About: Brexit negotiations

Brexit 05-07-2019

Tory leadership contenders are offering false promises on No Deal

Both Tory leadership contenders are pandering to the idea that a No Deal Brexit will not hurt Britain's future. But when the victor reaches No 10, he will get a shock, writes Dinesh Dhamija.
Brexit 21-02-2019

Brexit is dissolving British politics

The new eleven-member Independent Group is the latest product of a Brexit process that is dissolving British politics, writes Denis MacShane.
Brexit 29-01-2019

The blind side – the impact of Brexit on EU citizenship 

The Brexit negotiations have assumed that EU citizenship will cease for all UK nationals if and when the UK leaves the EU. Tony Simpson, Tony Venables and Alexandra von Westernhagen question whether this is necessarily so, and what this means for EU citizenship in general.
16-01-2019

With ‘No deal’ ruled out, Brexit can be averted

After Tuesday's huge defeat of Theresa May's draft EU Withdrawal Agreement, 'no deal' is out and 'no Brexit' back on, writes Sir Graham Watson.
Brexit 08-11-2018

Come back, Mother Britannia! 

Seeing Brexit crumble towards a single market fudge with no UK say, daughter Europa pleads to re-unite her mother - with her father Franz-Emmanuel, not the ideal home-maker.
Brexit 12-10-2018

Deal, no deal, or no Brexit?

Theresa May's attempts to negotiate a 'soft Brexit' are not backed by a parliamentary majority. Nor are the plans of the hard Brexiters. That could result in a new referendum, which could lead to the UK staying in, argues Hugo Dixon.
Brexit 21-09-2018

How Brexit will impact healthcare for our pets and farm animals

Brexit, particularly the prospect of 'no deal', poses a serious threat to animal welfare standards and food security, writes Carel du Marchie Sarvaas.
Elections 15-05-2018

It’s not too early for Barnier to throw his hat in the ring

Not to beat about the bushes, Michel Barnier should succeed Jean-Claude Juncker. Not just because his handling of the Brexit process has enlarged his stature, but for a number of other cogent reasons, writes Gilles Merritt.
Brexit 19-04-2018

A Pandora’s Box of headwinds for the UK’s global ambitions after Brexit

Despite the bombing of chemical weapon sites in Syria, along with France and the US, and the recent show of support from Western allies in the Skripal affair, Britain’s international clout will inexorably erode after Brexit, writes Pierre-Alain Coffinier.
Brexit 10-04-2018

Once again, the hand of history hovers over Ireland

Northern Ireland is unique and unique solutions must be found to ensure that Brexit does not threaten the Irish peace process, twenty years after the landmark Good Friday Agreement writes Dr Melanie Sully.
Brexit 23-03-2018

Ukraine is no blueprint for Brexit success

At first glance the Ukraine association agreement appears to realise the Brexiteers’ vision of greater sovereignty while maintaining close economic ties with Europe. But on closer inspection, it comes at a price that the UK will find impossible to pay, argues Beth Oppenheim.
Brexit 22-03-2018

Barnier-Davis deal puts off all key decisions as Brexiternity beckons

A Brexiternity beckons for the years ahead, well past the next general election, as political, economic and policy shapers will debate and disagree on what kind of Brexit the UK wants and needs, writes Denis MacShane.
Brexit 08-02-2018

What freedom of movement means to business

Although the question of European nationals in the UK has been addressed, the fate of UK nationals working in the EEA still remains unknown. It's a pressing topic for EU and UK businesses, writes Robert Glick.
Brexit 12-12-2017

Unions across Europe want a Brexit deal to work for working people

This week’s European Council summit looks certain to give the green light to the EU to open negotiations on a new relationship with the UK. Frances O’Grady and Luca Visentini explain what trade unions in the EU and the UK want from the future deal.
Brexit 08-12-2017

Tories sleepwalk towards soft Brexit

The UK government was deluded when it thought reaching a deal would be easy. It is deluded now in underestimating the concession it has made, writes Conor Quinn.
Brexit 08-12-2017

Brexit set to dominate UK politics for years ahead

In March, Michel Barnier told me he had offered the UK a two-year transition period after April 2019 in which Britain could trade freely without tariffs or duties, provided London accepted existing EU rules and laws on social protection, environment and rights of EU citizens. Denis MacShane explains.
Brexit 01-12-2017

The case for Northern Ireland remaining in the EU single market

The issue of how to avoid a hard border on the island of Ireland and keep the 1998 peace deal on track has become the biggest challenge to the progress of Brexit talks. Stephen Farry explains how it can be overcome.
13-11-2017

How Corbyn could keep Britain in the EU

If Theresa May’s government falls and Jeremy Corbyn becomes the UK’s next prime minister, he could face a binary choice between hard Brexit or no Brexit at all, writes Peter Kellner.

Brexit and the breaking of environmental promises

Brexit will have more immediate impact on the UK’s ability to manage growing stresses on the environment than any other single political development of the past 50 years, writes Tom Burke.
Brexit 28-09-2017

Opting for EU realism, Corbyn tries to brand Tories as Brexit fundamentalists

Like a crab emerging cautiously from under his rock, the Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn is millimetre-by-millimetre re-calibrating his party line on Brexit, writes Denis MacShane.
Brexit 25-09-2017

Brexit and energy: A choice between economics and sovereignty

Britain will have to invest more in new electricity generating capacity and face higher prices in exchange for regaining its independence from the European Union, writes Philip Lowe.
Brexit 05-09-2017

Brexit clinches ‘mission impossible’ by highlighting EU’s value

This summer has seen the ‘Brexit effect’ quietly gathering momentum, so much so that it's shaping into one of the most spectacular own-goals of European history, on a par with Germany's Third Reich or the Russian Revolution, writes Giles Merritt.

EU citizens in the UK: Second class

No more immigration from the EU is one of the UK government’s invented red lines for the Brexit negotiations. But what to do with those who have already immigrated? The UK's current proposal provides few satisfactory answers, warns Peter Sellar.
Brexit 10-07-2017

UK offer is far from what citizens are entitled to

The European Parliament’s political leaders and Brexit Steering Committee members condemn the UK’s “damp squib” of an offer on the rights of EU citizens and insist they will refuse to endorse a Brexit deal that strips EU citizens of their acquired rights.
Contribute