About: lobbying

Freedom of thought 15-04-2019

Will European Parliament resist institutionalisation of religious lobbying?

In a time of growing diversity, secularism is the very principle that caters for the co-existence of the multitude of life stances and worldviews present in our societies. Yet, attempts to undermine it emanate at the highest level of the European Parliament. Secularism is a key principle of the European project, writes Giulio Ercolessi.
Politics 31-01-2019

The European Parliament must guarantee full transparency of lobbying

Christian Beck and Sven Giegold explain the stakes of a strategic vote in the European Parliament taking place today (31 January).
EU-China 30-07-2018

Europe needs to wake up to China’s influencing strategies

As Europe is waking up to the Chinese party-state’s growing influence inside its territory, China experts in Europe need to make themselves heard, write Tabitha Speelman and  Matej Šimalčík.
Economy & Jobs 21-06-2018

Lobby register reform must deliver strong data checks and enforcement

If an organisation breaks EU lobby rules, it should not be able to continue accessing policy-makers in Brussels. That requires a comprehensive “no registration, no meeting” rule, which the Parliament and Council seem unwilling to adopt, and until they do so, the Commission will not extend it internally, writes Margarida Silva.
Politics 07-02-2018

The Commission has no answer to the opaque lobbying of law firms

The European Commission needs to enforce a strict incentives-based regime that will encourage more lobbying law firms to enroll in the EU's transparency register, writes Nina Katzemich.
Politics 28-11-2017

The biggest loophole in the Commission’s lobby transparency efforts

Extending the “no registration, no meeting” rule from the Commission elite to lower-level officials would at once improve lobby transparency and protect civil servants. But the Commission has been actively avoiding the need to address this, writes Margarida Silva.
Politics 06-11-2017

A new definition of lobbying would be unnecessary and risky

The Commission wants to redefine lobbying during the upcoming revision of the EU lobby transparency register so that it only relates to direct contacts with EU decision-makers, allowing certain lobbyists to operate under the radar, writes Vicky Cann.  
Politics 10-10-2017

Transparent Europe: How the EU is becoming a role model of transparency

There is a stubbornly held opinion that the European Union is non-transparent and vulnerable to the interests of lobbyist. But a hidden agenda of interests in Brussels and Strasbourg is hardly possible and in terms of transparency, the European Union is even way ahead of its own member states, argues Jo Leinen.
Politics 02-10-2017

More transparency needed to tackle corporate capture

Two years after Dieselgate put the issue of corporate capture into the limelight, EU institutions have the perfect opportunity to get tough on lobbying, through a comprehensive reform of the EU lobby transparency, writes Myriam Douo.
Politics 27-03-2017

Lobby transparency reform: Here we go again

Scandals from Dieselgate to tobacco, glyphosate to high finance, have contributed to widespread public cynicism over the power of lobbyists in the EU. Campaigners are facing the upcoming EU lobby transparency negotiations with a mixture of weary resignation and apprehension, writes Vicky Cann.
Public Affairs 04-01-2017

Does corruption threaten Europe?

Current debate rarely attributes the rise of populism in European politics to the perceived prevalence of corruption. Yet public opinion often shows that citizens believe their representatives to be corrupt, write Laurence Cockcroft and Anne-Christine Wegener.
Public Affairs 09-12-2016

MEPs need a long hard look in the mirror

MEPs have been quick to point out the reforms needed to improve accountability in the Commission but have not turned the same critical eye on themselves, writes Myriam Douo.
Energy 25-11-2016

Who is trying to kill EU ambition on renewables and energy savings?

In one week the European Commission is expected to present its big energy package for 2030. It remains uncertain if the optimistic promises to put energy efficiency first and make the EU a global leader in renewable energy will be fulfilled, writes Roland Joebstl.
Public Affairs 14-11-2016

Lessons from the Barroso affair: How to reform Commission ethics

After months of procrastinating, Jean-Claude Juncker has now suggested extending the cooling off period for former Commission presidents. Unfortunately, the proposal is too weak to prevent scandals like ‘Barrosogate’ from happening again.
Trade & Society 23-09-2016

Don’t be fooled by CETA: It’s a wolf in sheep’s clothing

In his State of the Union speech, Jean-Claude Juncker called the Canada-EU trade agreement the most progressive trade agreement the EU has ever negotiated. It actually poses a genuine threat to the health sector, argues Emma Woodford.
Future EU 30-06-2016

The bright side of Brexit: Lobbying jobs in Brussels in high demand

One industry that is sure to benefit from Brexit is the government affairs sector, as worried UK businesses and trade associations try to adjust to a confusing new world, writes Aart van Iterson.
Health 07-09-2015

EU needs compulsory transparency register to rein in Big Pharma lobbying

Big Pharma is out-gunning its civil society and non-profit rivals in terms of lobbying, access, and influence at the EU institutions, write David Lundy and Rachel Tansey.
Energy 19-03-2015

Energy Union is a triumph of gas lobby spin

The gas industry's claims that it is needed to back up renewables and cut emissions appear to be increasingly accepted by the architects of the Energy Union, writes Brook Riley. But the truth is that gas is not clean and EU leaders, meeting today to discuss the Energy Union, need to focus on renewables and energy efficiency instead.
Public Affairs 12-03-2015

A penny for your thoughts: MEPs and the revolving door

Losing your seat in the elections can be a devastating blow for an MEP, but there can be a silver lining, especially if you were a member of a prominent parliamentary committee, writes Vicky Cann.
[Tudor Catalin Gheorghe]
Public Affairs 06-01-2015

EU’s voluntary-lobbyist-registration policy belies its calls for transparency

Developed countries often lecture states in the developing world about transparency. So it seems the height of hypocrisy that the European Union is not requiring lobbyists to register, writes Giorgi Meladze.
Public Affairs 02-09-2014

The revolving door keeps on spinning: it’s time for ex-MEPs to cool off!

The former chair of the European Parliament Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON), Sharon Bowles, created a furore last week by taking up a position as a non-executive director at the London Stock Exchange.  This followed recent reports of two other ex-ECON members also walking through the revolving door.  In an election year, when many ex-MEPs are back on the job market, particular scrutiny rightly needs to be paid to such potential conflicts of interest and in April, the Transparency International EU Office (TI-EU) highlighted the issue in a report on the EU integrity system.
Public Affairs 19-04-2013

Bad news for EU decision-making: Comitology no longer exists

In the three years since the Lisbon Treaty entered into force, EU decision-making has become more complex and opaque, and there are signs that the secondary legislative procedure, or comitology, no longer exists, writes Daniel Guéguen.
Public Affairs 22-03-2013

Lobby register review should not be rushed

Transparency facilitates scrutiny and hence accountability. Despite recurrent criticism and even active campaigns fuelled by some organisations, EU efforts in the area of transparency are among the most comprehensive in the world, writes European Commission Vice President Maroš Šef?ovi?.
Future EU 19-09-2011

EU lobbying from a new EU member state perspective

While the new member states' generally small stature, relative poverty and inexperience limit their influence in the European Union, they are fast learning the game of Brussels lobbying, argues Gergana Passy.

Want to know what's going on in the EU Capitals daily? Subscribe now to our new 9am newsletter.