Innovation in agriculture

Agrifood 20-05-2021

One year on, are MEPs ready to boost biodiversity and farm to fork strategies?

In the next few weeks, EU lawmakers have a chance to show their strong support for nature and sustainable agriculture, argue Sabien Leemans and Jabier Ruiz. But will they?
Stakeholder Opinion
Agrifood 21-04-2021

Plant breeding: 10,000 years of biodiversity threats?

The opposition to modern breeding technologies is strong in Europe; however, it is not based on scientific facts. As soon as a serious flaw in the arguments is exposed, activists are moving the goalposts. From non-existent health dangers, the focus...
Special ReportPromoted content
Agrifood 08-02-2021

Reviving Spain’s rural areas through the Puebla project

A new Corteva Agriscience project to reverse depopulation in Spain’s rural areas is sowing the seeds for a brighter future, writes Igor Teslenko. Igor Teslenko is the President for Europe of Corteva Agriscience. The COVID-19 pandemic has brought the importance...
Agrifood 13-01-2021

How American agriculture can work with the EU on food sustainability

We must build more resilient, sustainable global food systems that can feed an increasingly hungry world, or there will be dire consequences, warn Kip Tom and Ronald J. Gidwitz.
Promoted content
Agrifood 18-09-2020

Farming for the Future

It may feel that 2020 has been the longest year ever, but it’s hard to believe we are already celebrating the first birthday of the Farming for Generations (F4G) partnership. Launched by Danone with the support of Corteva Agriscience and...
Promoted content
Agrifood 06-05-2020

Sustainability and innovation should go hand in hand in the EU

In the last two decades, Europe has decided to go its own way in agricultural policies. While both North and South America, and also Japan have moved to even more technology-driven modern agriculture, Europe went backward and keeps banning more and more scientifically proven advances and methods in agriculture.
Agrifood 24-03-2020

Embracing innovation for a stable and secure food supply

Amid the uncertainty of the coronavirus pandemic, Europe must invest in innovation to enhance food security, as the ongoing crisis has laid bare the vulnerabilities of our seemingly strong system, writes Igor Teslenko.
Promoted content
Agrifood 17-03-2020

What is genetic engineering? A plea for a rational definition of what it is and what it isn’t

The public debate on genetic engineering in agriculture is largely characterised by misinformation, myths and a confused understanding of nature, writes plant breeding and gene editing expert, Professor Hans-Jörg Jacobsen (PhD).
Agrifood 24-02-2020

Embracing technology to feed a growing world

It is time for America and Europe to work together to solve the next great challenge facing us - to produce enough food, with fewer inputs, to feed a growing world population - which means embracing innovation and technology in a safe, sustainable agriculture, writes Sonny Perdue.
Promoted content
Agrifood 12-02-2020

Fighting malnutrition: Golden Rice and the EU’s GMO conundrum

In the last two decades, the cultivation of genetically biofortified crops, such as Golden Rice, to help solve the global humanitarian crisis of “malnutrition” remains elusive. Let’s consider the facts.
Agrifood 05-02-2020

‘New GMOs’: Kyriakides gets off on wrong foot with biased consultation

The new EU Health Commissioner Stella Kyriakides recently told EURACTIV.com that her “priority is to gather more information” on gene editing. To this end, she said, "we will be preparing a study on new genomic techniques, foreseen for spring 2021”. Clearly, the design and set-up of such a study will be crucial to its outcome, writes Nina Holland.
Agrifood 04-12-2019

Andriukaitis: Europe should take lead in science-based plant innovation

The EU is leading the science-based fight against climate change and it will also lead on science-based plant innovation, writes former EU Health Commissioner Vytenis Andriukaitis.
Agrifood 26-11-2019

Taking action on agricultural emissions: a Kiwi farmer on our shared challenge

As a farmer, I’m all too aware of the effects of climate change. My sheep and beef farm, on the east coast of New Zealand, has always experienced a wide variety of weather, but in recent years this has become more extreme, writes Mike Petersen.
Promoted content
Agrifood 10-10-2019

Senselessly shunning science: the EU Parliament’s GMO dilemma

Europe seems increasingly ready to face the challenges of the 21st century and to lead the way to a ‘greener’ and more sustainable future. But what role can the EU Parliament play in the face of recent unsubstantiated “objections” against GMOs?
Agrifood 22-07-2019

Give the people what they want: Non-GMO sells

For many years leading European food retailers have been following a strict non-GMO policy. Retailers are the parties most concerned when it comes to GMO regulation. For them, the proper implementation of the ECJ ruling is crucial, writes Heike Moldenhauer.
Agrifood 10-07-2019

Has Europe lost the new biotechnology battle?

The EU's rules on GMOs risk stifling innovation in biotechnology and could lead to China and the US increasing their patent domination, writes Marcel Kuntz.
Agrifood 09-07-2019

The EU must not de-regulate gene-edited crops and foods

Some members of the outgoing EU Commission and the agbiotech lobby want the regulations governing genetically modified crops and foods relaxed or scrapped to open markets for gene-edited products. But this goes against the science underpinning the technology and could put the public and environment at risk, writes Dr Michael Antoniou.
Special ReportPromoted content
Agrifood 29-05-2019

Tackling the next agricultural revolution together

It has been over 12,000 years since the Neolithic Revolution, when our nomadic ancestors began planting roots, quite literally -- trading in their hunter-gatherer lifestyles to cultivate crops. Today we’re facing another revolution in agriculture – one we must tackle together, writes Neal Gutterson.
Agrifood 08-04-2019

Seven benefits of having an aquaponics garden at home

The European Parliament research service recently listed aquaponics – the symbiotic cultivation of fish and plants – as one of the ten technologies that could change our lives, producing local food without any chemical fertilisers, writes Robert Woods.
Special ReportPromoted content
Agrifood 08-03-2019

Women rural entrepreneurs deserve greater attention to keep European rural area vibrant

Now more than ever, rural women and especially women farmers have a key role to play in the development and preservation of vibrant rural areas.
Promoted content
Agrifood 24-01-2019

Cutting down on ammonia emissions in the EU: for healthier and more sustainable food production

Ammonia emissions – ammonia released into the atmosphere in high concentrations pollute the air we breathe and represent a significant threat to human health and the environment. It is time to act. The EU has already put in place measures...
Agrifood 27-07-2018

Nothing wrong with genome editing in agriculture

While some may see the recent decision of the Court of Justice of the EU that states that organisms obtained by mutagenesis are GMOs and are therefore subject to obligations laid down by the GMO directive as a win for consumers, the reality is just the opposite, writes Neal Gutterson.
Agrifood 26-06-2018

Plant breeding innovations can help to future proof our farming system

Reading the opinion of Greens / EFA members of the European Parliament on plant breeding, one can’t help but be amazed by their obsession with GMOs, writes Garlich von Essen.
Agrifood 25-06-2018

Science-based policy making: reality or fake news?

‘Evidence-based policy-making’ constitutes one of the key slogans of the Juncker Commission and the Better Regulation agenda. But reality reveals a wide gap between theory and practice, writes Daniel Guéguen.

Supporters