Energy & Environment

Energy 03-04-2020

A resilient EU economy must be built on strong local communities

The political and economic measures taken to revive our economy following the Corona crisis need to ensure long-term resilience of the system. Strengthening local communities will be the key to achieving this objective, says Dirk Vansintjan.
03-04-2020

Hydrogen alliance could help rebuild European unity

A hydrogen alliance initiated by Poland and Germany could be one of the ways to preserve European unity in the face of the looming economic crisis caused by the coronavirus pandemic, writes Wojciech Jakóbik.
Promoted content
02-04-2020

Reducing the GHG footprint of the gas value chain: progress in methane emissions management and reduction

Reducing methane emissions is a top priority for companies operating along the entire gas value chain. The EU Methane Strategy can further assist the gas industry in this mission.
Agrifood 31-03-2020

Agriculture and biodiversity: A make or break for European Green Deal

A recent impact report published by the European Commission lays bare the terrible mismatch between the EU's Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) and the bloc's biodiversity objectives, writes Jabier Ruiz.
31-03-2020

The ‘super year for biodiversity’: Undermined by a wildlife market?

This year's meeting of the UN Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) is being curtailed by the COVID-19 outbreak. Ironically, the pandemic most likely first emerged from wildlife being traded in a live animal market in Wuhan, China, writes Janice Weatherley Singh.
26-03-2020

How a green recovery can help modernise Europe

EU institutions and member states must act quickly and coherently in response to the COVID-19 crisis, writes Mats Engström. He suggests six points to consider when EU institutions work out post-crisis recovery plans.
Promoted content
25-03-2020

A competitive European industry: the contribution of gas technologies

The EU industry is the foundation of the European economy, providing 80% of the block’s exports and 35 million of its jobs. It is now called on by the European Commission to be at the forefront of the fight against climate change. The secret weapon? Industrial innovation.
Energy 25-03-2020

Beyond the corona darkness: Bringing light, air and sustainability into people’s homes

The European Green Deal must be central to the recovery programme needed to transition out of the crisis caused by COVID-19, writes Oliver Rapf. And the European Commission's upcoming building renovation wave should be at the centre of it, he argues.
24-03-2020

Emergence from emergency: The case for a holistic economic recovery plan

If you think the coronavirus is scary – it’s only the training day for what will happen if we don’t stop the climate crisis:  Global warming is far more dangerous, write members of The Club of Rome.
23-03-2020

COVID-19 stimulus should address health, economy and climate together

Governments around the globe are quickly designing some of the biggest economic stimulus plan ever seen in peacetime in response to the COVD-19 pandemic. But while the health crisis has forced all concerned to take swift action, we are still moving too slowly when it comes to  the climate crisis, writes María Mendiluce.
Energy 19-03-2020

Green Deal deserves a better Energy Taxation Directive in 2020, not years from now

Europe has a choice between getting a good taxation directive this year or waiting years for something not yet defined that may never win agreement. For the sake of climate progress, it should take its chances with what it has now, writes Jim Power.
Climate change 17-03-2020

Climate change will still be a threat after COVID-19 is gone

Governments around the world are demonstrating – all too evidently – that they are unable to tackle two major crises at once, writes Jonathan Gornall.
Climate change 16-03-2020

Why number crunching can make or break Europe’s climate ambition

After the EU committed to climate neutrality by mid-century, the European Commission is now busy performing a detailed cost-benefit analysis of raising the bloc’s climate target for 2030. Brook Riley peaks into the EU's modelling engine room to decipher the assumptions behind the figures.
Energy 16-03-2020

US shale will be first casualty of oil price war

Although the oil price war was triggered by the Russia-Saudi fall-out, US shale will be the first casualty, writes Robin Mills. In the process, the US will learn that producing a lot of oil at high prices is not the “energy dominance” it has made a centrepiece of foreign policy, he argues.
Energy 11-03-2020

Nord Stream 2 in the hands of Akademik Cherskiy

The Russians have sent their only pipe-laying vessel equipped with dynamic positioning system – Akademik Cherskiy – to Europe. But can the tiny ship without previous experience in pipe-laying do the job, Mateusz Kubiak ponders.
Electric vehicles 10-03-2020

Why is the EV rollout at risk of stalling?

Ensuring a swift transition to electric vehicles is one of the clearest ways for governments to make significant progress on emissions reductions, writes Helen Clarkson. However, governments risk holding it back, she adds.
10-03-2020

A credible industrial pillar for the European Green Deal

If done right, the industrial pillar of the Green Deal can make Europe a world leader in climate-neutral and circular technologies, products and services, writes Ursula Woodburn. Ursula Woodburn is the head of EU relations at the European Corporate Leaders...
Biomass 10-03-2020

Von der Leyen’s first 100 days: Are Europe’s forests – and the climate – in good hands?

The Green Deal promoted by European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen has the potential to strengthen European, as well as global, forests and make a significant contribution to the fight against climate change, writes Hannah Mowat.
Special ReportPromoted content
Energy 10-03-2020

Funding the Just Transition Fund: additional money is needed

PGE is ready to actively contribute to EU climate ambitions by investing heavily in low-carbon power generation technologies as evidenced by our investment plans. However, we will need adequate support in the process.

Inside the EU’s shadow climate fight

The EU’s new industrial strategy, due out on 10 March, is an opportunity to shake up more than a decade of lethargic progress in cutting greenhouse gas emissions from Europe’s heavy industries, writes Wilf Lytton.
09-03-2020

EU’s industrial strategy must serve climate neutrality, not undermine it

The EU Industrial Strategy, to be presented by the European Commission this week, will be a litmus test on the willingness of the EU executive to land the European Green Deal in the real world, writes Sophie Rigaudie.
Biomass 05-03-2020

Environmental measures in Swedish forests will continue to be strong

In a recent opinion piece, a group of NGOs wrote that Sweden's forest policy is wreaking havoc. Herman Sundqvist argues that this is wrong on several counts and that the country is working to improve environmental measures in the forest.
Special ReportPromoted content
05-03-2020

The EU 2030 climate target is tomorrow

The European Climate Law falls short of providing meaningful financial compensation for Member States with different starting points like Poland. This is a very unfortunate development at time when more unity and more solidarity are needed in the EU.
Electric vehicles 03-03-2020

Making car CO2 standards fit for the electric age

Under the current fleet standard regulation, the allowed emissions of combustion-powered cars are getting out of control as more and more zero-emission vehicles enter the fleet, writes Günter Hörmandinger.

Want to know what's going on in the EU Capitals daily? Subscribe now to our new 9am newsletter.