Agrifood

22-10-2018

A watertight CAP

The European Commission needs to deliver an agricultural policy that does not reward agricultural pollution, write Claudia Castell-Exner and Arjen Frentz from Europe's drinking water and wastewater service operators (EurEau).
18-10-2018

EU palm oil strategy risks investment in Africa

The European Union is quietly but determinedly preparing a new rule that is designed to block palm oil exports from Africa and Asia out of the EU market. The EU's actions on palm oil risk trade and investment in Africa, writes Thompson Ayodele.
Climate change 17-10-2018

EU bioeconomy strategy and IPCC – planets apart

The latest report from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) indicates that biofuels will need to rise 260% by 2030 and 750% by 2050 in order to contain global warming below 1.5°C. Yet, the EU Bioeconomy Strategy, published days after, seems to ignore this, writes James Cogan.
12-10-2018

When will Denmark stop overfishing and start enforcing the rules?

Denmark has become the worst perpetrator of Baltic overfishing over the last years, putting in serious danger entire species, such as the Baltic’s iconic cod, warns Rebecca Hubbard.
11-10-2018

How green is Europe’s tank?

As the need for climate action gets more urgent, new labels give motorists a clearer picture of fuels’ and cars’ eco-friendliness, writes Emmanuel Desplechin.  
04-10-2018

As cruel industrial pig farming persists in the EU, one million citizens demand change

Under the European Commission’s indulgent eye, the race to the bottom in the EU’s pig industry pushes profits to the edge at the cost of pig welfare, against law and public opinion. But a movement of citizens and NGOs is gaining momentum to demand change in the industry's methods.
Climate change 28-09-2018

EU mustn’t double down on broken farming

As it becomes increasingly evident that Europe’s farming must change, the European Union is in danger of doubling down on a broken system, warns Marco Contiero.
28-09-2018

We want peasants

This week in Geneva, the Human Rights Council is expected to take a position on the follow-up to a draft Declaration on the Rights of Peasants and Other Persons Working in Rural Areas. Five years after the start of the negotiations, we are at a turning point, argues a group of European academics.
27-09-2018

Human suffering should never be an ingredient in the food we eat

Unfair trading practices must be banned from supermarket supply chains to improve the income and working conditions of the people who produce our food in Europe and across the globe, write Marc-Olivier Herman and Tom Wills.
25-09-2018

EU citizens call for an end to the use of cages for farm animals

Earlier in September, the European Commission registered a new European Citizens’ Initiative (ECI) called END THE CAGE AGE, which aims to put an end to the most appalling symbol of industrial animal farming – the cage, writes Olga Kikou.
24-09-2018

‘Smart villages’ are modernisation tools to be taken seriously

The expansion of e-tools in rural areas will enable villages to become more agile, make better use of their resources as well as improve their attractiveness and the quality of life of rural residents, argue MEPs Franc Bogovic and Tibor Szanyi.
Brexit 21-09-2018

How Brexit will impact healthcare for our pets and farm animals

Brexit, particularly the prospect of 'no deal', poses a serious threat to animal welfare standards and food security, writes Carel du Marchie Sarvaas.
13-09-2018

A perspective from Spain: What is unfair for one is unfair for all

As Brussels decision-makers begin their final discussions on the European directive on Unfair Trading Practices this autumn, they would do well to consider assessing some of the successful laws in place around Europe, which have had an overwhelmingly positive impact on the entire food supply chain, write Promarca and FIAB.

Does Europe care about overfishing in the Baltic Sea?

The European Commission’s proposed quota for the very fragile Eastern Baltic cod stock significantly surpasses scientific recommendation, warns Lasse Gustavsson, reminding that overfishing isn’t just bad for the environment, it’s bad for the economy too.
10-08-2018

Phasing out pesticides is the chance for Europe to heal its environment and economy

The recent re-authorisation of glyphosate controversy highlighted the many issues surrounding pesticides, their purpose and our dependency on them, as well as the harm they bring to­­­­­ our health and the environment, writes Natacha Cingotti.
27-07-2018

Nothing wrong with genome editing in agriculture

While some may see the recent decision of the Court of Justice of the EU that states that organisms obtained by mutagenesis are GMOs and are therefore subject to obligations laid down by the GMO directive as a win for consumers, the reality is just the opposite, writes Neal Gutterson.
Promoted content

Advanced biofuels are key to decarbonising transportation

The recent agreements on the revised Renewable Energy Directive (RED II) are setting the tone for creating a stable and predictable business environment that will trigger the development of and investment in advanced biofuel production within the EU, argues Markus Rarbach.
Competition 12-07-2018

Micro-regulating trading practices between food multinationals and retail will end up in consumers paying

As the European elections and the change of Commission loom next year, the Commission is in a hurry to get its last proposals out and parliamentarians are keen to complete their scrutiny before the campaign trail beckons, writes Christian Verschueren.
Promoted content
12-07-2018

What’s in a beer? The road ahead for consumers’ right to know

Beer drinkers like clear, consistent, honest communication. That’s why Europe’s brewers have voluntary committed to providing consumers with the list of ingredients and nutrition information in full accordance with EU law, a decision welcomed by policymakers and NGOs alike.
10-07-2018

Could EU-Indonesia free trade deal end palm oil conundrum?

As a new round of free trade negotiations between the European Union and Indonesia begins in Brussels, Perrine Fournier argues that improving forest governance should be central to any agreement.
10-07-2018

The EU must take the lead on international fisheries governance

As the largest seafood market in the world, importing more than 60% of its seafood from other countries, the EU has a responsibility to tackle illegal fishing, writes Dr Samantha Burgess.

Tackling food waste: turning nemesis into a saviour

The function of food packaging has traditionally been limited to passive protection from external influences, but innovations are quickly changing its role. Packaging is getting active and intelligent, able to monitor and interact with food and environment and maintain food freshness for longer, writes Dr Milka Sokolović.
27-06-2018

Europe must get serious about short food supply chains

Europe must get serious about short food supply chains (SFSC) and put an end to the frustrating inconsistencies within the Common Agricultural Policy and with other European policy fields, write Maria Heubuch and Bart Staes.
26-06-2018

Plant breeding innovations can help to future proof our farming system

Reading the opinion of Greens / EFA members of the European Parliament on plant breeding, one can’t help but be amazed by their obsession with GMOs, writes Garlich von Essen.