About: Balance of Competences Review

Michael Emerson
Brexit 02-04-2015

What the British government should conclude from its own researches on the EU

The British government financed a massive study called ‘Balance of Competences Review’ to evaluate the country’s EU membership, but strangely, it abstained from drawing conclusions from this effort, writes Michael Emerson.
Brexit 31-03-2015

House of Lords report finds allegations of EU interference unfounded

The European Union Committee of the House of Lords has accused the government of attempting to “bury” the results of a report on the UK's relationship with the EU after it found no evidence of excessive interference from Brussels.
Michael Emerson
Brexit 11-06-2014

The UK has no interest in bringing back competences

There is a huge contradiction between Britain's Eurosceptic populism, and the evidence it claims supports repatriating EU powers, writes Michael Emerson.
Brexit 15-01-2014

UK minister to launch ultimatum: Reform or we’ll leave the EU

British Finance Minister George Osborne will warn the European Union today it must reform if it wants Britain to remain a member, and say it faces decline if it resists change, said an official familiar with the contents of his speech.
Brexit 22-10-2013

Trying to keep the Germans close on EU competences is risky for Britain

If Britain is to be successful in winning over Germany on EU reform then it needs to understand the country’s federal system, with its intricate balance of competencies, and how it is crucial for the German thinking on Europe, argues Almut Möller.
Brexit 13-09-2013

UK should use competence review as a constructive exercise

With the first few chapters of the UK's balance of competences review published over the summer, there have already been accusations of bias from eurosceptics who fear that the initiative is tainted. But the work has been carried out thoroughly and if politicians engage constructively with its findings the review will represent a constructive opportunity, writes Michael Emerson.
Brexit 25-07-2013

Australia tells Britain not to forsake the EU

Australia has told Britain it hopes it will remain part of the European Union, becoming the latest country to intervene in an emotive domestic debate that may culminate in a referendum to decide if Britain leaves the 28-nation bloc.
Brexit 23-07-2013

UK report calls for more Europe for single market

Beefed up powers for the European Commission and direct EU regulatory control over single market issues are recommended as key ways of maintaining a strong single market, according to a UK government report published yesterday (22 July).