Digital

14-01-2021

After Trump, we must fight to rebuild the ruins of democracy

Even after US President Trump is gone, the underlying causes of division, mistrust, and frustration won't go away and Europe must future-proof itself against any risks to democracy – particularly in the online world, writes Věra Jourová.
Promoted content
12-01-2021

New digital regulations: the good and the bad

The introduction of the Digital Services Act (DSA) and Digital Markets Act has raised many questions about the future of digital platforms in the EU. We have to be realistic about the risks behind these new regulations.
EU Priorities 2020 31-12-2020

Portuguese PM: Time to deliver a fair, green, digital recovery

After a year scarred by the COVID-19 pandemic, the Portuguese presidency will seek to deliver on a Europe-wide vaccination plan and the National Recovery and Resilience Plans, writes António Costa.
Stakeholder Opinion
Health 18-12-2020

Unlocking data and embracing digital technologies to transform citizens’ health and wellbeing

If the coronavirus pandemic and Europe-wide lockdowns taught us one thing, it is just how reliant we all are on digital technologies – including for our own health, and that data was in the right place at the right time...
Promoted content
16-12-2020

Illegal gambling is a threat to the safety of EU citizens

The European Lotteries, the European Casino Association and the World Tote Association join forces to fight illegal online gambling and embrace the foreseen Digital Services Act package.
Economy & Jobs 16-12-2020

EU companies ready to take on twin green, digital transitions

EU employers are ready to switch gear and accelerate the roll-out of the green and digital transitions, writes Stefano Mallia.
From scam ads on Google and Facebook, the purchase of fake reviews on various platforms to chemicals surpassing legal limits in children’s toys sold on Wish, Amazon and eBay – the internet is rife with products, services and content which should never be offered in Europe, writes Ursula Pachl.
14-12-2020

What the Digital Services Act must do to protect online shoppers

From scam ads on Google and Facebook, the purchase of fake reviews on various platforms to chemicals surpassing legal limits in children’s toys sold on Wish, Amazon and eBay – the internet is rife with products, services and content which should never be offered in Europe, writes Ursula Pachl.
Tomorrow, the European Commission will publish its proposal to address excessive power in digital markets. Zeroing in on the digital sector makes little economic sense: new limits to Big Tech’s leverage will not give the European economy the dynamism it needs to foster technological development, writes Mario Mariniello.
14-12-2020

Brussels’ digital plan leaves the key issue unaddressed

Tomorrow, the European Commission will publish its proposal to address excessive power in digital markets. Zeroing in on the digital sector makes little economic sense: new limits to Big Tech’s leverage will not give the European economy the dynamism it needs to foster technological development.
14-12-2020

Getting AI right together

The United States and its partners must use the AI moment to renew their commitment to protecting individual rights, restore commercial competition built on fair rules, and strengthen defence alliances that have kept the peace in Europe and the Pacific for 75 years, argue Eric Schmidt and Robert Work.
Promoted content
Cybersecurity 08-12-2020

To Ensure a Green Future, We Need Big Data and Smart Mobility

The European Green Deal has set the EU on a course to become the first climate-neutral region on the planet which will position it as a global leader in sustainability and the green economy. The EU’s quest to become climate-neutral will require innovative new technologies, and sustainable manufacturing processes that support them. Investment in environmentally friendly technologies will be critical as today’s technology companies search for solutions to our society’s problems. A focus on smart mobility, technology, big data and big society will lay the foundations for a climate-neutral future.
07-12-2020

The Brief, powered by Facebook – Journalism from the couch

Nine months have elapsed since journalists have had no other choice but to exercise their profession from the couch. Press briefings are held online, leaders speak in front of a microphone with no one behind it. Even institutional leaks are...
There is a way to sustain online publishing and uphold privacy, says Karolina Iwańska.
Data protection 07-12-2020

The ePrivacy saga: the false choice between privacy and funding online publishing

As the Council seems to have (yet again) failed to adopt a general approach for the ePrivacy regulation, one question that bears asking is: would more exceptions for online tracking support online publishers or the advertising industry? Karolina Iwańska argues that here is a way to sustain online publishing and uphold privacy
Special ReportPromoted content
06-12-2020

