HELSINKI – Border restrictions return

Due to the worsening COVID-19 situation in Europe, the Finnish government decided on Thursday (24 September) to reinstate travel restrictions that were eased less than a week ago. From next Monday (28 September), Finnish citizens can travel only to six European countries without having to quarantine upon return, while travelling to any other country is not recommended.

The countries considered safe are Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, San Marino, Liechtenstein and Cyprus.

Travelling to Finland without restrictions will be permitted only from countries where the number of diagnosed coronavirus cases has been lower than 25 per 100,000 inhabitants.

Travellers arriving from risk countries where the number of COVID-19 cases surpasses the 25-person limit, will either undergo a voluntary, or in some cases, mandatory 14-day quarantine.

Work-related travel to and from Sweden and Estonia will be exempt from this measure, even if infection numbers rise. The same applies to cross-border traffic up north between Finland, Norway and Sweden.

In addition, face masks should be used in schools, colleges, universities and all events where safe distancing is not possible, the country’s Institute for Health and Welfare (THL) also announced on Thursday (24 September). (Pekka Vänttinen |

Subscribe to our newsletters