About: mid-term review

Euro & Finance 01-12-2016

Slovak minister: ‘A European unemployment scheme is important’

State Secretary of Finance Ivan Lesay does not include Slovakia among the “hawkish” member states opposed to a fiscal stimulus for the eurozone. In an interview with EURACTIV, he also backed calls for a European unemployment insurance scheme.
Euro & Finance 16-11-2016

Italy, ‘tired of European contradictions’, opposes EU budget review

European Union governments and institutions are set for intense budget negotiations ahead of a 17 November deadline, with Italy complaining not enough spending is planned for handling migration, security threats and youth unemployment.
Brexit 12-01-2016

Midterm EU budget review falls victim to UK referendum

EXCLUSIVE / British Prime Minister David Cameron can already claim a victory ahead of the referendum, because the major event in the calendar of the Juncker Commission, the midterm review of the European Union’s 7 year budget, has been effectively cancelled.

EU’s heavy budget file lands on Brussels summit table

EU heads of state and government will try to reach a final agreement with the European Parliament on the bloc's long-term budget at their summit that starts tomorrow (27 June), after several failed attempts for a compromise, EURACTIV has learned.

Growth and Jobs: Relaunch of the Lisbon strategy

On 22-23 March 2005, the Spring Council discussed the Commission's mid-term review of the Lisbon strategy for economic, social and environmental renewal. More focus on growth and employment, simplification and national ownership via national action plans are the key elements to relaunch the Lisbon reforms agenda.
Transport 11-10-2006

Transport policy looks set for U-turn

Despite the 2001 Transport White Paper’s aim to curb demand for road transport, only green groups appear to believe that this is still a worthy aim.
Future EU 14-02-2005

Brief – Juncker: “Economic growth is not an end in itself”

The new Lisbon strategy should preserve the "basic balance" between competitiveness, social and environmental policies, declared EU Council President Jean-Claude Juncker after a meeting with key interest groups.
Future EU 16-11-2004

EcoFin backs Kok Report: Focus on growth and employment

During discussions on the Lisbon mid-term review in Brussels on 16 November, ministers of economic and financial affairs will agree that the Lisbon agenda "has become too broad" and needs more focus.

Put the social pillar back into Lisbon, urge NGOs

Social NGOs have carried out their own review of the Lisbon strategy, criticising the lack of progress made in creating 'more and better jobs' and fostering 'social cohesion'. 

Kok expert group was divided over working hours

Longer working hours and delayed retirement were the main sticking points among the expert group chaired by Wim Kok, which is carrying out a review of the Lisbon process.

Kok wants more peer pressure and fewer objectives for Lisbon agenda

The high-level expert group carrying out a review of the Lisbon process is expected to propose that Member States draw up national action plans to boost employment and growth in the EU.
Agrifood 22-07-2003

CAP mid-term review [Archived]

On 26 June 2003, EU farm ministers reached a final agreement on a mid-term reform of the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP). Leading European farmers', business, consumer and environmental organisations have expressed deep disappointment with the compromise on the reform of the EU's farm policy.
Agrifood 07-07-2003

The Reform of the Common Agricultural Policy: Radical reform or weak compromise?

The paper argues that the EU's farm reform agreement represents a historic shift in the structure of the CAP, but it remains to be seen whether it can stimulate an adequate response at the WTO talks.
Central Europe 06-07-2003

Paradise lost (in Abkhazia)

The paper calls on the EU to take a lead in pacifying the troubled Caucasus region in the context of its new "Wider Europe" policy.

Study on farming and environment recommends more funds for rural development

A new study on Environmental Integration and the CAP, published by the Institute for European Environmental Policy in London, recommends a significant increase of the rural development funding.
Enlargement 15-10-2002

France and Germany need more time to resolve CAP reform dispute

The French President Jacques Chirac and the German Chancellor Gerhard Schröder said they needed more time to resolve their dispute over the EU's agricultural policy reform. They set themselves the deadline until the EU's Copenhagen European Council in December to find a compromise on changing the funding of the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP).
Enlargement 02-10-2002

Dutch Government insists on opposition to direct farm payments

The Dutch State Secretary for European Affairs Atzo Nicolaï has warned that EU enlargement could fail if Member States do not agree to phase out direct payments to farmers.
Agrifood 25-09-2002

Member States remain divided on agricultural and fisheries reform

The 15 EU Farm Ministers have remained divided in their discussion of agricultural and fisheries reforms at the Council meeting in Brussels on 23-24 September.
Agrifood 24-09-2002

Seven EU Member States want to preserve CAP as it is

Seven EU Farm Ministers defended the EU's Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) in a letter to several European newspapers on 23 September while the Council started discussing CAP reform.

CAP and fisheries reforms on Council agenda

EU Farm Ministers will discuss Common Agricultural Policy and Common Fisheries Policy reforms, as well as organic farming, genetically modified organisms and animal welfare on 23-24 September.
Trade & Society 19-09-2002

Should the EU take the lead in WTO farm negotiations?

The EU is expected to take the lead in WTO negotiations on agriculture as the focus has shifted from the US to Europe on farm policy reform.
Enlargement 10-09-2002

Fischler calls for quick agreement on direct payments for farmers

Farm Commissioner Franz Fischler has called for a quick agreement on EU farm aid to the candidate countries. At the informal meeting of ministers for agriculture from the Member States and candidate countries in Denmark, the Commissioner warned that enlargement would be blocked without this agreement.

NGOs and industry demand substantial reform of EU fisheries policy

Representatives from industry, fishermen and NGOs will present the case for substantial reform of the EU Common Fisheries Policy at the informal meeting of agriculture ministers on 9 and 10 September in Denmark.

Want to know what's going on in the EU Capitals daily? Subscribe now to our new 9am newsletter.