ZAGREB – PM announces cabinet will consist of sixteen ministries

Croatian Prime Minister Andrej Plenković on Thursday (16 July) outlined the structure of his next cabinet, which will consist of sixteen ministries, four fewer than the current government, Croatian news agency Hina reported. The new government will include four deputy prime ministers, the PM added.

The four new deputy prime ministers will be current interior minister Davor Božinović, current finance minister Zdravko Marić, current War Veterans’ Affairs Minister Tomo Medved and  Boris Milosevic, who will be the representative of  ethnic minorities in the government.

Plenković said that the names of the nominated ministers would be made public next week.

He also explained that downsizing the number of ministries would be achieved through the merger of the justice and public administration ministerial departments into one ministry, while the construction and state assets ministries will also be merged into one department.

“We are going to merge the ministries of labour and social policy, and the culture ministry will be renamed into the ministry of culture and media. We are going to have the ministry of tourism and sport, and the ministry of economy and sustainable development, which will include the departments of economy, energy, climate change and environment protection,” said Plenković after he was appointed as PM-designate by Croatian President, Zoran Milanović.

Milanović said he believes that reducing the number of ministries is the right decision if ”it will make the PM’s work easier’’. However, the number of employees and administrations will remain the same, the president said, adding that discussing downsizing is hard given the current difficult financial times.

The new cabinet will include the science and education ministry, the interior ministry, the ministry of war veterans’ affairs, the finance ministry, the defence ministry, the agriculture ministry, as well as the EU funds and regional ministry, the foreign and European affairs ministry, the health ministry and the ministry of sea, transport and infrastructure.

The tenth 151-seat parliament is due to hold its inaugural meeting on 22 July.

(Karla Juničić,

Subscribe to our newsletters