currently, that criterion is met by Germany, Italy, Austria, Greece, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary and Liechtenstein. Outside the Schengen Area, travel to Finland from Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland will be allowed.

The government said it will assess the overall situation of Schengen and EU member states on 10 July and promised to update the list of countries based on the development of the coronavirus pandemic.

Back home, recommendations regarding remote working will end on 1 August. That same day, persons over 70 will no longer have to avoid physical contact.

The government still made a plea for caution.

Asked whether it would be okay to hug grandchildren, Family Affairs and Social Services Minister Krista Kiuru (SDP) told a press conference that when it comes to family members, the decision was a personal one. (Pekka Vänttinen |

Subscribe to our newsletters