The Associated Trio in action

The flags of the Associated Trio. [Georgi Gotev]

For Georgia, who last April initiated the Associated Trio format with Ukraine and Moldova, the presence of Charles Michel at a summit of the three countries in Batumi on 19 July is perceived as a milestone.

Until now the Trio initiative was met with suspicion in Brussels, because it changes the format of relations with the six former Soviet republics in the EU neighbourhood – Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Armenia, Georgia and Azerbaijan.

The six are packed together in the so-called Eastern Partnership, despite the fact that Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia have Association agreements with the EU and are much more ambitious in terms of integration and even future membership of the Union.

EURACTIV takes a closer look at the messages from Batumi. 

Download PDF  

Subscribe to our newsletters