Economy & Jobs

Promoted content
18-01-2021

Why the EU needs industry for a successful Green Deal

Climate neutrality can only be reached by considering the needs of industries such as mechanical engineering, which enables climate protection in the first place. Companies need freedom to operate and innovate rather than prescriptive regulation.
EU Priorities 2020 31-12-2020

Portuguese PM: Time to deliver a fair, green, digital recovery

After a year scarred by the COVID-19 pandemic, the Portuguese presidency will seek to deliver on a Europe-wide vaccination plan and the National Recovery and Resilience Plans, writes António Costa.
17-12-2020

The Brief, powered by Goldman Sachs – Erasmus Fuss

UK students are set to lose access to the EU’s foreign exchange scheme, Erasmus+, in what will arguably be the biggest Brexit-perpetrated crime. Forget the economics of it, this is wrecking a whole generation’s prospects.
16-12-2020

EU companies ready to take on twin green, digital transitions

EU employers are ready to switch gear and accelerate the roll-out of the green and digital transitions, writes Stefano Mallia.
Stakeholder Opinion
15-12-2020

Hospitality is a Partner in the Pandemic – Not an Adversary

Despite significant findings about the dynamics of the pandemic, the policy strategy for combating infections remains the same with regards to the hospitality sector: close and compensate. It is time to think about innovative approaches to keep hundreds of thousands...
08-12-2020

Morawiecki: We demand equality and respect for the Treaties

Today, we all have a single goal, economic recovery of Europe, and we should respond as a united Europe. But the proposed rule of law conditionality circumvents the EU Treaty, sets a dangerous precedent and threatens all member states and the future of the entire Union, writes Mateusz Morawiecki.

Why Europe must reskill workers to reach its climate goals

The large-scale social and economic shifts caused by the clean energy transition should be managed with care, write Magnus Tyreman and Hauke Engel. A broad training effort would enable Europe to create a labour force that will thrive during the pursuit of the net-zero emissions target, they argue.
Promoted content
Aviation 02-12-2020

A Green Recovery for Aviation

The COVID-19 pandemic has hit the European aviation sector particularly hard. Almost 90% of Europe’s flights were grounded from March to May, and today that figure stands at 62%. The entire aviation sector will continue to face significant challenges in...
01-12-2020

The Brief, powered by APPLiA – When a bailout fund needs a backstop

Hurriedly set up a decade ago as a special purpose vehicle domiciled in Luxembourg, the European Stability Mechanism looks and sounds like a relic of crises past. After being at the centre of attention for the bailouts of five eurozone...
Ludovic Orban is Prime Minister of Romania
01-12-2020

The EU budget: A question of European solidarity

Europe stands at a crossroads in the fight against COVID-19. As on many occasions in the past, the leaders of the EU must choose a direction of travel. Will we move together to confront the virus while upholding the basic ideals which hold us together? Or will we choose to retreat, to retrench, into national siloes? Ludovic Orban explains what is at stake.
26-11-2020

Let’s clear the air for hospitality

Europe’s restaurants, bars and cafés are incredibly resilient, but many are now teetering on the brink of collapse in the face of repeated shutdowns, writes Ulrich Adam.
26-11-2020

The ECB Strategy Review – exorcising the ghosts of crises past

The European Central Bank's strategy review is a chance for the EU to exorcise its past mistakes in developing monetary union, writes Anna Peychev.
25-11-2020

The Brief, powered by Facebook – On trade, politics is still king

The European Commission likes to proclaim itself a defender and promoter of free trade and the review of EU trade policy, the public consultation on which closed last week, is only likely to double down on that promise. But the...
25-11-2020

No time for empty promises: Europe must lead on harmful fisheries subsidies

The European Union (EU) claims to be a leader in sustainability and multilateral cooperation. But so far in the World Trade Organization’s fisheries subsidies talks, the EU has failed to lead. With the talks facing an end of year deadline, Europe has just six weeks to take the reins, write Rashid Sumaila and Daniel Pauly.
24-11-2020

Unified Patent Court: Poison pill for future of EU integration

The Unified Patent Court will fall largely out of EU control. The EU risks becoming a mere registration office of what the member states will have decided on their own, write four authors representing the CRIDES research centre.
Promoted content
24-11-2020

Free trade key to pandemic economic recovery

COVID-19 clearly has heightened a deep sense of uncertainty in the global economy. Global growth has been painfully stalled by a crisis from which it will take great determination to recover. Policymakers are inevitably turned inwards to the profound challenge...
Promoted content
23-11-2020

The reality of REITs and their total tax contribution

In contrast to the often-mistaken view that Real Estate Investment Trusts do not pay tax, recent research commissioned by EPRA and undertaken by PwC shows that REIT regimes are significant tax contributors in the jurisdictions they operate in within Europe.
Politics 19-11-2020

The Brief, powered by EHFG – Focus on Plan A, keep Orbán for later

Europe’s focus is on Plan A: urgently reaching an agreement on the next EU budget, recovery fund and rule of law mechanism. There is also a Plan B, in case the Hungarian and Polish vetoes are not lifted. The thorny issue of Hungary’s Prime Minister Viktor Orbán will be assessed later.
19-11-2020

A call for a Child Union

Ahead of World Children’s Day, over 300 figures from the world of politics, academia and civil society have signed a joint call demanding the rapid entry into force of the European Child Guarantee and a Next Generation EU funding that truly works for Europe’s next generations.
Promoted content
19-11-2020

Europe needs a NEW European steel action plan – IndustriAll European Trade Union puts forward its demands to the EU Competitiveness Council

The recent pandemic has worsened the situation of a sector that has long suffered from a lack of a global level playing field. Half of Europe’s steel capacity and thousands of jobs are at risk. European steelworkers and their unions, coordinated by industriAll Europe, have developed a blueprint for a new European steel action plan and are addressing clear demands to national governments, the EU and steel companies.
18-11-2020

The Brief, powered by EHFG – Let’s talk about debt, but not just yet

With millions of Europeans having seen their paycheques and balance sheets cushioned by furlough money and no-strings-attached loans, it might be easy to think that the so-called ‘magic money tree’ not only exists but is laden with bountiful riches. Like...

‘Competitive sustainability’: time to realise the EU’s new approach

With international competition rapidly increasing, the EU would be complacent to assume its position on green technologies is uniformly strong or leading, write Martin Porter and Annika Hedberg.
16-11-2020

Putting fairness at the core of EU trade policy

How can the EU's new trade policy have fairness at its core? Following the end of the public consultation on the new policy, a cross-party group of MEPs make their suggestions.

Finance: becoming green while in the red

Money talks, but it also needs to listen: listen to the demand for change for a financial system that takes account of non-financial issues, from climate change to social inclusion, writes Commissioner Mairead McGuinness.
Contribute