Digitalisation of Justice must be based on the experience of practitioners

On 2 December, the European Commission published its Communication on Digitalisation of Justice in the European Union. It recalls in the preamble that “effective justice systems are also essential for the functioning of the internal market and a prerequisite for...
Promoted content
25-11-2020

16 days to shine a light on violence against women in Europe

An increase in violence against women and girls is one of the hidden consequences of the COVID-19 crisis. According to UN Women, calls to helplines have increased five-fold in some countries as more people stay at home to counter the...
The European Commission will introduce fines and sanctions for platforms that repeatedly violate new obligations on managing illegal content online as part of the forthcoming Digital Services Act, an EU executive official close to the matter has informed EURACTIV.
25-11-2020

The Digital Services Act could make or break European democracy

The upcoming EU digital services act marks a key moment for democracy across the bloc, writes Iverna McGowan.
24-11-2020

COVID disinformation in Bulgaria: When mainstream media are no better than Facebook

While in most other countries experts blame disinformation on social media like Facebook or foreign powers such as Russia or China, in Bulgaria, the country’s own mainstream media and politicians have contributed the most to spreading confusion and ignorance, write Julia Rone and Georgi Hristov.
24-11-2020

Time to act against fake news

Platforms committed in 2018 to a Code of Practice against disinformation, including changes to their algorithms based on ‘Trustworthiness indicators’. As the EU prepares a Digital Services Act and Action Plans on democracy and on media, clearer references are required, write Marc Sundermann, Christophe Leclercq and Paolo Cesarini.
The EU's cloud infrastructure project, Gaia-X, poses a great risk of destroying the European ecosystem and hopes of sovereignty after the recent inclusion of some of the world's largest tech firms, write Stefane Fermigier and Sven Franck.
23-11-2020

Gaia-X: A trojan horse for Big Tech in Europe

The EU's cloud infrastructure initiative, Gaia-X, poses a great risk of destroying the European ecosystem and hopes of sovereignty after the inclusion of some of the world's largest tech firms in the project, write Stefane Fermigier and Sven Franck.
The EU's proposed Online Terrorist Content Regulation and the Intertim Regulation on child abuse materials raise serious fundamental rights concerns, says Eliška Pírková.
19-11-2020

The fundamental rights concerns at the heart of new EU online content rules

The EU's proposed Online Terrorist Content Regulation and the Intertim Regulation on child abuse materials raise serious fundamental rights concerns, says Eliška Pírková.
Special ReportStakeholder Opinion
16-11-2020

European app makers urge regulators to think outside of the bubble

As app makers, we may not immediately come to mind when discussing the perils of platform regulation. After all, the new competition rules will only directly apply to large companies acting as ‘gatekeepers’. This opinion is the result of a...
Politics 13-11-2020

Media plurality in Europe

Smaller independent media are struggling to survive in the wake of COVID-19. The EU should do more to protect media plurality, money needs to go to the support of the media sector, without the risk that those outlets end up being forced to take a specific message or narrative, writes Dace Melbarde.
Promoted content
12-11-2020

The Future of Work, Digitisation for Legislatures

Legislative assemblies across Europe have faced critical challenges in wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. Policymakers can't meet in person and geographical restrictions are more prevalent than ever but innovative, secure technology provides a solution.
Special ReportPromoted content
10-11-2020

European Vocational Skills Week: jobs for the future through VET

Today, the green and digital transitions are reshaping our way of life, work and interactions – and the COVID-19 outbreak has dramatically accelerated most of these changes. Nicolas Schmit is the European Commissioner for Jobs and Social Rights. The impact...
The European Union hopes Joseph Biden’s incoming administration will clarify the U.S. position on digital taxation within two months of taking office, a French Finance Ministry source said on Monday (30 November).
09-11-2020

In protecting Europe’s data, can EU regulation keep up with Chinese tech?

Europe's strategic autonomy and its ability to protect its citizens’ data privacy could depend on whether the Digital Services Act can keep up with China's influence over the technologies that shape our daily lives, writes Nicolas Tenzer.
Contribute