About: European Green Deal

Economy & Jobs 06-05-2021

Transition of cities – an opportunity for people and planet

Mayors and city leaders can play a double role in the green transition – as ambassadors for the European green deal locally, and as representatives of people’s concerns and interests to other levels of government, writes Dario Nardella
Special ReportPromoted content
Energy 26-04-2021

The Green Deal Should Be Just and Based on Solidarity

Only a Green Deal that is just, based on solidarity and sensitive to the differences between EU countries has a chance of success. Otherwise, we will see a predatory transition and the failure of the whole project. “We need to...
Special ReportPromoted content
Transport 10-03-2021

The CEF ITS Corridors and the European ITS Platform contributing to the Green Deal and the Digitalisation challenges

The European Union activated an ambitious plan on two of the most fundamental subjects for the life of its citizens, namely the Green Deal and the Digital Strategy. Global climate change can put at risk the quality of life of the people,...
Electric vehicles 26-02-2021

Deliveries are up, e-van sales are not – that’s a disaster for pollution

The sale of electric vans has been sluggish despite a boom in home deliveries, spurred by pandemic-driven online shopping. The lack of clean vans on European roads will harm our chances to reach emissions targets, writes James Nix.
EU-Africa 18-12-2020

Time for a global Green New Deal

The EU needs a ‘global’ Green New Deal that ends the West's hypocritical relationship with overseas fossil fuel investment, writes Muhammad Magassy.
Promoted content
Cybersecurity 08-12-2020

To Ensure a Green Future, We Need Big Data and Smart Mobility

The European Green Deal has set the EU on a course to become the first climate-neutral region on the planet which will position it as a global leader in sustainability and the green economy. The EU’s quest to become climate-neutral will require innovative new technologies, and sustainable manufacturing processes that support them. Investment in environmentally friendly technologies will be critical as today’s technology companies search for solutions to our society’s problems. A focus on smart mobility, technology, big data and big society will lay the foundations for a climate-neutral future.
Stakeholder Opinion
Energy 25-11-2020

Ocean Energy: A test of the Green Deal’s transformational ambitions

Beyond its decarbonisation goals, the Green Deal aims to create entirely new industries and jobs, reframe our relationship with local environments and natural resources, and re-prioritise fairness and quality of life. A powerful step-change by a confident young Commission, or just admirable intentions?  A new initiative on ocean energy may prove to be an important barometer, writes Rémi Gruet.
Promoted content

Chemicals Strategy for Sustainability hand in hand with the Industrial Strategy

The EU Green Deal claims that it is a “new growth strategy that aims to transform the EU into a fair and prosperous society, with a modern, resource-efficient and competitive economy where there are no net emissions of greenhouse gases...
EU-Africa 12-10-2020

The importance of engaging with Africa

To paraphrase the words of the American political activist Ralph Nader – if you’re not turned on to Africa, Africa will turn on you. Udo Bullmann is the S&D group Coordinator on the European Parliament’s Development Committee. Carlos Zorrinho is...
Promoted content
Agrifood 18-09-2020

Farming for the Future

It may feel that 2020 has been the longest year ever, but it’s hard to believe we are already celebrating the first birthday of the Farming for Generations (F4G) partnership. Launched by Danone with the support of Corteva Agriscience and...
Special ReportStakeholder Opinion
Agrifood 16-09-2020

Sustainability in livestock farming is a matter of balance

Sustainability is a balancing act. This goes for every sector, but none more so than the livestock sector, one of Europe’s key focus areas in the EU Green Deal. Roxane Feller is the Secretary-General of AnimalhealthEurope. Repeating comments by Germany’s...

Crunch time for the EU on climate action

The coming months will reveal whether the EU is willing to take the level of action necessary to protect those in Europe and around the world from the multiple crises that face it, argues Tara Connolly.
Economy & Jobs 10-09-2020

Time to put the European Green Deal at the heart of trade policy

Trade Commissioner nominee Valdis Dombrovskis faces a packed in-tray. The EU's trade policy needs a complete overhaul in order to be adapted to the EU’s new sustainability goals and to harness globalization, write Anna Cavazzini and Saskia Bricmont.  

European leaders must embrace the Green Deal for a sustainable recovery

The European Union’s decisions on the economy and the environment have far-reaching impacts. By endorsing the European Green Deal, EU member states can drive positive change for their citizens and with partners worldwide, writes Inger Anderson.
Stakeholder Opinion
Global Europe 15-07-2020

EU and Saudi Arabia: Common challenges, joint efforts, shared goals

As the first Ambassador in the diplomatic mission of The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to the European Union, I am often asked why we have taken the initiative to change our outreach in Brussels by creating a separate Mission to the EU, after more than half a century of diplomatic relations, writes Saad Bin Mohammed Alarify.

A green and innovative recovery

There’s no better way to express our commitment to the future of Europe than to invest in research and innovation, as it will help Europe develop the next generation of clean technologies and speed up its economic recovery. This is something EU leaders should keep in mind when they meet on Friday, writes Pascal Lamy.
Energy 10-07-2020

Renewable hydrogen: a strategic opportunity for global green recovery

This week, the European Commission presented its hydrogen strategy. It sets out how to make clean hydrogen a viable solution for a climate-neutral economy and build a dynamic hydrogen value chain in Europe in the next five years, writes Kadri Simson.
Agrifood 06-05-2020

Farm to Fork: Consumer power

Our collective survival cannot depend on individual consumer choices. Food policy is too important to be left to the companies that make and market our food. Real change will only come through clearer, bolder EU-wide targets and measures to lessen the environmental and health impacts of what we eat, writes Thilo Bode.
Economy & Jobs 21-04-2020

EU and COVID-19: Time to think outside the box

The Eurogroup’s decisions taken on 9 April were a necessary and overdue collective EU response, as well as a welcome but flawed and incomplete compromise. If European leaders are to save the EU economy when they meet on 23 April, they need to think outside the box, write Carlos Closa, George Papaconstantino, and Miguel Poiares Maduro.
Azerbaijan 17-04-2020

COVID-19 doesn’t prevent Azerbaijan from looking at future with optimism

Azerbaijan’s strong standing before the Covid-19 outbreak as an energy and reformer state offer reasons for optimism that the country could quickly return back to normal, writes Esmira Jafarova.
Agrifood 03-03-2020

Don’t forget those 2020 targets

The EU Green Deal discussion is focused on 2030 and 2050, but it overlooks some important deadlines that are looming large, writes Emmanuel Desplechin.

European climate law must not be an empty shell

European climate law risks being just an empty shell if it does not show the choices needed to reach climate neutrality. Furthermore, this would weaken the whole Green Deal process and diminish its credibility, writes Monica Frassoni.
Agrifood 12-02-2020

How the EU’s Green Deal could help trigger a historic EU-ASEAN trade deal

There has been much fanfare over the EU’s new Green Deal, a three-decade plan to make the EU climate neutral by 2050. Lauded as “revolutionary”, “visionary” and a “game-changer”, it has been applauded across the globe. Understandably so: the stated goals are nothing short of commendable, writes Teresa Kok.
Special ReportPromoted content
Agrifood 30-01-2020

Industry’s pathway to more sustainable food systems

As the largest manufacturing sector in the EU, the food and drink industry will be a key stakeholder in the European Green Deal discussions, especially when it comes to the Farm to Fork Strategy. Hubert Weber, president of FoodDrinkEurope, outlines the food and drink sector’s route to more sustainable food systems.