PRAGUE – No mandatory quotas

The Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, Estonia, Slovenia and Latvia have sent a joint letter to the European Commission – obtained by’s partner Hospodářské noviny – in which they lay out their reservations about the EU executive’s new and soon-to-be-published pact on migration and asylum.

The group emphasised its willingness to help the most affected countries but definitely not in the form of mandatory relocations. 

“We have serious reservations about the mandatory relocations of asylum applicants and migrants, in any form,” wrote Czech Interior Minister Jan Hamáček (ČSSD, S&D), together with colleagues from Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, Estonia, Slovenia and Latvia, in the joint letter. “Solidarity should be understood in a wider extension,” they added.

(Aneta Zachová |

Subscribe to our newsletters