Digital

21-10-2020

The Brief, powered by ECPC – When words become deeds

Europe has to break the social networks' hatred-based economic model, it has to implement efficient regulations that can dry up the revenue flows generated by the dissemination of hatred on the Internet. The savage assassination of Samuel Paty, who died for exercising his profession as a teacher, shows the extreme urgency of taking effective action. It shows words can become deeds.
16-10-2020

Media recovery beyond regulation: a NEWS bundle across Creative Europe and Horizon, like MEDIA

The current EU budget negotiations risk squeezing programmes like Creative Europe, with the same crumbs as before for the struggling press. In addition to GAFA regulation, and learning from MEDIA dedicated to audiovisual and film, bundling scattered efforts under NEWS could sustain the media sector’s transformation, write a group of MEPs and media experts and Christophe Leclercq
Promoted content
13-10-2020

From words to actions: towards a truly digital transformation of the EU

In the midst of the current crisis, I strongly believe we all need to work on a more inclusive, stronger and competitive Union. This requires to successfully turn it into a more digitalised and greener society, whose foundations rest on state-of-the-art secured telecom networks.
The German NetzDG law to counter illegal online speech has become a prototype for internet censorship in authoritarian states. The Commission’s proposal for the new Digital Services Act must avoid this template, write Jacob Mchangama and Natalie Alkiviadou. 
08-10-2020

The Digital Berlin Wall: How Germany built a prototype for online censorship

The German NetzDG law to counter illegal online speech has become a prototype for internet censorship in authoritarian states. The Commission’s proposal for the new Digital Services Act must avoid this template, write Jacob Mchangama and Natalie Alkiviadou. 
Promoted content
07-10-2020

The importance of collaborative partnerships in achieving responsible minerals supply chains

In 2016, as the EU responsible minerals regulation was being finalised, the European Partnership for Responsible Minerals (EPRM) was established. It is a not-for-profit public-private partnership bringing governments, supply chains actors as well as civil society together to accompany the EU Regulation.
China 28-09-2020

Defusing US-China tensions: European geopolitics in the making

It is in the European interest not to become a battlefield for an American-Chinese war; and only a strong EU can defuse the disputes between Washington and Beijing, writes Piotr Maciej Kaczyński.
24-09-2020

Surveillance on the seas: Europe’s new Migration Pact

Instead of coming up with a meaningful plan, the EU’s new migration pact explicitly doubles down on containment and border security and opens the door to increasingly more draconian tools of surveillance using new technologies, write Petra Molnar and Kena-Jade Pinto, who recently travelled to the Moria refugee camp in Lesvos.
Promoted content
23-09-2020

At CYBERSEC, European leaders to debate how to secure Europe’s Digital Decade

The 6th edition of the EUROPEAN CYBERSECURITY FORUM will be held on 28–30 September online. This year’s CYBERSEC leitmotif - “Together Against Adversarial Internet” and the mission of the forum enhance cooperation of like-minded countries to secure digital transformation.
Promoted content
23-09-2020

Digital Healthcare: the new frontier

As the world took a huge leap forward in digital skills and trust in response to COVID-19, our next-generation broadband and mobile networks also stepped up to the plate to meet the challenge of unprecedentedly high demand.  The role of connectivity providers in underpinning the new frontier of healthcare is a significant one.
11-09-2020

Digital services: time for the EU to act on Amazon

Last week’s revelations of how Amazon has ramped up its surveillance of workers were yet another reminder that working people need the EU to step up, writes Oliver Roethig.
Stakeholder Opinion
09-09-2020

Three EU principles form the cornerstone of Europe’s internet and will let us build for tomorrow

The Digital Services Act (DSA) should not tear up the rulebook and start from scratch, three key principles which allowed the internet to prosper must be preserved. The DSA should build on these key principles of the e-Commerce Directive to establish a holistic framework which focuses on responsibility rather than liability.
Technology used for potentially discriminatory or racist purposes is starting to concern many in the EU.
03-09-2020

Technology has codified structural racism – will the EU tackle racist tech?

The EU is preparing its ‘Action Plan’ to address structural racism in Europe. With digital high on the EU’s legislative agenda, it’s time we tackle racism perpetuated by technology, writes Sarah Chander.
5G 04-08-2020

5G disinformation: It’s time to tell the truth

There are many myths concerning 5G networks and electromagnetic fields. The vast majority of them stem from a lack of proper knowledge. Europe should dispel the doubts of the people who are looking for answers, writes Marek Zagórski, Polish Minister of Digital Affairs.
29-07-2020

Protests in Bulgaria are also about media freedom

Protests in Bulgaria are a genuine civil protest against the party-state and in favour of basic democratic rights such as media freedom, writes Maria Stoyanova.
Cybersecurity 22-07-2020

Digital politics and the COVID crisis

The coronavirus pandemic has forced us to move more of our lives online faster. But is this for the better? What should we take with us from our lockdown experiences, asks Dita Charanzová.
Stakeholder Opinion
22-07-2020

Have we given the tech giants the keys to our privacy and our medical secrets?

For months, the world has been asking: how can we avoid a resurge of the pandemic, which would be catastrophic for our economies and well-being? Part of the answer lies in establishing a screening and tracking system for people who have been exposed, in order to prevent them from infecting those around them in turn, writes Pierre Pozzi Belforti.
20-07-2020

Looking ahead: With a digital turbo out of the crisis

Europe is in the midst of its greatest crisis since World War II. The Coronavirus pandemic has shown very clearly how fragile the Union is: borders were closed, supply chains broke down, the rule of law suffered severely in some countries. But in every crisis, there is an opportunity. Therefore, it is crucial that the right conclusions are drawn from the huge challenges ahead of us.
14-07-2020

To save European journalism, we need an anti-SLAPPS directive

The EU should better consider implementing legal measures to safeguard the freedom of the press, writes Jessica Ní Mhainín.
Promoted content
09-07-2020

Make The Right Choice!

As I write, finally, cautiously, but steadily, things are beginning to return to a version of normal across Europe. For many of us, it’s like we are waking from a dream, or, maybe more accurately, some kind of nightmare. Abraham...
Promoted content
03-07-2020

Reinforcing Digital Sovereignty In Post-Covid Era: Case Study Of Security Inspection Equipment

Digital sovereignty applies to a broad range of economic sectors impacted by digitalisation and poses many questions. Perhaps the most important one is the national security dimension: how to ensure the safe treatment of security-related data in a virtually borderless world?
Promoted content
02-07-2020

Pandemic puts telemedicine and data access in the spotlight

What a dramatic difference a few months can make. At the beginning of 2020, it was hard to imagine that a worldwide health and economic crisis would develop so rapidly and cause a dramatic global shock.
01-07-2020

EU-UK cross-border data flows: New digital walls for the economy?

Data needs to continue to flow between the UK and the EU. The EU should limit safeguards to only those needed to protect personal data,  writes Andrea Giuricin.
01-07-2020

Digital tax could hinder European digitalisation when we need it most

The European Commission wants to create a Europe fit for the digital age. Its digital tax proposal goes in the opposite direction, argues Jörgen Warborn.
29-06-2020

Europe’s Experience Readiness Level – Navigating IoT and Arts in a New Digital World

The EU must deploy large scale projects quickly, or we’ll miss the next tech wave carrying us into the ‘New Digital Era’, writes Eva Kaili.
Contribute