About: Geert Wilders

Freedom of thought 31-08-2018

Geert Wilders wins, Muslims lose in latest Prophet Mohammed cartoon furore

Geert Wilders is back in the headlines, thanks to a controversial Prophet Mohammed cartoon competition, which has caused a furore in Pakistan. But the race for Europe's toughest anti-Muslim politician has several other contestants, writes Shada Islam.
Enlargement 24-03-2017

Who provokes, who rules, who benefits?

Turkey, or let us say the Turkish president and the government, continues losing prestige in the West with his aggressive and provocative approach. Zakir Gul asks, is Erdoğan paving the way for a one-man-rule presidency with the upcoming constitutional referendum in Turkey?
Elections 28-02-2017

Populist economic policy and how to respond to it

It is crucial to explain to voters what the populist agenda is, why it is misleading and how national governments and the EU can respond, writes Ifo President Clemens Fuest.
Brexit 17-01-2017

May throws down gauntlet to European leaders

Watching Theresa May in a hotel room in the capital of a small European nation, not in the EU, has been a surreal experience. Her insistence that every other EU leader had to accept that their citizens cannot any longer travel to the UK on the terms they can today seemed borderline impertinent, writes Denis MacShane.
Languages & Culture 08-12-2015

Refugee crisis highlights differences of French and Dutch integration models

With the refugee crisis, the French are testing the limits of assimilation as a model of integration, while the Netherlands is grappling with a growing distance between Dutch identity and 'Dutch tolerance’, writes Eline Chivot.
EU Elections 2014 28-05-2014

Europe’s populist parties lack proper online networks

Pro-European groups connect through the Internet. Euroskeptics remain independent and isolated, writes Isabell Hoffmann from the Bertelsmann Foundation.
EU Elections 2014 25-11-2013

A European self-hating parliament could sap the legitimacy of national politics

The upcoming European elections might turn Brussels into a playground for populists,where the Commission will live in fear of a self-hating parliament, which will not only undermine the EU, but it could  also sap the legitimacy of national politics, writes Mark Leonard.
Brexit 28-08-2013

Why the Dutch version of the balance of competence review will not please the Brits

In order to show off their new eurosceptic credentials, the Dutch government announced a major "subsidiarity review" of Dutch EU policy – begging comparisons with the UK’s home-grown "competence review". But British Tories will find little comfort in reading the review, writes Andrew Duff.
Brexit 26-07-2013

Will the Dutch help Cameron to reform the EU?

To renegotiate the terms of Britain’s EU membership, David Cameron must find allies. One of his targets is the Netherlands. But if the British prime minister misreads his potential allies and pushes for opt-outs or a large-scale repatriation of powers, he is certain to find himself isolated, writes Rem Korteweg.

Want to know what's going on in the EU Capitals daily? Subscribe now to our new 9am newsletter.