About: digital services act

Digital & Media 14-01-2021

After Trump, we must fight to rebuild the ruins of democracy

Even after US President Trump is gone, the underlying causes of division, mistrust, and frustration won't go away and Europe must future-proof itself against any risks to democracy – particularly in the online world, writes Věra Jourová.
Stakeholder Opinion
Health 18-12-2020

Unlocking data and embracing digital technologies to transform citizens’ health and wellbeing

If the coronavirus pandemic and Europe-wide lockdowns taught us one thing, it is just how reliant we all are on digital technologies – including for our own health, and that data was in the right place at the right time...
From scam ads on Google and Facebook, the purchase of fake reviews on various platforms to chemicals surpassing legal limits in children’s toys sold on Wish, Amazon and eBay – the internet is rife with products, services and content which should never be offered in Europe, writes Ursula Pachl.
Digital & Media 14-12-2020

What the Digital Services Act must do to protect online shoppers

From scam ads on Google and Facebook, the purchase of fake reviews on various platforms to chemicals surpassing legal limits in children’s toys sold on Wish, Amazon and eBay – the internet is rife with products, services and content which should never be offered in Europe, writes Ursula Pachl.
Tomorrow, the European Commission will publish its proposal to address excessive power in digital markets. Zeroing in on the digital sector makes little economic sense: new limits to Big Tech’s leverage will not give the European economy the dynamism it needs to foster technological development, writes Mario Mariniello.
Digital & Media 14-12-2020

Brussels’ digital plan leaves the key issue unaddressed

Tomorrow, the European Commission will publish its proposal to address excessive power in digital markets. Zeroing in on the digital sector makes little economic sense: new limits to Big Tech’s leverage will not give the European economy the dynamism it needs to foster technological development.
The European Commission will introduce fines and sanctions for platforms that repeatedly violate new obligations on managing illegal content online as part of the forthcoming Digital Services Act, an EU executive official close to the matter has informed EURACTIV.
Digital & Media 25-11-2020

The Digital Services Act could make or break European democracy

The upcoming EU digital services act marks a key moment for democracy across the bloc, writes Iverna McGowan.
Digital & Media 24-11-2020

Time to act against fake news

Platforms committed in 2018 to a Code of Practice against disinformation, including changes to their algorithms based on ‘Trustworthiness indicators’. As the EU prepares a Digital Services Act and Action Plans on democracy and on media, clearer references are required, write Marc Sundermann, Christophe Leclercq and Paolo Cesarini.
The EU's proposed Online Terrorist Content Regulation and the Intertim Regulation on child abuse materials raise serious fundamental rights concerns, says Eliška Pírková.
Digital & Media 19-11-2020

The fundamental rights concerns at the heart of new EU online content rules

The EU's proposed Online Terrorist Content Regulation and the Intertim Regulation on child abuse materials raise serious fundamental rights concerns, says Eliška Pírková.
The European Union hopes Joseph Biden’s incoming administration will clarify the U.S. position on digital taxation within two months of taking office, a French Finance Ministry source said on Monday (30 November).
Digital & Media 09-11-2020

In protecting Europe’s data, can EU regulation keep up with Chinese tech?

Europe's strategic autonomy and its ability to protect its citizens’ data privacy could depend on whether the Digital Services Act can keep up with China's influence over the technologies that shape our daily lives, writes Nicolas Tenzer.
Stakeholder Opinion
A list of prohibited practices as part of the EU's upcoming efforts to regulate the digital ecosystem could have unintended consequences for the tech industry's ability to develop innovative tools, writes Karan Bhatia. 
Digital & Media 29-10-2020

The Digital Services Act must not harm Europe’s economic recovery

A list of prohibited practices as part of the EU's upcoming efforts to regulate the digital ecosystem could have unintended consequences for the tech industry's ability to develop innovative tools, writes Karan Bhatia.
Digital & Media 11-09-2020

Digital services: time for the EU to act on Amazon

Last week’s revelations of how Amazon has ramped up its surveillance of workers were yet another reminder that working people need the EU to step up, writes Oliver Roethig.