Cities’ EU house gets grand opening

Commissioners Margot Wallström and Danuta Hübner joined some 500 guests at the inauguration of the House of Cities, Municipalities and Regions last week.

On 6 June 2007, the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR), the largest European association of local and regional authorities, held the official inuaguration of the House of Cities, Municipalities and Regions on Square de Meeûs in Brussels. 

The building was officially inaugurated by European Commission Vice-President Margot Wallström, responsible for institutional relations and communication strategy, and Regional Policy Commissioner Danuta Hübner. Located at the heart of the EU quarter, the building is home to a wide range of organisations representing local and regional interests at European level.

Some 500 guests, including MEPs, Committee of the Regions members, ministers, mayors and representatives from the European Commission attended the opening event.

Representing the city of Lyon, current president of the EUROCITIES network, Vice-Mayor Jean-Michel Daclin said: “Cities, municipal and regional authorities are increasingly recognised by European institutions and national governments. We are involved in discussions and negotiations with European institutions on all aspects of EU policy and legislation that have an impact on citizens. By coming together under the same roof, we wish to improve the visibility of local authorities in Europe, and to reinforce our cooperation on issues of interest to our citizens.”

Among some 20 other associations, the House of Cities, Municipalities and Regions is home to: 

  • The Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR);
  • EUROCITIES, the network of large European cities;
  • the European Office of the G-4, an organisation bringing together the Dutch cities of Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam and Utrecht, and;
  • the local and regional associations of Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

To see the photographs of the official opening, please click here.

Subscribe to our newsletters