Commission calls on member states to take in 40,000 asylum seekers

“We have a proposal for an emergency mechanism to relocate 40,000 asylum seekers. Syrians and Eritreans will be relocated from Italy and Greece to other European Union member states over a period of two years,” said EU Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos in Brussels on Wednesday.

Two weeks after presenting the European Agenda on Migration, the European Commission called on EU member states to accept 40,000 asylum seekers. In exchange, countries will receive €6,000 for each person relocated on their territory.

“There is no proposal to relocate irregular migrants across the European Union. We’d not proposed the fixing of quotas. It’s a word we don’t like and we have never used. All this is about insuring solidarity. But it is up to each member state to decide on how many persons they will grant a refugee status,” he said.

Subscribe to our newsletters