About: Andrew Duff

Brexit 05-07-2016

Everything you need to know about Article 50

Most people will have never read a single article of the Treaty on European Union (TEU) before they stumbled recently across the much reported on Article 50. Here is Andrew Duff’s comprehensive guide to the many aspects of Article 50.

Brexit 04-02-2016

‘Facilitating Coexistence’: the endgame for Brexit

There is much said and to be said about this Brexit business, writes Andrew Duff. The Liberal leader gives his view on the continuation of negotiations between now and the meeting of the European Council on 18-19 February.
Andrew Duff
Global Europe 14-01-2016

The Frankfurt Protocol: Calling for a new treaty for the eurozone

Faced with a series of unprecedented difficulties, the EU has little choice but to move forward swiftly to the next stage of integration. The way to do that is through treaty change, argues Anfrew Duff in his latest pamphlet 'The Frankfurt Protocol'.
Andrew Duff
Brexit 19-11-2015

Making the Brexit deal ‘formal, legally-binding and irreversible’

If the heads of government want to placate Cameron, they can promise to change the treaty in the future, but such a promise will be neither legally-binding nor irreversible, writes Andrew Duff.
French President and German Chancellor address a solemn plenary session in Strasbourg on 22 November 1989 following the fall of the Berlin's Wall
EU Priorities 2020 02-10-2015

A Franco-German duet in front of a fractious Parliament

Those who wish Europe well will be hoping that Merkel can emulate Kohl’s leadership, and that Hollande can cut a more commanding figure than the wily Mitterrand, writes Andrew Duff.
Grexit
Euro & Finance 08-07-2015

How to leave the Euro, more or less legally

If a Grexit proves unavoidable, it will require expert management, writes Andrew Duff. The ex-MEP explains how it should be negotiated, if Athens is forced to leave the eurozone.
Brexit 15-05-2015

Helpful tips for the Tories

The UK already enjoys a special position within the EU. Andrew Duff explains why the Tories’ renegotiation demands may simply be impossible.
Med & South 22-04-2015

Suddenly, there’s hope for Cyprus

Great Britain is not the only peripheral island with an uncertain relationship with the European Union that faces an important election. In polite company this second island is called North Cyprus, writes Andrew Duff.
Andrew Duff, former MEP and former president of the Union of European Federalists (UEF) [European Parliament]

EU in deep trouble with top court

The European Court of Justice has blocked the EU’s efforts to sign up to the European Convention on Human Rights. In doing so, judges defied the will of EU Commission, European Parliament and the advice of their advocate, writes Andrew Duff.
Andrew Duff, former MEP and former president of the Union of European Federalists (UEF) [European Parliament]
EU Priorities 2020 16-12-2014

Turkey’s EU accession negotiations should now be suspended

Tuesday’s (16 December) meeting of the General Affairs Council is going to have to take a fresh look at the EU’s deteriorating relationship with Turkey. Turkey’s EU Accession Negotiations should now be suspended, writes Andrew Duff.
Andrew Duff, former MEP and former president of the Union of European Federalists (UEF) [European Parliament]
Brexit 03-12-2014

MEPs face loss of legitimacy if they fail parliamentary reform

If the European Union lacks somewhat in terms of popular legitimacy, the electoral procedure of the European Parliament must have something to do with it. Fortunately, Parliament is itself responsible for initiating electoral reform, although like all parliaments it must overcome the vested interests of serving deputies that provide an in-built bias towards the status quo, writes Andrew Duff.

Coming soon: another Cameron speech

As British Prime Minister David Cameron readies another big speech about Europe and immigration, he should be aware that freedom of movement is the most important element of the proud concept of EU citizenship, and that if he was looking for a major EU ‘red line’, he should look no further, writes Andrew Duff.
Andrew Duff, former MEP and former president of the Union of European Federalists (UEF) [European Parliament]
Brexit 17-06-2014

Cameron’s battle against Juncker is futile and misguided

In line with what we've heard from UK prime minister David Cameron, the Commission's programme for the next five years is as important as who takes on the presidency. Contrary to British claims, though, none of the Spitzenkandidaten is aiming for ‘business as usual’, writes Andrew Duff.
Brexit 18-02-2014

Scotland and Europe: both Cameron and Salmond must play fair with the voters

Scottish independence does not secure Edinburgh EU membership per se, as European Commission President José Manuel Barroso stressed the scenario would be unprecedented. Many stumbling blocks lie on the path towards membership, including the euro, the ever-changing acquis communautaire and the required unanimity amongst member states, writes Andrew Duff.
Brexit 28-08-2013

Why the Dutch version of the balance of competence review will not please the Brits

In order to show off their new eurosceptic credentials, the Dutch government announced a major "subsidiarity review" of Dutch EU policy – begging comparisons with the UK’s home-grown "competence review". But British Tories will find little comfort in reading the review, writes Andrew Duff.
Brexit 17-01-2013

Reality check for the ‘euro-realists’

A new band of ‘euro-realists’ has appeared on the scene, composed mostly of Tory Britons. In the European Parliament, they cluster in the group of European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR), and are little aware of the true state of the Union, argues Andrew Duff.
Euro & Finance 28-11-2012

Finding a sensible solution to banking oversight

The European Parliament is voting in committee this week on the legislation which installs the single supervisory mechanism for Europe's banks. Tricky stuff - especially when certain governments in the Council appear to be backsliding on the banking union, writes Andrew Duff.
Brexit 03-10-2012

Europe needs a treasury secretary – and associate status for the UK

While the UK goes one way, the rest of the EU goes another. Europe’s ongoing financial crisis exposes systemic weakness in the way the political economy is run. Executive authority is dispersed amongst different and fairly obscure institutions, and democratic accountability is thin, writes Andrew Duff in a BlogActiv post.
Future EU 06-12-2011

Parliament’s duty is to fight for economic democracy

The necessity to extend the EU competence in the field of fiscal policy is crucial and it lies in the hands of the European Parliament to address it since the EU lacks credible leadership at the moment, says British Liberal MEP Andrew Duff.
Future EU 16-05-2011

Catch-up democracy: The case for electoral reform of the European Parliament

In June the European Parliament is to vote on a major package of proposals to reform its composition and electoral procedure. Here the Parliament’s rapporteur, UK Liberal Democrat MEP Andrew Duff (ALDE) argues the case for change. 

Want to know what's going on in the EU Capitals daily? Subscribe now to our new 9am newsletter.