Visegrad Group want EU enlargement dates

Prime ministers of the Visegrad Four – Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovakia – meeting near Prague to underline their bid to join the EU.

The prime ministers of the Visegrad group – Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovakia – are meeting in at Stirin castle near Prague on Friday, 9 June, to strengthen ther regional co-operation in a bid to boost their bids to join the European Union.

The four countries fear that the EU is losing interest in eastward enlargement and are frustrated that no entry dates have been set.

The leaders will also discuss the creation of the Visegrad International Fund to finance joint projects and activities, and a common visa policy for nationals of former Soviet Union countries, as required by the EU.

Subscribe to our newsletters