About: Federica Mogherini

Politics 05-02-2018

Let’s end our pygmy politics so we can have a proper EU foreign policy

The next "foreign minister" at the head of the EEAS, must be a heavy-hitter with the authority and courage to rally EU governments behind a recognisable foreign policy on global challenges, writes Giles Merritt.
Global Europe 05-12-2017

Iran Deal is an opportunity to revive the transatlantic partnership

Despite clashing narratives about the Iran deal, our security priorities across the Atlantic remain perfectly aligned: We must together urgently address the JCPOA’s flaws by pushing for a follow-up nuclear agreement, targeting the regime’s ballistic missile program and confronting its regional behavior, argues Michael Sieveking.
Politics 16-11-2017

PESCO: Pragmatic and virtually apolitical

Europe has no common defence strategy. 23 member states now nevertheless want to work closer together in military terms.  A good interim solution, argues Anna Sauerbrey from EURACTIV Germany’s media partner „Der Tagesspiegel.”
Freedom of thought 16-08-2017

The EU disregards human rights in Iran

Federica Mogherini should be asked how she manages to continue relations with the Iranian officials despite reports of Tehran's declining respect for human rights, writes Hamid Bahrami.
Global Europe 04-08-2017

Mogherini’s attendance at Rouhani’s inauguration encourages Iranian impunity

Attending Hassan Rouhani’s inauguration in the midst of a series of revelations is morally and politically unconscionable, writes Alejo Vidal-Quadras, as it suggests the EU will look the other way on actual abuses as long as there are pleasant-sounding promises coming out of a small faction within the Iranian regime.
Global Europe 20-07-2017

It’s time to face reality over terrorism in the Gulf

Federica Mogherini must push the Gulf states to clean up on terrorism and work towards an end to the standoff with Qatar, writes Stefano Stefanini.
Development Policy 27-06-2017

Time to move to an interest-driven Africa-EU political partnership

Geert Laporte proposes eight measures for Europe and Africa to build the strong partnership that everyone seems to want. But is everyone willing to support the tough decisions that these measures would entail?
Enlargement 20-03-2017

Forget Russia, new menace in Western Balkans is Trump-style populist politics

A new menace is stalking the Western Balkans: the region's political leaders themselves. Many are now retreating from serious engagement with Europe in order to play internal political games, writes Denis MacShane.
Enlargement 13-03-2017

Brussels’ Balkan approach: Little carrot, broken stick

Once staunchly pro-EU, Kosovars are losing patience with Brussels, which they accuse of prioritising Serbian accession over their own sovereignty, warns the mayor of Kosovo’s capital, Shpend Ahmeti.

Global Europe 03-03-2017

Balkan Mission Impossible for Mogherini

Europe’s foreign policy supremo, Federica Mogherini, is off on a mission even more difficult than getting Iran and the US to agree their nuclear deal, writes Denis MacShane.
Trade & Society 16-02-2017

Asia wants a stronger global role for Europe

Given the unpredictability surrounding the future of US foreign policy, many Asian countries are beating a path to Brussels to shore up their relations with the EU, which remains the strongest supporter of the multilateral system, writes Fraser Cameron.
Global Europe 03-02-2017

Stop stopping the Libyan migrants: Start asking why they are coming

Today (3 February), EU leaders are discussing plans to stop people embarking from Libya from reaching Europe’s shores, the details of which seem unworkable, counterproductive and morally dubious, writes Imogen Sudbery.
Global Europe 31-01-2017

#WelcomeToEurope?

People across Europe have fervently opposed US President Donald Trump’s ban on various groups of refugees and citizens. But EU leaders, and citizens, must not forget that policies imposed by EU members states are causing thousands of people to suffer every day, warns Philippa Nuttall Jones.

Commission’s Sustainable Development Package must be taken further

The EU will not meet the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals without rethinking its approach to individual targets. So far, this has not happened, writes Damien Demailly.
Global Europe 10-11-2016

Why the EU must craft a tough pre-Trump agenda

Lulled by the opinion polls and its own wishful thinking, Europe expected US foreign policy continuity following a Hillary Clinton victory. Now, Europeans must awaken to the unpredictable change and volatility a Donald Trump presidency will bring, warns Giles Merritt.

Climate change 04-11-2016

Only strong international cooperation can protect the ocean and climate

As the COP22 Climate Conference gets into full flow in Marrakesh, Commissioner Karmenu Vella warns that global rules for the oceans have to be dragged into the 21st century.

Development Policy 23-08-2016

Zimbabwe on brink of chaos as EU ponders ‘fragile state’ status

While the EU reviews whether Zimbabwe qualifies as a fragile state, there are worrying signs that the political situation is deteriorating on the ground, writes Tom Gillhespy.
Global Europe 10-08-2016

Isn’t Turkey of interest to Europe?

European and Turkish leaders damaged relations between their countries following the near-coup in Turkey last month—and there are too many important policy issues at stake, writes Samuel Doveri Vesterbye.
Global Europe 01-07-2016

Mogherini’s new Global Strategy offers lighthouse for EU in uncertain waters

While all Europeans have become hostages of the Brexit talks, the Union’s High Representative for Foreign Affairs Federica Mogherini on Tuesday (28 June) offered a reassuring project for angry and worried European citizens, writes Damien Helly.      
Global Europe 30-05-2016

Libya: Human rights at risk of being forgotten in the Mediterranean

EU plans to help Libya police its waters should be welcomed cautiously, but we should not ignore the causes of the migration crisis or the plight of those detained in Libya, writes Magdalena Mughrabi-Talhami.
Climate change 21-04-2016

Signing the Paris climate agreement: Can the EU still be a leader?

More than 140 signatures to the Paris Agreement are expected in New York this Friday. This represents a broad majority of nations worldwide and expresses, once again, political commitment to the fight against climate change, writes Teresa Ribera.

Migration crisis morphs ‘enlargement fatigue’ into realpolitik

The migration crisis is putting pressure on the EU to re-open accession negotiations with strategic neighbours. But it should take care not to compromise its values, writes Peter Van Elsuwege.

The answer to Europe’s refugee crisis lies abroad

European nations will only be able to tackle the refugee crisis by working together and addressing the roots of the problem, writes Nicholas Rutherford.
Enlargement 04-11-2015

Kosovo’s European future edges closer

Kosovo’s increasing cooperation and gradual integration with the EU single market lays the foundation for the country’s ultimate goal: EU accession, writes Hashim Thaçi.