About: public opinion

Health 30-08-2018

Europeans will say goodbye to daylight saving time on 28 October

A European Union online survey has concluded that a vast majority of the bloc's citizens are against switching between summer and winter time. All signs point towards the EU now putting a stop to changing the clocks.
Central Europe 01-02-2018

Survey: Poles think Article 7 ‘nuclear’ decision is unjustified

Polish authorities claim that the launch of Article 7 against their country as unjustifiable. Citizens are divided on the issue and nearly half of them believe the Commission is just acting because it does not like the current authorities in Warsaw. EURACTIV Poland reports.
Brexit 18-12-2017

Poll: Majority in UK backs Remain with ten-point lead

A poll has found that 51% of Britons would now keep European Union membership while 41% want to leave the bloc, a near reversal of last year’s referendum result.
Brexit 04-12-2017

Half of Britons support a second vote on Brexit, poll finds

Half of Britons support a second vote on whether to leave the European Union and a majority think the government may be paying too much money to the EU to open the way to trade talks, according to a new opinion poll.
Elections 18-10-2017

Parliament poll: Public confidence in the EU is growing

A clear majority of EU citizens now believe that EU membership is good for their country, according to a survey of how they view the EU and its institutions, released on Wednesday (18 October).
Brexit 21-06-2016

Polls: UK referendum could go either way

Britain's referendum on European Union membership could go either way, polls indicated today (21 June), two days from a vote that could determine the political and economic fate of Europe.
EU Priorities 2020 08-06-2016

Brexit or not, Europe’s voters are cooler on EU, survey reveals

Whether or not Britons vote this month to quit the European Union, fellow voters across the continent are increasingly sceptical of the benefits of staying in the bloc.

Refugee crisis: Easy solutions cause big problems?

Immigration policies often miss that migration is not only a matter of managing an influx of people. A social complexity perspective contributes to a more systemic view, write Dr. Wander Jager and Rocco Paolillo.
Trade & Society 06-05-2016

Germans increasingly doubtful of TTIP

Germans are growing increasingly wary of a vast EU-US trade pact currently under negotiation, an opinion poll showed on 5 May, as Chancellor Angela Merkel said she hoped for a deal by December.
EU Priorities 2020 28-01-2016

French confidence in the European Union on the rise

The French feel more European than they did one year ago, and their confidence in the European Union has grown. But trust in local institutions and politicians remains far higher. EURACTIV France reports.

Public faith in Angela Merkel at all-time low

For the pollsters it's clear: for the first time ever, a majority of Germans are now critical of Angela Merkel. EURACTIV's partner Tagesspiegel reports.
Brexit 27-03-2015

Euroscepticism on the rise in UK

The EU is more unpopular in Britain than it has been at any time in the last 20 years, according to the annual British attitudes survey.
 InfographicPromoted content
Europeans Support Development Aid
Development Policy 30-01-2015

Infographic: Europeans support development aid

More than two thirds of Europeans believe that fighting poverty in developing countries should be one of the EU's top priorities as it contributes to a more peaceful and equal world. But the level of support of people who say they are personally involved in helping developing countries varies greatly. Personal participation is highest in the Netherlands and Sweden, and lowest in Bulgaria and Romania.
Chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma, Romani Rose, speaks at an event hosted by the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation in Berlin. 2011 [Rosa Luxemburg-Stiftung/Flickr]

Sinti and Roma inspire ‘hostility’ in German population, study reveals

A recent study shows that one in three Germans rejects Sinti and Roma as neighbours, revealing “deeply rooted stereotypes". EURACTIV Germany reports.

EU leadership approval ratings tumble to all-time low

Belgium, Denmark, Germany and Luxembourg are the only EU countries where citizens approve the European Union’s leadership with a clear 50% majority, according to a recent poll by Gallup. Approval ratings in nearly all other member states have dropped dramatically since 2008, especially in the crisis-hit south.
Elections 25-07-2013

Record 60% of Europeans ‘tend not to trust’ EU

The number of Europeans who distrust the European Union has doubled over the past six years to a record high, with bailed-out Greeks and Cypriots having the least faith in the bloc, according to a new Eurobarometer poll.
Future EU 14-05-2013

Survey finds growing disillusionment with EU

The sovereign debt crisis has shattered citizens' faith in the European Union and increased distrust between core nations, according to a widely watched study released on Monday (13 May), one year ahead of the European elections.

Half of Europeans still see EU as a good thing

Despite the euro crisis, every second citizen sees his or her country’s EU membership positively and believes the European project brings benefits, says a new study published by the pro-European Notre Europe think tank.
Energy 06-10-2010

EU worried about waning public image of renewables

The European Commission is looking into mechanisms to boost public acceptance of renewable energy projects to meet its climate goals, but behavioural scientists warn that obvious solutions like individual compensation do not always work.
EU Priorities 2020 04-06-2009

Greens get thumbs up in deliberative poll

Following a weekend of debate ahead of the EU elections, over 350 citizens participating in the second pan-European deliberative poll have voiced growing support for the Greens, eroding the leadership of the two big European Parliament political groups, the centre-right EPP-ED and the Socialists.
EU Priorities 2020 14-05-2009

The European Commission 2004-09: A Politically Weakened Institution?

The European Commission has been "politically weakened" under President José Manuel Barroso's stewardship, suggests a European Policy Institutes Network (EPIN) report compiled by national experts from 25 EU member states.
EU Priorities 2020 22-04-2008

Mending Relations: America’s Image in Europe

With US presidential elections looming, it is necessary to manage the expectation of change in US foreign policy to heal the transatlantic rift, says John Glenn of the German Marshall Fund of the US in a March 2008 paper, using the 2007 Transatlantic Trends survey to gather opinions on both sides of the Atlantic.
Enlargement 20-12-2007

Turkey’s EU membership talks move forward

Despite ongoing tensions with France, the EU has decided to continue accession talks and opened two further negotiation chapters with Turkey on Wednesday (19 December).
EU Priorities 2020 13-11-2007

New approaches to researching public opinion

Public opinion research is increasingly employed by politicians not just during election periods, but also to ensure public backing of important policy proposals. The Commission's revised strategy on communication seeks to introduce new methods of using the Eurobarometer, as public opinion research adapts to new communication technologies.