Withdrawal agreement signed by Council, Commission Presidents

On Friday (24 January), Council President Charles Michel and Commission President Ursula von der Leyen signed the Agreement on the Withdrawal of the UK in Brussels, their institutions announced.

Britain’s withdrawal from the EU cleared a hurdle at the European Parliament on Thursday as its constitutional committee voted to approve the divorce deal struck with London.

The next steps of the ratification are the European Parliament’s vote in plenary on the agreement on 29 January. Once the European Parliament has given its consent, the Council will adopt, by written procedure, the decision on the conclusion of the agreement on behalf of the EU.

Subscribe to our newsletters


Want to know what's going on in the EU Capitals daily? Subscribe now to our new 9am newsletter.