About: Federica Mogherini

Global Europe 25-10-2018

US-Saudi Arabia alliance: Cracks or overhaul of the global rule of law regime?

The confusion and indecisiveness surrounding Jamal Khashoggi's disappearance epitomises more than just an international diplomatic hesitancy. It raises important questions regarding the validity of the global rule of law regime, writes Yana Popkostova.
EU-China 16-10-2018

ASEM comes to town

Apart from the UN General Assembly, the biggest gathering of world leaders takes place in Brussels this week, the biannual Asia-Europe meeting, known as ASEM. Representing two-thirds of the world’s population, trade and GDP, Europe and Asia have lots to discuss, writes Fraser Cameron.
Global Europe 06-08-2018

Mogherini’s Asia trip set to deepen EU security role

During a roundtrip of Asia this week, EU foreign policy chief Federica Mogherini will seek support to preserve the Iran nuclear deal, as well as exploring security cooperation in order to expand engagement and up the EU's role in global security, writes Fraser Cameron.
Politics 19-07-2018

EU must respond firmly to Tehran terror plot on European soil

The EU’s eagerness to further unconditional engagements with Iran seems to have only made Europe more vulnerable to state sponsored terrorism, writes Alejo Vidal-Quadras.
Global Europe 29-06-2018

Iran: Appeasement is not the right way

Sanctions relief and increased economic activity with European companies will not change Iran's pursuit of its own interests and curb its nuclear ambition, writes Giulio Terzi di Sant’Agata.
Global Europe 20-06-2018

Commission’s approach to tackling online disinformation is an empty box

EU High Representative Federica Mogherini and EU Digital Commissioner Mariya Gabriel are keeping their eyes wide shut to the Russian disinformation threat, writes Jakub Janda.
Politics 05-02-2018

Let’s end our pygmy politics so we can have a proper EU foreign policy

The next "foreign minister" at the head of the EEAS, must be a heavy-hitter with the authority and courage to rally EU governments behind a recognisable foreign policy on global challenges, writes Giles Merritt.
Global Europe 05-12-2017

Iran Deal is an opportunity to revive the transatlantic partnership

Despite clashing narratives about the Iran deal, our security priorities across the Atlantic remain perfectly aligned: We must together urgently address the JCPOA’s flaws by pushing for a follow-up nuclear agreement, targeting the regime’s ballistic missile program and confronting its regional behavior, argues Michael Sieveking.
Politics 16-11-2017

PESCO: Pragmatic and virtually apolitical

Europe has no common defence strategy. 23 member states now nevertheless want to work closer together in military terms.  A good interim solution, argues Anna Sauerbrey from EURACTIV Germany’s media partner „Der Tagesspiegel.”
Freedom of thought 16-08-2017

The EU disregards human rights in Iran

Federica Mogherini should be asked how she manages to continue relations with the Iranian officials despite reports of Tehran's declining respect for human rights, writes Hamid Bahrami.
Global Europe 04-08-2017

Mogherini’s attendance at Rouhani’s inauguration encourages Iranian impunity

Attending Hassan Rouhani’s inauguration in the midst of a series of revelations is morally and politically unconscionable, writes Alejo Vidal-Quadras, as it suggests the EU will look the other way on actual abuses as long as there are pleasant-sounding promises coming out of a small faction within the Iranian regime.
Global Europe 20-07-2017

It’s time to face reality over terrorism in the Gulf

Federica Mogherini must push the Gulf states to clean up on terrorism and work towards an end to the standoff with Qatar, writes Stefano Stefanini.
Development Policy 27-06-2017

Time to move to an interest-driven Africa-EU political partnership

Geert Laporte proposes eight measures for Europe and Africa to build the strong partnership that everyone seems to want. But is everyone willing to support the tough decisions that these measures would entail?
Enlargement 20-03-2017

Forget Russia, new menace in Western Balkans is Trump-style populist politics

A new menace is stalking the Western Balkans: the region's political leaders themselves. Many are now retreating from serious engagement with Europe in order to play internal political games, writes Denis MacShane.
Enlargement 13-03-2017

Brussels’ Balkan approach: Little carrot, broken stick

Once staunchly pro-EU, Kosovars are losing patience with Brussels, which they accuse of prioritising Serbian accession over their own sovereignty, warns the mayor of Kosovo’s capital, Shpend Ahmeti.

Global Europe 03-03-2017

Balkan Mission Impossible for Mogherini

Europe’s foreign policy supremo, Federica Mogherini, is off on a mission even more difficult than getting Iran and the US to agree their nuclear deal, writes Denis MacShane.
Trade & Society 16-02-2017

Asia wants a stronger global role for Europe

Given the unpredictability surrounding the future of US foreign policy, many Asian countries are beating a path to Brussels to shore up their relations with the EU, which remains the strongest supporter of the multilateral system, writes Fraser Cameron.
Global Europe 03-02-2017

Stop stopping the Libyan migrants: Start asking why they are coming

Today (3 February), EU leaders are discussing plans to stop people embarking from Libya from reaching Europe’s shores, the details of which seem unworkable, counterproductive and morally dubious, writes Imogen Sudbery.
Global Europe 31-01-2017

#WelcomeToEurope?

People across Europe have fervently opposed US President Donald Trump’s ban on various groups of refugees and citizens. But EU leaders, and citizens, must not forget that policies imposed by EU members states are causing thousands of people to suffer every day, warns Philippa Nuttall Jones.

Commission’s Sustainable Development Package must be taken further

The EU will not meet the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals without rethinking its approach to individual targets. So far, this has not happened, writes Damien Demailly.
Global Europe 10-11-2016

Why the EU must craft a tough pre-Trump agenda

Lulled by the opinion polls and its own wishful thinking, Europe expected US foreign policy continuity following a Hillary Clinton victory. Now, Europeans must awaken to the unpredictable change and volatility a Donald Trump presidency will bring, warns Giles Merritt.

Climate change 04-11-2016

Only strong international cooperation can protect the ocean and climate

As the COP22 Climate Conference gets into full flow in Marrakesh, Commissioner Karmenu Vella warns that global rules for the oceans have to be dragged into the 21st century.

Development Policy 23-08-2016

Zimbabwe on brink of chaos as EU ponders ‘fragile state’ status

While the EU reviews whether Zimbabwe qualifies as a fragile state, there are worrying signs that the political situation is deteriorating on the ground, writes Tom Gillhespy.
Global Europe 10-08-2016

Isn’t Turkey of interest to Europe?

European and Turkish leaders damaged relations between their countries following the near-coup in Turkey last month—and there are too many important policy issues at stake, writes Samuel Doveri Vesterbye.