Global Europe

Promoted content
Central Asia 17-09-2020

Kazakhstan in a new geopolitical reality: Time for action and joint ambitions with the EU

The concrete steps towards domestic political and socio-economic reforms outlined by the President of Kazakhstan are of mutual importance for Kazakhstan and our European partners.
16-09-2020

What should be done about the United Nations?

The global health, climate and economic crises have led to a deterioration of our world order. The gap between current global challenges and global governance is widening and weakening the multilateral system. A new, fair and inclusive multilateralism for the 21st century must be invented, write Maria Joao Rodrigues and Conny Reuter.
15-09-2020

The Brief, powered by Eurogas – The UN session, a missed opportunity

Held every year in September, the annual week-long session of the UN General Assembly in New York is the milestone of global politics. This year’s session, opening on 22 September, is special for two reasons. But it is also likely to be a missed opportunity.
14-09-2020

The Brief, powered by Eurogas – Hagia Sophia in Cyprus: when Eurocrats ruin Europe

Europe’s unification process was never going to be an easy task. When there are economic imbalances among EU member states, when the creation of an ‘EU identity’ clashes with different cultures, the integration process is faced with difficulties. But with...
Europe's East 09-09-2020

Russian intervention in Belarus is already a fact

The international community is reluctant to act and prefers to stick to empty condemnations of Vladimir Putin’s toxic acts. But Putin is ready to intervene in Belarus and the West cannot shy away, as it did in Ukraine. Only a 'big stick' policy can turn the tide, argues Hans van Baalen.
07-09-2020

The Brief, powered by amfori – Macron’s Russia syndrome

Reaching out to Russia will make Europe less dependent on the US and turn it into a more assertive, autonomous foreign policy actor. At least that seems to be French President Emmanuel Macron's thinking. But this stance is becoming increasingly problematic for Europe and has started to erode France's own credibility.
Climate fund 04-09-2020

Developing countries deserve fair and transparent climate support from the EU 

The EU has committed to mobilise climate finance to support developing countries in their efforts to combat climate change. However, new research shows that EU institutions fall short on delivering on their financial commitments, write Mattias Söderberg and Floris Faber.
Eastern Europe 04-09-2020

Time is running out for Lukashenko

Alexander Lukashenko lost the August elections in Belarus, and new polls must be held immediately. Anything else should be treated no differently from a coup d'etat, writes Andrius Kubilius.
Promoted content
Central Asia 04-09-2020

The President of Kazakhstan announces a new stage of reforms

On September 1, 2020, the President Kazakhstan, Kassym-Jomart Tokayev, delivered his annual Address to the Nation, announcing the start of a new stage of reforms.
Stakeholder Opinion
Azerbaijan 04-09-2020

Creating a new demographic situation in Nagorno-Karabakh is detrimental

Armenia’s illegal settlements in the occupied territories of Azerbaijan further complicate the Nagorno-Karabakh peace process, writes Vasif Huseynov.
Promoted content
EU-China 31-08-2020

EU-China relations at the crossroads

EU-China relations have reached a current phase of co-opetition, in which the EU has identified China at the same time as a cooperation and negotiating partner, economic competitor, and systemic rival.
Stakeholder Opinion
Azerbaijan 31-08-2020

Russian military shipments to Armenia – a dangerous escalation?

Has Russia abandoned its role of impartial mediator in the Armenia-Azerbaijan conflict? Esmira Jafarova analyses the recent developments.
Stakeholder Opinion
Central Asia 29-08-2020

Kazakhstan takes stock of its experience in constitutionalism

Today, almost thirty years after gaining its independence, the citizens of Kazakhstan can state with confidence and a sense of pride that their country is an equal and respected member of the international community and has all the signs of a well-established statehood, writes Kairat Mami.
Europe's East 28-08-2020

The Brief – Once bitten, but the EU need not be shy in Minsk

The election fraud and crackdown on the protests in Belarus called for a firm response from the EU. However...
Stakeholder Opinion
Central Asia 28-08-2020

Leading the way to a world free of nuclear weapons

Today more than ever, the world needs leadership in the field of nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament. Kazakhstan keeps providing this leadership, writes Jonathan Granoff. Jonathan Granoff is the president of the Global Security Institute. In 1949, the first of over...
25-08-2020

The Brief – The EU faces ‘brain death’ over Turkey

Turkey has long been the 'hot potato' of EU foreign policy, but these days, it is rapidly turning into a really serious problem that cannot be swept under the carpet.
Europe's East 21-08-2020

Belarus: The uprising has begun and is not going to stop soon

The protesters in Belarus are pawns in a geopolitical tectonic battle between East and West, although they don’t realise it, write Noé Morin and Bryan Bille.
Eastern Europe 20-08-2020

With the US absent, smaller powers lead the way in support for Belarus

With the US and other diplomatic heavyweights absent, Belarus's smaller European neighbours have been leading the diplomatic response to the post-election crisis, writes Anna Wieslander.
Stakeholder Opinion
Eastern Europe 18-08-2020

EU envoy to Chisinau behaves like “Big Brother” in Moldova

The recent scandal caused by the head of the EU Delegation to the Republic of Moldova is probably one of the worst diplomatic incidents for a EU representative in recent years.
Europe's East 13-08-2020

Belarus should not be a province of the Russian neo-empire

On the eve of the meeting of the EU Foreign Affairs Council this Friday (14 August), there is need for urgent contacts between EU representatives and the Belarusian Foreign Ministry to clarify and resolve issues related to the political crisis in Belarus, writes Petro Poroshenko.
Europe's East 10-08-2020

Europe must not allow Lukashenko to continue his manipulations

The EU must shape at least two different policies towards Belarus - one for the regime that stole the elections and one for the civil society, writes Urmas Paet.
Europe's East 10-08-2020

What is happening in Belarus cannot be called elections

After 9 August Belarus will have a totally illegitimate president, and the West must be prepared for the perspective of the illegitimate Lukashenko, writes Andrius Kubilius.
07-08-2020

Vote by mail? Trouble ahead for US elections

Advocates of a vote-by-mail in the US presidential election have argued that it is the only safe way to conduct elections during the COVID pandemic. Opponents argue that moving to vote-by-mail elections opens the floodgates to fraud. Dick Roche looked...
Eastern Europe 07-08-2020

12 years after war: Georgia moving forward but still searching for justice

The Russian aggression of August 2008 against Georgia was a blatant attempt to change the borders of Europe by force, launching a series of events spreading over the wider region, writes David Zalkaliani.
Contribute