Russia ratifies free trade agreement between EAEU, Serbia

Serbian President Aleksandar Vucic Serbian Prime Minister Ana Brnabic (L) and Serbian Finance Minister Sinisa Mali in Belgrade, Serbia, 30 October 2020. [EPA-EFE/ANDREJ CUKIC]

The upper house of the Russian parliament ratified on Tuesday a free trade agreement between the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and Serbia.

The agreement, which is in accordance with WTO standards, will take effect 60 days after the parliament of the EAEU’s last member ratifies it.

Both sides will liberalise mutual trade in accordance with the agreement, while member states will allow equal access to markets for Serbian goods.

Serbian Prime Minister Ana Brnabic and the prime ministers of Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan, and the chairman of the the EAEU’s board, Tigran Sargsyan, signed the agreement on free trade between Serbia and the Union in Moscow on 25 October 2019.


Subscribe to our newsletters